Escape Hull: Escape The Seven Seas

By | July 29, 2019

by Escape Hull (website)

Kingston upon Hull

2-5 players

60 minutes

You and your crew have been locked away in the brig. Does your team have what it takes to escape your cell, break into the Captains chamber and steal the treasure all for yourself? Glory and riches await in this exciting escape game.
show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:




If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Overall rating

Rated between 3 and 3.5 out of 5

based on ratings from 51 users
combined with 8 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

๐Ÿ”SpontaneousIllusion expert rated this:Rated between 2.5 and 2.5 out of 5
Farmergeddon Outta Here experienced rated this:Rated between 4 and 4 out of 5
Played: 15 Dec 2019 Team size: 2 Time taken: 51:09 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalfunnyclever
We really enjoyed this escape room, especially the first puzzle which took us ages to crack! Lots of good fun to be had, the theme throughout is on point and you feel like a pirate as you're completing the puzzles.
Scree rated this:Rated between 3.5 and 3.5 out of 5
Played: 11 Dec 2023 Team size: 2 Time taken: 29:45 Outcome: Successful escape!
funquite easy

Some good puzzles, lots of fun. Have felt disappointed at getting out so quickly in other places but because this one was so fun we didn't. 

Dan Taylor experienced rated this:Rated between 3.5 and 3.5 out of 5
Scotus0 expert rated this:Rated between 3 and 3 out of 5
Played: 09/10/2022 Team size: 4 Time taken: 37:56 Outcome: Successful escape!
family friendlyvery easy

Pirate Jail!

Another voucher from Planet Offers saw my family storming through a swashbuckling escape.

Story

Escape the brig and steal the Captainโ€™s treasure.

Puzzles

Fun, but relatively simple- I think only one clue was needed.

Mise-en-scene

Pirate-themed rooms are my favourite, and this one didnโ€™t disappoint. It had everything youโ€™d expect on a galleon: rats, guns, swords and a brig.

Final Comments

The 4 of us got out with 23 minutes to spare.

funsupport rated this:Rated between 3.5 and 3.5 out of 5
Played: 21 Jan 2023 Team size: 2 Time taken: 57 Outcome: Successful escape!

Good game with a mixture of puzzles. The room had been decorated well to fit with the theme. 

๐Ÿค˜The Pick of Destiny expert rated this:Rated between 3.5 and 3.5 out of 5
Swimminglion238 rated this:Rated between 3.5 and 3.5 out of 5
Team size: 4 Time taken: 40 mins Outcome: Successful escape!
family friendlyvery easy
spbc expert rated this:Rated between 4 and 4 out of 5
Played: 7 Nov 2022 Team size: 3 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulgreat hosting
jakea256 expert rated this:Rated between 3.5 and 3.5 out of 5
Laura Knight expert rated this:Rated between 3.5 and 3.5 out of 5
Played: 17 Feb 2024 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
This game was fun and flowed very smoothly, it had a clear story and some nice puzzles. We didn't need any hints, and I'd recommend it as a beginner room. 
Sharon Bushnell rated this:Rated between 3 and 3 out of 5
Played: 9 Apr 2023 Team size: 2 Time taken: 53:58
value for moneystory-driven
Molly Smith experienced rated this:Rated between 4 and 4 out of 5
Played: 30 Nov 2023 Team size: 2
value for moneyimmersivequite difficult

This is a very thematic room, from the wobbly deck to the visuals and props. It's quite difficult though, especially as a team of two. But we enjoyed the experience and look forward to trying some of the other games at this venue.

Adrienne Ward rated this:Rated between 4 and 4 out of 5
Team size: 3 Outcome: Successful escape!
great hosting

Room has seen alot of use. Great hosting

Seven Of Diamonds experienced rated this:Rated between 4 and 4 out of 5
Played: 2023 Team size: 2 Time taken: ~45min Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersive
fraggle42 experienced rated this:Rated between 2 and 2 out of 5
Played: 9 Sep 2021 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
illogicalbroken techpoor hosting
jontheescapegoat rated this:Rated between 4 and 4 out of 5
Played: 10 Sep 2023 Team size: 3 Time taken: 55 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifuloriginalgreat hosting

We played this game at their new premises in Whitechapel. 

Two in our group had played 25-30 rooms, one had never played, so we had an interesting mix. The room was small (it is London) and it is a split start - you start in the ship's brig and have to escape your cells to get started. We've played several of the Escape franchise rooms and this one is probably the trickiest we've played. Unusually for Escape, a lot of the puzzles are magnetised and immersive, rather than codes/padlocks which was a welcome change. We had fun with this room and we did need a couple of hints from Erik, who was an attentive and helpful GM - not excessively forthcoming with hints, which was good. He did make us dance for a clue which was funny!

I won't give away the room but it was a bit more of a challenge than Escape's usual fare and the design was very nicely done. Well done Escape, more of this please.  

flyingoctopus expert rated this:Rated between 3.5 and 3.5 out of 5
Chris Metcalfe experienced rated this:Rated between 3.5 and 3.5 out of 5
Team size: 3 Outcome: Failed ๐Ÿ™
quite difficult
unctionJunction experienced rated this:Rated between 3 and 3 out of 5
Played: 26 Jul 2023 Team size: 6 Time taken: 45:12 Outcome: Successful escape!
quite easy
Anonymous rated this:Rated between 3 and 3 out of 5
immersive
hourglassescapesltd expert rated this:Rated between 4 and 4 out of 5
StaceyF expert rated this:Rated between 3.5 and 3.5 out of 5
Played: 16/10/18 Outcome: Successful escape!
Smithยฒ expert rated this:Rated between 3 and 3 out of 5
Esme Moore experienced rated this:Rated between 3 and 3 out of 5
Speedy Sloth expert rated this:Rated between 3 and 3 out of 5
immersivefamily friendly
TheEscapeBoomers expert rated this:Rated between 3.5 and 3.5 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!

Lots to do - And a great start to the game. 

Jen Wells (Get Wells Soon) expert rated this:Rated between 3 and 3 out of 5
Played: 30 Apr 2023 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
family friendly

A decent offering with some lovely puzzles and a gameplay that makes a lot of sense. Not too tricky but enough in here to make it a room that's both enjoyable and substantial.

Amanda Mary Mack rated this:Rated between 3.5 and 3.5 out of 5
Played: 13 Mar 2022 Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
David Bodsworth experienced rated this:Rated between 4 and 4 out of 5
Played: 27 Nov 2021 Outcome: Successful escape!

Good, solid game with nice decoration and an owner who cares. One puzzle stumped us a little, but I think they have now tweaked this a little.

Rebecca Lowe rated this:Rated between 3 and 3 out of 5
Played: 21 Sep 2022 Team size: 3 Outcome: Successful escape!
value for moneyfamily friendlyillogicalquite easy

Overall good escape room... a couple of puzzles didn't make sense (but could have been us). 

Anonymous rated this:Rated between 3.5 and 3.5 out of 5
Played: 21 Sep 2022 Team size: 3 Outcome: Successful escape!
value for moneyfamily friendlyillogical
Anonymous rated this:Rated between 3.5 and 3.5 out of 5
originalimmersivepoor hosting
Jordan Brown experienced rated this:Rated between 4 and 4 out of 5
Played: 12 Jul 2020 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
kman expert rated this:Rated between 3.5 and 3.5 out of 5
Played: 01 Feb 2019 Team size: 4 Time taken: 49m 35s Outcome: Successful escape!
TheSinger expert rated this:Rated between 3 and 3 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!

Probably the better of the rooms available here. Itโ€™s very much in line with the type of rooms you expect with the Escape franchise. Quite a small space but still a fun room. For experienced players expect to be finished before the 30 minute mark but itโ€™s perfect for families and beginners 

The Monkey expert rated this:Rated between 4 and 4 out of 5
Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivequite easy

This is escape Skegness best room, one of the better Pirate themed rooms I've done with some original puzzles

Simon (The Overthinkers) expert rated this:Rated between 4.5 and 4.5 out of 5
Played: 28 Oct 2018 Team size: 2 Time taken: 40:26 Outcome: Successful escape!
Anonymous rated this:Rated between 4 and 4 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
robasmith rated this:Rated between 3 and 3 out of 5
Played: 29 Aug 2021 Team size: 2 Time taken: 55 mins Outcome: Successful escape!
great hostinggreat themingillogicalquite difficult

The theming is great and and the hint delivery system is decent. Our host was attentive and delivered hints at the right times. One of the puzzles, however, was very illogical. We figured out what we had to do very quickly but there were several ways to interpret the pattern which resulted in us taking 15 minutes to solve a puzzle that should have taken 3 or 4. "Escape" seem to like these kinds of puzzles which is a real shame as it ruins the flow of the game. 

๐Ÿ˜บLianne experienced rated this:Rated between 3.5 and 3.5 out of 5
Played: 21 Aug 2021 Team size: 2 Time taken: 47m Outcome: Successful escape!

Great decor and attention to detail across the game, and a fun, immersive start to the room too. We enjoyed the mix of physical and mental puzzles, and the ways the theme cleverly threaded through them. Enjoyable game throughout, and works well for a team of 2.

Emma Macedo experienced rated this:Rated between 4 and 4 out of 5
Played: 4th Aug 2018 Team size: 4 Time taken: 60:00 Outcome: Successful escape!
funnyimmersivestory-drivenquite difficult
Tim Cooper expert rated this:Rated between 3 and 3 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulfamily friendlyillogical
Anonymous rated this:Rated between 2 and 2 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
illogicalpoor hostingvery easy

This room was well made and included some decent puzzles but was badly let down by the hosting. The host gave far too many clues in quick succession without giving us any time to work it out ourselves. We got out in 33 minutes because of this and didn't have time to enjoy the room.

๐Ÿ”James Bloodworth expert rated this:Rated between 4.5 and 4.5 out of 5
Played: 21/09/2020 Team size: 2 Outcome: Failed ๐Ÿ™
Make no mistake, this is a hard room but it looks fantastic, has one of the best visual 'experiences' yet and may be the best Pirate room I've so far played.  We failed as we were on the last puzzle after spending too much time on a logic puzzle earlier one having failed to spot the pattern.  Best room at the venue.
Anonymous rated this:Rated between 5 and 5 out of 5
๐Ÿฆกcipherdelic virtuoso rated this:Rated between 3 and 3 out of 5
Katherine Gordon rated this:Rated between 3.5 and 3.5 out of 5
Played: 02/09/2019 Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
Mike S expert rated this:Rated between 3.5 and 3.5 out of 5
Arjay Henshall expert rated this:Rated between 4 and 4 out of 5
Played: Team size: 7 Time taken: 59 Outcome: Successful escape!
Jose Adrian experienced rated this:Rated between 3.5 and 3.5 out of 5
Played: Team size: 2 Time taken: Outcome: Successful escape!

Reviews by escape room review sites

The UK's largest escape room franchise has been busy this year, with new branches popping up across the country. In London they've added a branch in Shadwell to the existing one in West London to double the number of games on offer. Seven Seas is one of the new additions, and uses a pirate theme.

My experience with Escape is that they usually provide beginner-friendly rooms that are reliably entertaining as mainstream escape experiences. My first impression on entering this one was that they've...

A pretty game with some fun puzzles, but our enjoyment was severely impaired by the ambiguity of a couple of solutions. If you get easily frustrated, you should definitely steer clear of this experience but if not, then there's definitely some fun to be had.
If youโ€™ve done rooms at Escape Peterborough before then this room will be nothing like them. Theyโ€™ve really upped their game with this room and the only rival for it there is The Cabin. Good theming, decent puzzles (although padlock heavy), but swash-buckling fun

Initial impressions as we walked in the room; it was well decorated and themed, creating an authentic atmosphere.Initially you start off in two split locked spaces, searching around for what you need to get out, communicating all the while between the groups.

See also