Escape London (Shadwell): Escape The Seven Seas

By | March 20, 2019

by Escape London (Shadwell) (website)

412 Commercial Rd, London E1 0LB

East London

2-6 players

60 minutes

Deaf friendly - contact the venue for details
You and your crew have been locked away in the brig. Does your team have what it takes to escape your cell, break into the Captains chamber and steal the treasure all for yourself? Glory and riches await
show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:




If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Overall rating

Rated between 3 and 4 out of 5

based on ratings from 51 users
combined with 8 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

Laura Knight expert rated this:Rated between 3.5 and 3.5 out of 5
Played: 17 Feb 2024 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
This game was fun and flowed very smoothly, it had a clear story and some nice puzzles. We didn't need any hints, and I'd recommend it as a beginner room. 
jontheescapegoat rated this:Rated between 4 and 4 out of 5
Played: 10 Sep 2023 Team size: 3 Time taken: 55 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifuloriginalgreat hosting

We played this game at their new premises in Whitechapel. 

Two in our group had played 25-30 rooms, one had never played, so we had an interesting mix. The room was small (it is London) and it is a split start - you start in the ship's brig and have to escape your cells to get started. We've played several of the Escape franchise rooms and this one is probably the trickiest we've played. Unusually for Escape, a lot of the puzzles are magnetised and immersive, rather than codes/padlocks which was a welcome change. We had fun with this room and we did need a couple of hints from Erik, who was an attentive and helpful GM - not excessively forthcoming with hints, which was good. He did make us dance for a clue which was funny!

I won't give away the room but it was a bit more of a challenge than Escape's usual fare and the design was very nicely done. Well done Escape, more of this please.  

StaceyF expert rated this:Rated between 3.5 and 3.5 out of 5
Played: 16/10/18 Outcome: Successful escape!
Esme Moore experienced rated this:Rated between 3 and 3 out of 5
kman expert rated this:Rated between 3.5 and 3.5 out of 5
Played: 01 Feb 2019 Team size: 4 Time taken: 49m 35s Outcome: Successful escape!
Simon (The Overthinkers) expert rated this:Rated between 4.5 and 4.5 out of 5
Played: 28 Oct 2018 Team size: 2 Time taken: 40:26 Outcome: Successful escape!
Emma Macedo experienced rated this:Rated between 4 and 4 out of 5
Played: 4th Aug 2018 Team size: 4 Time taken: 60:00 Outcome: Successful escape!
funnyimmersivestory-drivenquite difficult
Mike S expert rated this:Rated between 3.5 and 3.5 out of 5
spbc expert rated this:Rated between 4 and 4 out of 5
Played: 7 Nov 2022 Team size: 3 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulgreat hosting
jakea256 expert rated this:Rated between 3.5 and 3.5 out of 5
Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

The UK's largest escape room franchise has been busy this year, with new branches popping up across the country. In London they've added a branch in Shadwell to the existing one in West London to double the number of games on offer. Seven Seas is one of the new additions, and uses a pirate theme.

My experience with Escape is that they usually provide beginner-friendly rooms that are reliably entertaining as mainstream escape experiences. My first impression on entering this one was that they've...

A pretty game with some fun puzzles, but our enjoyment was severely impaired by the ambiguity of a couple of solutions. If you get easily frustrated, you should definitely steer clear of this experience but if not, then there's definitely some fun to be had.

Initial impressions as we walked in the room; it was well decorated and themed, creating an authentic atmosphere.Initially you start off in two split locked spaces, searching around for what you need to get out, communicating all the while between the groups.

If you’ve done rooms at Escape Peterborough before then this room will be nothing like them. They’ve really upped their game with this room and the only rival for it there is The Cabin. Good theming, decent puzzles (although padlock heavy), but swash-buckling fun

See also