Escape Hunt Lakeside: Blackbeard’s Treasure

By | November 24, 2021

by Escape Hunt Lakeside (website)

Lakeside shopping centre Unit 2-5, THURROCK RM20 2ZP

West Thurrock

2-6 players

Languages: EN

60 minutes

Blackbeard is dead, his loot lies unguarded. Sink or swim? It’s up to you.
Step onto a pirate galleon in the middle of a battle for control of the High Seas. Your captain, the terrifying Blackbeard, has just been killed and his ship is shot to pieces and sinking fast.

With no chance of victory, you and your scurvy shipmates decide to jump ship – after helping yourself to the contents of Blackbeard’s legendary treasure chest.

You’ve broken into his cabin to grab all you can, but now the door has jammed shut and you’ve just 60 minutes to escape; any longer and you’ll drown – if the sharks don’t get you first.
show full description

Overall rating

Provisionally rated between 25 and 40 out of 5

estimated score
not from direct reviews

Your review

Player reviews

Mark Greenhalgh expert rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Played: 20/10/18
Richard Holtby rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Sabrina (The Overthinkers) expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 20/04/2019 Time taken: 42:20:00 Outcome: Successful escape!
Tom experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 2018 Team size: 4 Time taken: 48.17 Outcome: Successful escape!

Another visit to Escape Hunt! Yet again the theme is really immersive!  I did prefer the other two rooms I’ve done here, a few things felt a bit worn out or broken even though the room was new, but it is still worth a visit!

Kelly Archer experienced rated this:Rated between 20 and 20 out of 5
George Claydon rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
Joe Brown experienced rated this:Rated between 25 and 25 out of 5
Played: 27/2/19 Team size: 4
Another nice looking room from Escape Hunt, however with limited puzzles and plenty of time spent trying to work out what to do rather than solving puzzles, while still finishing in 45 minutes made this room feel a bit disappointing. Fairly nice tech though.
imrahil experienced rated this:Rated between 20 and 20 out of 5
Team size: 3 Outcome: Successful escape!
🦡cipherdelic virtuoso rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Arjay Henshall expert rated this:Rated between 20 and 20 out of 5
Played: 14/08/2020 Team size: 2 Time taken: 51 Outcome: Successful escape!

Well i just know where to start. Im not sure if i nearly walked out of this room due to the room itself or due to the Game Master operating the game. Perhaps a bit of both 

On first impressions, the theming and decor of the room was great. Lots to look at, some puzzles immediately available and a great sized space. After about 20 mins of progress we got to a sticking point. We knew exactly what we had to do but we couldnt execute it. Sadly, it was an Aural puzzle and both me and my teammate are tone deaf so we literally had not a hope in hells chance of ever being able to complete it. The games Master saw us struggling for several minutes and then asked if we wanted a clue. we said yes and she started waffling on about another puzzle that wasn't related and didn't need solving yet. 

15 minutes later she is still on the intercom trying to give us clues but quite frankly, they were abysmal. Tried telling us there were 3 notes only we needed, turns out there were 5. She even tried walking us through it by telling us to start with the 4th. turned out to be the 8th. She gave us 12 instructions, turns out only needed 7. If you are not able to complete sound based puzzles, then you're sc**wed in this room, especially if you have a Games Master that clearly hasn't got a clue. 

As for the room itself, so many props were damaged or broken. I know that a sinking pirate ship is not going to be perfect, but when there is a difference between being with the theme or plain broken then there is an issue. 

At the end of the room (thankfully we got out without walking out) i told the GM about things being broken. I even took a supposed "fixed" item to show her and was greeted with her response of "well thats your opinion". Clearly not when im holding the prop in question. 

I would not recommend this room

**DISCLAIMER - The assistant manager overheard our displeasure after the game, apologised on behalf of the GM (who we found out is actually leaving, and offered us to play another room Free of Charge, of which we found to be a good room. See my review of Our Finest Hour***

Siân O'Brien rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 12/09/2020 Team size: 5 Time taken: 35:27 Outcome: Successful escape!

I loved this! It was brilliant. It was possibly our best ever time and we made it onto this months leader board! So it was an easier room, in my opinion. (possibly adapted for Covid?) 

lsugaralmond rated this:Rated between 25 and 25 out of 5
Played: 26 Dec 2021 Team size: 4 Time taken: 50 mins Outcome: Successful escape!
hi-techillogicalbroken tech😨creepy

Positives first: The room looked brilliant and the theming was great. Our games master was responsive and helpful. Some of the puzzles were interesting and innovative and very satisfying to solve.

BUT several elements were broken, and the structure of the game was quite illogical. Quite a few things in the room we never figured out what they were for or how to use them and we completed the room without them. It’s not clear if they were red herrings or just broken so not in use. But it’s frustrating to have spent ten minutes trying to work out how (for example) to move two balls through a maze on the wall only to ultimately complete the room without ever doing it. There were a few things like this. Also there was one puzzle which required us to use our sense of smell but only 1 of the 5 smelly things actually smelled of anything so it was impossible. We got there in the end but only by random chance.

On the whole a mediocre experience and not very satisfying because the room just didn’t seem to follow a logical route to completion. 

Sharon Nowik experienced rated this:Rated between 25 and 25 out of 5
Played: August 2020 Team size: 2 Time taken: 55 Outcome: Successful escape!
Lise Mortier expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 2019 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!

We returned to EscapeHunt as a team of two to celebrate Saint Valentine, as it seems to be a new tradition for us! Blackbeard Treasure was to the same quality level as The Last Vikings, really atmospheric with great decors and our host, Captain Michael, was on point! Similar to The Last Vikings, all our clues were given in character. "Hey matey, things tends to fall when on the sea, maybe check the floor" type of clues. Very similar to the Last Vikings, the puzzles were very hands on and only a few code locks within the room. The puzzles were of very varied difficulties, that would fit both experienced players with a 0 clues completion and new players who want to experience various types of puzzles that escape games can offer. One puzzle though was surprisingly made harder that it should have been as all the hints were already present on the piece of paper that you receive to solve it. Another great room for Liverpool! Highly recommend for anyone who hasn't tried EscapeHunt yet. Looking forward to try their 'Cowboys' room and the future Alice In Wonderland. 😮

DebExplores rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Played: 31/10/20 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!

This game had some fun puzzles but it also left us wondering what to do a lot of the time. We spent the first 15 minutes finding things but not entire sure what to do. Once in the second room we found things flowed a bit better. I would go back and play another of their games but I did feel a bit frustrated during the game sometimes when things didn't seem to be moving anywhere. That being said the physical design of the game was appealing and we did have a fun time overall 🙂 

🦡cipherdelic virtuoso rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Anonymous rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 30/12/2019 Team size: 4 Time taken: 39:38 Outcome: Successful escape!
MightyMidds experienced rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
MightyMidds experienced rated this:Rated between 25 and 25 out of 5
Team size: 6 Outcome: Successful escape!
tiny rooms

Did this one with some colleagues even though I had done the Reading version previously. Rooms were much too small for more than 2, possibly 3, people so several people missed out on puzzles.

Emma Macedo experienced rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 7 Jun 2021 Team size: 2 Time taken: 42:33 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivestory-drivenmissing key
Mark Jackson experienced rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Team size: 3 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulquite difficult

Some tough puzzles. The look of the room probably is better than the puzzles themselves

Tom Hill rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5

Reviews by escape room review sites

The game themes that Escape Hunt have been rolling out sound a little like costume ideas for a children's party: cowboys, vikings, Doctor Who, pirates. Since this is an industry that deals in escapism, that's all to the good, and we eagerly signed up for their Blackbeard game.
Your job is to sneak into the cabin of the recently deceased Captain Blackbeard and swipe his loot before the ship sinks; our gamemaster played the role of our confederate on the outside with gusto. Pirate themes always s...
The tale of Blackbeard's Treasure goes - you and your team find yourself stranded on a sinking pirate ship. Sure, you could immediately jump ship and row your way across the ocean to safety but where would be the fun in that? Plus, rumour has it there is treasure aboard. The legendary Blackbeard's Treasure. It's hidden somewhere inside his personal quarters and its your job to find it and get to safety before the ship sinks.

Our least favourite game that we have played at Escape Hunt. The puzzles could have been really good but their execution was somewhat lacking. An enjoyable game overall however

We headed to Oxford only to end up on Blackbeards Sinking Ship. See how we got on finding the treasure and escaping a watery grave!

See also