Escape Peterborough: Witchcraft and Wizardry

By | March 20, 2019

by Escape Peterborough (website)

23 Church Walk, PE1 1SB

Peterborough

2-4 players

60 minutes

Welcome to the school of witchcraft and wizardry where there has been some funny goings on. In a classroom full of tricks, puzzles, challenges and spells, you must solve them all to escape the grasps of the evil professor and graduate with a distinction!
show full description

Overall rating

Rated between 20 and 30 out of 5

based on ratings from 30 users
combined with 6 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

Tim Cooper expert rated this:Rated between 20 and 20 out of 5
Team size: 2 Time taken: 58:30 Outcome: Successful escape!
illogicalunoriginal
Richard Horton rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Steph Jefford rated this:Rated between 25 and 25 out of 5
windy 77 rated this:
Team size: 3 Outcome: Successful escape!

My first room I did loved it so much did another one straight after.

πŸ”James Bloodworth expert rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Played: 2020-09-19 00:00:00 Team size: 2 Time taken: 53:53 Outcome: Successful escape!
Whilst attending a certain magical college, you find the final exam could be a little taxing...  Like Overthronw borrowing heavily on Game of Thrones imagery, you don't need to have read/seen the Harry Potter books to enjoy this room but you will appreciate some things you find.  This is a fairly small room but there is a variety of puzzles with some clever reveals.
Brian experienced rated this:Rated between 15 and 15 out of 5
Team size: 3 Outcome: Successful escape!

this room is way too small

Mike S expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Claire Stephens rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: Team size: Time taken:
Jose Adrian experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: Team size: 2 Time taken: Outcome: Successful escape!
Maddie Lawton rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: Team size: 2 Time taken: Outcome: Successful escape!
Anonymous rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: Team size: 4 Time taken: Outcome: Successful escape!
Barry Hammond experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 13/10/2018 Team size: 4 Time taken: 37 Outcome: Successful escape!
Arjay Henshall expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: Team size: 2 Time taken: 52.30 Outcome: Successful escape!
Martin Ellis rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Brian experienced rated this:Rated between 25 and 25 out of 5
Team size: 5 Outcome: Successful escape!
escapermanic rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
value for moneyfamily friendlymagical
Katherine Gordon rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 05/12/2017 Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
SiSitAndWait rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 22 Jan 2022 Team size: 4 Time taken: 49:55 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersivefamily friendly

A Harry Potter room without saying Harry Potter ha!

Some very original moments in this game with some clever surprised made this a fun game for our team. One of the closing puzzles we had never seen anything like and it was really well executed. 

🦑cipherdelic virtuoso rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Anonymous rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
DebExplores rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Team size: 3 Outcome: Successful escape!

Being aimed towards families, it's an easier game that wouldn't challenge enthusiasts but my team members, being new to escaping, absolutely loved it. One to do if you're new to escaping or still establishing a new team who aren't used to recognising puzzles. Glasgow offer this game with 2 rooms so 2 different teams can compete against each other as well as trying to escape the room. 

Anonymous rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Anonymous rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivestory-drivenfamily friendly
Amy Lowson rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 2 Apr 2018 Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
bradyo rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 10 Oct 2021 Team size: 2 Time taken: 40:54 Outcome: Successful escape!
story-drivenfamily friendlymagical

Fun room for fans of Harry Potter. We thought there were a couple of really unique puzzles/sections of the room which we really enjoyed, it really added to the 'magical' element of the room. There wasn't anything particularly difficult, the room was one of the more easy ones we've played generally, but there was a couple of times where I think one would struggle to work out a clue without hints. Either way, this was a great room to play. I would recommend for first timers and families with younger children, but this doesn't mean adults/experienced players wouldn't enjoy it either!

nanocatsammy experienced rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Outcome: Successful escape!
family friendlyquite easy
Anonymous rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
family friendly
Molly Minerva experienced rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
cleverstory-driven

Some really lovely details in this room and some instinctive, logical puzzles. A couple of really excellent elements to this game that we particularly enjoyed - a fun room.

Simon (The Overthinkers) expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 28 Oct 2018 Team size: 2 Time taken: 59:20 Outcome: Successful escape!
🦑cipherdelic virtuoso rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5

Reviews by escape room review sites

Witchcraft & Wizardry is certainly a pretty room, with plenty of fan service to those who like the Harry Potter franchise. It's also a noticeably small room, which means this is a game I'd recommend playing with a small team.
To my cynical eye it was rather heavily based on unlocking one padlocked drawer after another, with a few more red herring items than I can approve of. The rule that everything is used exactly once was broken in the other direction too, with an item being unexpectedly need...
If things were running smoothly this is probably an ok room, particularly for children or new players. But if you’re an enthusiast I think you’ll find this room rather lacking and one to avoid.
A pretty room with a reasonable and nicely structured set of puzzles. Although it could most definitely be improved, we enjoyed our time in the game and, as London games go, it would sneak into my top half.

In the almost-year since I’ve visited, but it definitely stands out as one of my favourites of 2020. I’d recommend this for a beginner team, a team of magic fans, or anyone wanting a satisfying escape room experience.

We needed a family-friendly room, and this fits the bill beautifully - minimal jeopardy in a fantastical yet cosily familiar world. 

See also