Escapable: Outatime

By | October 14, 2021

by Escapable (website)

Thornes Lane Wharf, Wakefield WF1 5RL

Wakefield

2-8 players

Languages: EN

60 minutes

Can you head back into the past and solve the puzzles left for you by the Professor to re-jig the thingamy whats-it and save human kind as we know it?!? You will be transported back through the decades, you will need to work with your team to overcome several obstacles that are currently blocking your only path home!
show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:




If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Overall rating

Rated between 4 and 5 out of 5

based on ratings from 57 users
combined with 3 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

lishahirst experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
A super fun and immersive room! We got a little caught up by something SO obvious but still managed to get out. The ending is great. Super friendly GM, would recommend for any back to the future fans!
🦡cipherdelic virtuoso rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: May 2022 Outcome: Successful escape!
funnyfamily friendly

Fun room with lots of subtle and, even more completely blatant, nods to the Back to the Future films. I especially loved the music in the kitchen, great for a bop around the room.  Great fun!

TheEscapeBoomers expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalgreat hostingfamily friendly

Pleasantly surprised! Great game with some nice surprises! Loved the retro feel and the nostalgia trip. 

Pagan Hollis experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 10 May 2023 Team size: 4 Time taken: 46:05 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersivegreat hosting
Ladylusiphur rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 11 Feb 2023 Team size: 2 Time taken: 46:30 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivestory-drivenepic

There isn't much I can say that hasn't already been covered by previous reviews, but I can't say enough how much I enjoyed this room. 

You can tell that whoever put this together really loves the genre, and also really cares about the experience of the player. The addition of a couple of little tricks, good music, and authentic nods to the eras made it really feel like you were immersed in your own little movie, not just going through the motions of puzzle to puzzle. Several times we were looking at each other and saying 'how cool is this??' And really, sometimes it's the simple things that really make the difference, and a lot of escape room companies can learn from that. 

The puzzles were mixed level, nothing I thought was particularly difficult but often just required thought to find the right clues and link the right pieces together. I think we managed it with only one or two hints to point us in the right direction, no time lost scratching our heads in frustration. 

The final section was definitely the most fun, and it's a shame we couldn't just stay longer and appreciate the effectiveness of it all. I was in my element. 

Hosting was great, very friendly guy (sorry I forgot his name but he's a big fan of Cabaret!), gave the right help when needed but otherwise left us to it. Clearly loves his job. 

Definitely one of my top 3 games ever. 

Ashley Archbold rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Team size: 2 Time taken: 53 Outcome: Successful escape!
value for moneyoriginalepic

If you like Back to the Future, this is the room for you. If you like 90s Nostalgia this is the room for you. If you like Escape Rooms, this is the room for you. If you havent played an escape room before, then this isnt the one for you as it sets the bar too high!!! Such a great room, ive played it twice. 

Jess_keds expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Outcome: Successful escape!
hi-techoriginalgreat hosting
Paul Flinders rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 21 Feb 2023 Team size: 2 Time taken: 58mins
immersivestory-drivenfamily friendly

As a Back to the Future fan I was really looking forward to playing this room and I have to say Escapable did not disappoint.

Also having played many rooms and even designed escape rooms myself, it was nice to be caught out by clever puzzles

Would 100% recommend 

Tatie experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 21 May 2022 Team size: 3 Time taken: 57:12 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivestory-drivenfamily friendly

Brilliant game. This was the second game my friends had ever played and it set the bar for later games very high as they are still talking about it now almost a year later.

Dan Taylor experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 1 Mar 2023 Team size: 2 Time taken: 51:15 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalstory-drivengreat hosting

Where to start? First off, our host Tom was an absolute pleasure to talk to. We spent a good bit of time both before and after the game talking about escape rooms. Always good for me as it indicates the care and enthusiasm that has been put in. And it definitely showed!

There was a great fun intro to the room from Tom himself as well as a great story intro once we got inside. I am a huge fan of the back to the future franchise but my partner has never seen them. The room was clever enough to work for us both, delivering the story well regardless of the external knowledge although there were some lovely little details for fans of the film.

The puzzles we came across had the perfect balance of challenge and difficulty without being frustrating. Only a couple of pointers needed and as always it was down to us being silly rather than the puzzles being illogical! 

I feel it's worth mentioning that one of our directional locks didn't work throughout the game (we all know it happens) but rather than it causing a problem, the way Tom dealt with it was so good and professional and was able to keep us immersed in the game while being able to fix it for us. He also was incredibly apologetic about it after the game.

The end of the game had some of the best theatrics I've experienced and I was grinning like a maniac. 

The background music had me dancing and singing along between puzzles and helped add to the overall enjoyment of the game.

I would recommend this room to anyone. Go play this room!

Swimminglion238 rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Team size: 4 Time taken: 54.01
beautifulcleverimmersive

An absolutely beautiful game, full of fun and great puzzles!

🎲A Jones experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 11 Feb 2023 Team size: 2 Time taken: 42:51 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersiveretro

This is a fantastic game. The puzzles aren’t too tricky and there’s one or two that stand out as clever/nice in terms of being a bit different. However, the theme is great and the decoration and nostalgia make it something special. There’s quite a lot of space used purely for the theme and to make both the start and finish a bit special too.

Jordan Brown experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 16 Dec 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 47:22 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivemagical
Mighty Oaks experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 26 Feb 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 46:05 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalfunnyimmersivequite easy
Speedy Sloth expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
immersivestory-drivengreat hosting
Anonymous rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 23 Nov 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 53:59 Outcome: Successful escape!
cleverimmersivegreat hosting
TheDreamTeam experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 15 Oct 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 56 Outcome: Successful escape!
hi-techimmersiveepic

Wow what a room, one of our favourite escape rooms. If you can stop yourself boogying to the music you will find some clever original puzzles. Every stage just gets better and better. Absolutely lovely host (Mike). A must visit and we will return at our first opportunity. 

PS. Don't forget where you've left your walkie talkie 🙂

TheSinger expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalimmersive

Another room shooting straight into my top 10! 

I’m a huge fan of the 60’s and 80’s and without knowing much about the room prior I was like a kid in a sweet shop playing through the game! I LOVED it. Some great fun puzzles all well themed and even more WOW moments with surprises round every corner. The end…. Very impressive. I won’t give too much away… 

The Monkey expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Outcome: Successful escape!

Not my cuppa tea but seeing my 80s mad friends face constantly was amazing

LockAndMe experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Team size: 3 Outcome: Successful escape!
value for moneyfunnygreat hosting

My absolute favourite escape room I have ever played. LOVED this room. I am a huge fan of the film franchise, so was excited anyways, however, you DONT have to be a fan to enjoy this room. It's great. With enough memorabilia and reference from the film, but none of it important to the game, so knowledge of the film isnt required. 
The soundtrack of this room is great, so much so, that when we couldnt figure out the clues we'd dance for  a bit before going back to them. 
EVERYTHING in this room was fun, and involved EVERYTHING I wanted, lots of things I expected, and so much more I didnt. 
Great room! Highly recommend! 

matt_keds expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 26 Jun 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 45:41 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalstory-drivennostalgic

#74

Awesome room! So immersive and the set is brilliant, you genuinely don’t know where you’re going to end up next. Also one of the best finales we’ve seen. If you’re a Back to the Future fan then you HAVE to play this one.

🔐James Bloodworth expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 01/05/2022
funnyimmersivenostalgic
If you get the above reference then you should know where this time travelling game draws its influence from.  Some clever use of video sets the scene and we are off on our travels.  Featuring a great finale, this should appeal to anyone with a love of 80’s nostalgia.
Jen Wells (Get Wells Soon) expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
hi-techcleverimmersive

Absolutely brilliant! We were so overwhelmed by the attention to detail, the quirky details and the truly immersive storytelling. This is an unmissable one... with some of the most incredible theatrics I've seen in an escape room. So much fun!

Simon (The Overthinkers) expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 17 Apr 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 37:01 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalimmersivegreat hosting
Sabrina (The Overthinkers) expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 17 Apr 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 37:01
hi-techoriginalimmersive

This game was so much fun! The game play flowed really well, there was a soundtrack accompanying the time travel into each carefully decorated decade and a very satisfying return to the present- which, to me, is a must in any time travel room. 

If you were born in or before the 1980s, you must play this room. Absolutely unmissable!

Also fantastic hosting, we are really looking forward to the opening of future rooms!

flyingoctopus expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalstory-drivenfamily friendly

What a laugh!!

We played as a 4 and the space is a little tight at times but we really enjoyed this game. 

There are some very interesting set pieces and we loved being transported back to the 80s with the decor and sound track. 

Played at the old location, so there maybe some differences now that it has been moved over. 

🤘The Pick of Destiny expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Anonymous expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Outcome: Successful escape!
originalgreat hosting
Lotsa Locks experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 22 Jul 2023 Team size: 2 Time taken: 46:42 Outcome: Successful escape!
hi-techimmersivestory-driven
AM Gold rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
cleverstory-driven80s
🔐SpontaneousIllusion expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Dan Getliffe experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 11 May 2024 Team size: 2 Time taken: 41.53 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersive

A really good experience - not quite up there with the best rooms in terms of puzzles and having enough to do, but the sets are great and there’s a really good finale! I’m not much of a back to the future fan, but if you are you’ll love this one! 

knoh39 experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 23 May 2024 Team size: 2 Time taken: 53.11 Outcome: Successful escape!
hi-techimmersivestory-driven
Absolutely loved this room. So much effort and attention has gone into this room. Easily one of my top 3 rooms! Totally immersive and clever puzzles. 
spbc expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 1 Jan 2024 Team size: 4
beautifulhi-techgreat hosting
Farmergeddon Outta Here experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 2 May 2024 Team size: 2 Time taken: 52:47 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifuloriginalimmersive
A brilliantly themed room, we were fully immersed in the room and felt like we were actually in Back to the Future! Mike did a great job hosting, and there were some unique puzzles in there and some top stand out moments too. Amazing room, the team at Escapable definitely deserve their reputation for being one of the best escape companies out there!
samsham experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 12 Apr 2024 Team size: 2 Time taken: 57:52 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivestory-drivenepic
liam and rosie experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
cleverimmersivequite difficult
Mrs G expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
great hostingfamily friendly
leighton_87 rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 9 Mar 2024 Team size: 3 Time taken: 45 Outcome: Successful escape!
cleverstory-drivenfamily friendly
Wow, what a game, definitely in my top 3 games played so far.
The theme is not an obvious one for a great set but you were instantly immersed into the past without it being tacky.
Puzzles were everywhere as you walked through the door allowing everyone to split up but also great opportunity for team work.
For those that make it to the end you are in for a huge treat #nospoilers
Team Jophie experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 9 Feb 2024 Team size: 2 Time taken: 43:54 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalimmersive
escapeartist1212 expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
hi-techfunny
Chris Metcalfe experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 26 Jan 2024 Team size: 3 Time taken: 54 Outcome: Successful escape!
hi-techfunnygreat hosting
Such good fun. Plenty of surprises along the way. Great ending! This is a must play room if you are in the area. Or worth a journey. This was our second visit to Escapable and we will return again to play another room. Excellent hosting from a real enthusiast 
Gavin Ritchie rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 29 Dec 2023 Team size: 2 Time taken: 55 Outcome: Successful escape!
hi-techcleverimmersivequite difficult
A modest set of escape rooms built by a group of guys and gals that clearly love and adore the idea of entertaining their guests with high quality rooms, offering great theming and great puzzle quality. The room guides are engaged and very happy to modify their level of support to their guests.This room was played as a group of 2, with moderate escape room experience. Thoroughly recommend Outtatime (my personal favorite in this building!). Truly unique!. Highly rate the company as a whole (have played Titanic and The great Loudini, all rooms so far highly recommended!)
Anonymous rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 3 Mar 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 56:29 Outcome: Successful escape!
epic
Davina Bowkett rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Outcome: Successful escape!
originalcleverimmersive
TheHs2000 rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 28 Dec 2023 Team size: 4 Time taken: 55 minutes Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivestory-drivennostalgic
As a child of the 80's I LOVED this room so much! At various points in the room, I just stopped to look around and take it all in and then realised I was losing precious time!! ;-)) Absolutely wonderful and we all left with beaming smiles on our faces!
bethamari experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 04/02/2024 Team size: 4 Time taken: 51:58 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivegreat hostingepic
Another hit from Escapable. Brilliantly themed room with some lovely touches and surprises. Felt really special and better than Universal’s own escape experience!
Mark Crossley experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 07/07/2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 40:44 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalfunnyimmersive
If you like the film you will love this, great room with fantastic sound track and superb host!
Spanishfleas experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 26 Nov 2023 Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
funnycleverstory-driven

Thoroughly enjoyed my time in this room. Didn’t care how long we were taking - I was distracted by all the nostalgia hits. Amazing finish too! Beware some puzzles you can’t do right away. Loved it and the soundtrack. 

Seven Of Diamonds experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 2023 Team size: 2 Time taken: ~40min Outcome: Successful escape!
originalimmersivegreat hosting
TheAllatts rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 2 Nov 2023 Team size: 4 Time taken: 40.59
immersivestory-drivengreat hosting

We were greeted by Luke who while in character gave us a brilliant introduction to the game. On entry we found ourselves back in time with plenty of fun puzzles to solve. There’s lots to get stuck into and we were all kept busy by the puzzles. Some great tech opened up an additional room with loads of different puzzles, some of which were unlike any puzzles we’ve seen elsewhere. The range of puzzles allowed our group to split off and get to work while still needing some teamwork as and when required. No spoilers but if you successfully complete the escape room then you are in for a real treat! Overall a fantastic experience and we can’t wait to come back. 

d.green26 expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 26 Oct 2023 Team size: 2 Time taken: 54 Outcome: Successful escape!
great hostingfamily friendlymagical

A great game with lots of fun puzzles and fun tech that kept us entertained throughout the full hour. Most enjoyable fun game that would be great for a family along with any other escape room fans. It will also appeal to people that grow up in the 80's with call backs to films and toys of those days.

goyinghome rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
funnycleverfamily friendly

Brilliant room, good fun and great set design

StaceyF expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 8 Oct 2023 Team size: 3 Time taken: 40:58 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifuloriginalepic

Doesn't matter if you're a fan of Back to the Future or not, this room is so much fun and a must do. The set design is superb and it has a number of wow and geek-out moments. 

puzzlebitch experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 26 Sep 2023 Team size: 2 Time taken: 49 mins
immersivemagicalvery fun

What a fun game!! Absolutely loved visiting the past (complete with perfect accompanying soundtrack) and there were some amazing moments. Just an absolute blast overall, this one was really REALLY fun. Luke was a great gamesmaster also! 

Would highly recommend this room, even if you haven't seen Back To The Future (I haven't but it didn't affect my enjoyment of the room at all)!

Simon R Leslie experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 2 Sep 2023 Team size: 2 Time taken: 50:35 Outcome: Successful escape!
cleverstory-drivengreat hosting

This is a phenomenal room, flows brilliantly, great soundtrack and immersive experience. Hosting by Tom and Sam was fantastic, absolutely no surprises there. Very excited to revisit in the future. 

Moosehead expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Team size: 4
value for moneygreat hosting

A really fun game!  We were laughing and dancing through the game and it had some clever elements throughout.  

Reviews by escape room review sites

My knowledge of classic 80s movies is clearly lacking, because it took me quite a few months after hearing of Outatime before I realised it’s inspired by Back To The Future.
As you’d expect from a time travel theme, this is a game that spans different settings. There are of course a great many nods to the movie, some subtle and some blatant, though I’d say that the majority of this game focuses on the movie’s setting more than on the movie’s plot. The premise here is that you’re lost in time a...
Outatime is clearly inspired by a certain time-travelling film, and whilst not using anything outright from the film, it is a genuine homage to it, and very nicely done.

A must-visit for any Back To The Future fan. Not the hardest room that I’ve done in terms of complexity, but the sheer number of puzzles keep you busy. And the soundtrack and finale are some of the best I’ve seen at an escape room.

Lists

This game is part of the following user-created game lists:
  • Best UK escape rooms 2022 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2022, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 
  • Best UK escape rooms 2023 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2023, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 

See also

Other copies of this game in other locations:(Different copies of the same game sometimes have significant differences.)