Make Your Escape: Utopia

By | March 20, 2019

by Make Your Escape (website)

First Floor, 4 Osmaston Road ('The Spot'), DE1 2HR

Derby

2-5 players

60 minutes

In an alternate time-line, the world is divided between those who have and those who have not. Utopia and Dystopia share a story and a past, separate yet intertwined, where perhaps not all is as it seems.
For those in Utopia, life is good and technologically advanced. Every need is catered for. Every wish fulfilled. Overseen by their benevolent government, the Utopians are protected from the outside dystopian world and the disease-ridden creatures that roam there.
As they strive to maintain perfect balance and harmony, will you be able to pass the selection process and begin your new Utopian life?
show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:




If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Overall rating

Rated between 3 and 4.5 out of 5

based on ratings from 41 users
combined with 7 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

Pegz241 rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 22 Feb 2020 Team size: 2 Time taken: 59:41 Outcome: Successful escape!
Ellie experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 2021-06-06 00:00:00 Team size: 3 Outcome: Successful escape!
hi-techimmersive

Rating based on playing this back-to-back with Dystopia.

jakea256 expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 14 Apr 2022 Team size: 3 Time taken: 43:00 Outcome: Successful escape!
clever

Very clever how this room blends with Dystopia - Would recommend playing back to back if you can. Set design was really cool and all puzzles fit well within the theme.

matt_keds expert rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Played: 22 Feb 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 57 Outcome: Successful escape!
hi-techstory-drivenbroken tech

#45

After completing The Signal and Spellbound in the morning, we headed back after lunch to tackle Dystopia and Utopia.  Having two rooms blend together like these two do with their stories is something I’ve never seen before and felt very original.

- The decor of Dystopia may seem a little lacking at first, but there is a story-based reason for it. This was a very fun room, but with a slightly frustrating final puzzle that even our host had admitted a lot of people (himself included)  had found difficult to see/comprehend. However it didn’t spoil our experience of the room.

- After completing Dystopia we headed straight into Utopia. The way you start the game was surprising and unique, although could have been tightened up a bit so that no GM interaction was required (players of the game with understand what I mean by this). This would also have added to the immersiveness of the game. 

After getting through to the main hub of the game, I can say the decoration of the room was fantastic, with a couple of things I’ve never seen before. The puzzles in this room are all very electronic-based, compared to Dystopia where it is mainly padlocks.

Unfortunately,  due to this reliance on technology, one of our puzzles didn’t operate at all, causing the GM to have to come in  and pause our time while he fixed it quickly.

The final part of the room was again very tech-dependant, with a couple of frustrating and lacklustre puzzles, with a poor way to interact with them. When we finally had the means to exit the game, our host came in to tell us while we had escaped, we couldn’t fully complete the experience because another team was in the area we escape to! (previous players will understand what I mean)

This was very frustrating as it would have been down to the GM’s poor time/team management, and it meant we couldn’t fully complete the experience. After a brilliant morning, this obviously left a very sour taste in our mouths, given that we had spent so much time and money at a venue and couldn’t complete the experience.

All in all, I would still recommend both rooms, and that you should definitely do them back to back, starting with Dystopia. 

Personal ranking of the rooms at Make Your Escape would be:

1. Spellbound

2. The Signal

3. Dystopia

4. Utopia

abunai expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
If you are visiting this venue playing Utopia and Dystopia back to back is a must.
Mark Greenhalgh expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 04/11/18
Simon (The Overthinkers) expert rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 31 Oct 2020 Team size: 2 Time taken: 44:52 Outcome: Successful escape!
Play this back to back with Dystopia for the full experience.
Anonymous rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
fraggle42 experienced rated this:Rated between 25 and 25 out of 5
Played: 10 Jul 2021 Team size: 2 Time taken: 47.01 Outcome: Successful escape!
hi-techbroken tech

Tech problems but kindly offered a free game as an apology. Good customer service was appreciated. 

🔐James Bloodworth expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 31/07/2021 Team size: 2 Time taken: 59:15
hi-techstory-drivengreat hosting
The other half of the game from Dystopia (although both can be played stand alone).  This is very different and involves a lot of high tech puzzles and games as you try and find the way to escape.  Its easy to overthink some puzzles, as the GM told us afterwards, we tore our way through the hard puzzles and completely over thought the easier ones.  I'd say this is slightly harder than Dystopia as the pressure can build at one stage but would also be good for larger groups.
Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

Utopia is the sister game to Dystopia, its complement and its inverse. Where Dystopia’s decor is urban decay, Utopia is all sleekly gleaming computer panels; where Dystopia's puzzles tend more to the physical, Utopia's use touch-panels and screens and electronics.

Your mission is to pass the tests that will allow you entrance to the elite enclosed community of Utopia - though your motives for doing so may depend on whether you've just emerged from Dystopia or not. The over-arching plot advance...

A pair of games that were both enjoyable experiences, but which really came into their own when played back to back. Break out of Dystopia before discovering the truth behind the perfect society of Utopia.
If you’ve ever wondered what it would be like to live a world like in the movie ‘Divergent’, then you need to play both Utopia and Dystopia, back-to-back.
Utopia and Dystopia are two different games, but we’re covering them in the same article. I’m not sure that’s wise, because, they’re very, very different. But they are connected: both figuratively and literally. Figuratively, they share the same universe and form two parts of the same story. Literally, you can play both games together and certain things in one can game can influence the other, turning it in to a competitive event. I also believe it’s possible to play both games back-to-back, coming right out of one and into another, but that’s somewhat dependent on there not being anyone in the other game!
We played Dystopia and Utopia back-to-back. Alone this is another good game, but played as a sequel to Dystopia it adds a whole other layer to the development of the story.

A challenging logical room that requires a lot of mental input but very enjoyable.

Lists

This game is part of the following user-created game lists:

See also