Extremescape: Lost Tomb

By | March 20, 2019

by Extremescape (website)

Stanley Hall Farm, Stanley Hall Lane, SK12 2JX

Disley

2-8 players

90 mins
We built The Pirate Ship after playing only 4 escape rooms and we wanted to put our own stamp on “Our Escape Room” .
To our surprise The Pirate Ship was unbelievably well received and the reviews have been fantastic, better than we ever imagined.
The pressure was on, our next room had to be as good, if not better than The Pirate Ship. It took nearly a year to build, it is heavily themed, exciting, interactive, immersive and a real live adventure.
Your team of adventurers & archeologists, enter an abandoned gold mine in the heart of the Mexican mountains, your mission is to find the hidden gold.
Legend says that the holder of the hidden gold of El Narangel will find the Lost Tomb.
The miners left subtle clues & hints, if you use all your skills you may find the hidden gold and ultimately the Lost Tomb but be careful they the miners won’t give up their gold easily.
The Lost Tomb is now open.
Come and see for yourselves,
Good Luck
show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:




If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Overall rating

Rated between 4 and 4.5 out of 5

based on ratings from 40 users
combined with 8 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

ShellH experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
WinglessArchangel experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 15 Jan 2022 Team size: 6 Time taken: 64 mins Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivegreat hostingfamily friendlyquite difficult😨creepy

Amazing room! So many really neat little touches, lots of things we haven’t seen before in other escape rooms. Annoyingly, even though it is a very non-linear room, we approached this in a rather linear way and got a bit hung up on a few wee minor points as a result, but we had just the right amount of support to help us through any wobbles. Lots of really cool physical set pieces made the whole experience really immersive, with a few wee moments that were slightly creepy, but certainly nothing that would properly scare anyone of a nervous disposition. We loved this room so much and can thoroughly recommend taking the time to find it and travel there - even if you don’t live locally; you won’t regret it!

Adam Bravery expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 30 Jun 2022 Team size: 3 Time taken: 56:17 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifuloriginalquite difficult

Cracking design for this room with some awesome elements I hadn't seen in other games. Found it a bit harder than the pirate ship, a few more moments of wondering what to do next but GM was always on hand to nudge us in the right direction. Particularly enjoyed the riddle in the first section 

🔐James Bloodworth expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 18/04/2022 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersivegreat hosting
Once again terrific theming and solid puzzle design (with some incredible physical effects) create an incredible game.  The puzzle flow is mostly non-linear in nature and will test your searching, observation and deduction skills.  I think the puzzles in the second half let the room down slightly but it’s still of a high standard and still very much worth your time.
abooth expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 18 Apr 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 75 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersivestory-driven

Beautiful set, loads of good puzzles and a terrific story. Some bits made me gasp both in terms of set and story.

flyingoctopus expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifuloriginal

Maybe an unpopular opinion, but this was my least favourite of the 3 games.

It is still an epic set with some beautiful props.  The amount of effort that goes into the building of these rooms is outstanding.

We found some of the puzzles had been duplicated from the pirate room and tweaked to fit the new theme. 

These games are definitely worth the trip to the farm. I would recommend playing them all in one visit. 

grogu42 experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Team size: 5 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivegreat hostingfamily friendly

Came to play here with work and we played all 3 games in one day.

The game was fantastically themed, with a great story line and plenty of suprises! Such a great venue with a great use of space! The hosts were amazing also! Highly recommend!

Anonymous experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
clevergreat hostingfamily friendly

I played a few years ago. Lovely host and good puzzles.

matt_keds expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 30 Jan 2022 Team size: 4 Time taken: 62/90 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalimmersivestory-driven

#35

Again, brilliant design and attention to detail at Extremescape! The introduction to this room is particularly unique and blew our minds! The decor really makes you feel like you are in an old prospector mine. The puzzles we had to solve had a wide variety and a few things we had never seen before. The last part of this experience was a particularly cool surprise as well, that took us a second to figure out! After completing all of the rooms as Extremescape, our personal ranking would be:

1. Viking

2. Pirate Ship

3. Lost Tomb

Take the day to do all 3, they are all unique with their design and puzzles and all loads of fun. We need more 90-minute rooms!

Mark Greenhalgh expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 12/02/16
puzzlebitch experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 24 Sep 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 76 mins Outcome: Successful escape!
originalimmersiveepic

This is one of two rooms we played at Extremescape and again, they have absolutely knocked it out of the park with the incredible room design, super cool puzzles and some absolutely epic moments along the way. Lots of things we have never seen or done before in an escape room which is always a plus! I really cannot over-state how impressive the rooms here look, the craftspersonship is just unbelievable.

A few small issues we had with the room: we thought they could do with an override switch for one of the puzzles as we had solved it correctly a few times before it worked. We also thought the ending was ever so slightly anti-climactic (it took us a minute to realise we'd actually escaped) but honestly, these things were pretty minor in what was otherwise an absolutely incredible experience. I screamed with delight and joy so many times as magical things happened around us. Lots and lots of fun, I really loved this game. The negatives are far outweighed by the positives and even despite these small issues, the rooms here are leagues above others and a must-play for enthusiasts! 

Simon (The Overthinkers) expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 18 Oct 2020 Team size: 2 Time taken: 77:56 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivestory-driven
Ronnie Meade experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 5 Dec 2021 Team size: 2 Time taken: 64:00 Outcome: Successful escape!
funnycleverimmersive

Is Carlsberg did openings to an escape room, this would be it... A simplistic riddle to get your brain ticking with a theatrical transition to enter the mine that will put a smile on every players face! The room design and themeing are  and immerses you in to your game. The puzzles will rack your brains, we were kicking ourselves at one particular element that we acted like escape room experts rather than seeing it for what it was but this was testament to the room and variety in puzzles. A little surprise added humour and a jump element to the room. The next transition was also clever and stayed on theme. The last puzzle wasn't as epic as vikings but overall an outstanding experience! 

Anonymous rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 2019 Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!

After escaping from the Pirate Ship and a quick lunch in the village of Disley, we attempted our escape from the Lost Tomb. We escaped in a bit more than an hour (as this room as well offers a 90 minutes escape limit) with 0 clues asked (but still some hints from our game master). Just like their other room, the Lost Tomb put you straight into immersion with an 'introduction room' that is very very effective and the puzzle to get out of it is really smart! But it's only once you enter the 'real' room that you are in for a Wow factor thanks to the brilliant props and original decors of the room. The clues and hints are once again given via a pre-recorded voice actor that would slightly remind you of Indiana Jones: you put your finger somewhere you shouldn't and you will hear him say "This is not going to help", suggest a solution to a puzzle and you will hear him say something like "Good thinking, cowboy". This really makes you stay immersed and focused on your escape. We also really appreciated the little spooky touches that will make you jump and smile as well as the full attention to details partially thanks to the help of ingenious DIY. Just like in the Pirate Ship, one puzzle was really maths-heavy and you would need someone in your crew that is good with numbers to make sure you don't get stuck. Luckily our crew have a wild range of talents :D. This wasn't too much of a buzzkill as the rest of the puzzles in the room were very clever and hands-on. The room was still relatively lock-heavy but thanks to the variety and interactivity of the puzzles, it didn't feel like a burden. The reveals and surprises along the way are very exciting too and it's always a pleasure to escape from a room in which the entrance door is not the exit door. Well done Extremescape! We are looking forward to try their future Vikings room and if you are in the area or planning a weekend away, I would highly recommend heading there! The surroundings cities really allow a great weekend for walks, food (and escape rooms). 😉

Arjay Henshall expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 11/10/2020 Team size: 3 Time taken: 65 Outcome: Successful escape!

I don't really know where to start on this on this game. 

I guess ill start with first impressions. The opening scene was great with a great special effect (or 2) and moving into the second room was also rather on point on looked great. It was a large space, open game play and clear direction. Some enjoyable puzzles, great tech usage and sense of humour.

That being said, I had to deduct 2 half stars 

- I deducted the first half star for consistent theming. This was a room of 2 halves (and a bit extra). Both great theming in their own rights but i felt the theming from the first room was not carried into the second room. Moving from a Mediterranean mine into an Egyptian style tomb was a little erratic 

- The finale was a little bit of a let down. Despite great fun in the rooms, the final door opened into another room, we had a quick look around only to come to the realisation that the room we had just moved into was actually just a back office area and wasn't part of the game. No real sense of achievement and we kind of just waited around until the GM master came in to de-brief us.

These are only minor elements and i would still highly recommend playing this game and indeed playing all 3 games at Extremescape

Laura McGill expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 27/09/2020 Team size: 2 Time taken: 75:00 Outcome: Successful escape!
🦡cipherdelic virtuoso rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Joe Brown expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 22/6/19 Team size: 4
Nice sets, some cool props and puzzles, but a couple of technical problems let down this experience. Great room if you're in the area but we'd travelled far to come so it was a little overhyped!
Catherine K experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalimmersivestory-driven😨creepy

We’d asked the owners to tone down the ‘special effects’ as I’m a massive wimp, they happily obliged and this made the game much more enjoyable for me. An interesting game with unique puzzles and a great set. 

PurpleB expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
beautifulimmersiveepic
samsham experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Team size: 2 Time taken: 87:48 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersivegreat hosting
TheCLAMS expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 28 Oct 2023 Team size: 3 Time taken: 70 mins Outcome: Successful escape!
immersive

This game has amazing theming and some really cool mechanics and puzzles (as with all games at Extremescape). 

phudson2907 rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 11 Dec 2023 Team size: 2 Time taken: 75 Outcome: Successful escape!
value for moneyimmersivemagicalquite difficult😨creepy
browngate experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
🔐SpontaneousIllusion expert rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersiveintensequite difficult
Ksen experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 19 Dec 2023 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifuloriginalimmersive
Good for larger groups with unique puzzles! Clever set design 
Ratchel experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Spanishfleas experienced rated this:Rated between 25 and 25 out of 5
Played: 25 Nov 2023 Team size: 4 Time taken: 77 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautiful

Nice to see a family run business and the set they have created was polished and immersive. The issue for our group was the fun factor. The puzzles just didn’t work for us. They were a little uninspired and lacked variety/intrigue. A real shame. 

Jordan Brown experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 18 Nov 2023 Team size: 2 Time taken: 67:02 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivefun

As expected from Extremescape, great theming and mechanisms - you would never think the room is as old as it actually is! Puzzle progression a bit more difficult in this game, lots of head scratching and uncertainty (open your eyes more!). Good game and will be enjoyed by any and all!

d.green26 expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 27 Oct 2023 Team size: 2 Time taken: 86 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersive

A room that from start to finish looked great and really made you feel immersed in the environment. We had some searching problems which is common for us which took up some of our time but some fun physical items made this an enjoyable room that I can see many people will really enjoy. The sets alone at this venue make it worth a visit I believe. 

Anonymous expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulclever
TheEscapeBoomers expert rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
great hosting

After playing Vikings this felt like a step down - Enjoyed the second half, but didn't really understand the first half. 

Lotsa Locks experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 30 Apr 2023 Team size: 2 Time taken: 78:00 Outcome: Successful escape!
cleverimmersivestory-driven
Jess_keds expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifuloriginalstory-drivenquite easy

Better as a two as can sometimes feel like you’re waiting around. Other than that it’s great! 

MartinStrong76 experienced rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 14 Mar 2019 Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!

Some lovely surprises in this game and some nice set pieces, but we did find some of the puzzles to be a little bit illogical or had a poor amount of signposting.

Can't say it's my favourite of their games.

Jen Wells (Get Wells Soon) expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 4 Mar 2023 Team size: 2 Time taken: 55.42 Outcome: Successful escape!
hi-techcleverimmersive

We absolutely loved this room. The wow-factor starts from moment one and just keeps going throughout the whole game space (which is expansive). Our favourite adventure/temple game so far, which is some statement.

🌵Juliette B expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 12 Feb 2023 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulvalue for moneystory-driven

Beautiful sets/props and nice use of tech. Enjoyed the start to the game thoroughly, found a little tricky to get our flow going at the start but started to come together after that. The only thing I would change is the ending, as the game ends rather suddenly rather than having a sense of achieved something - took us a little by surprise. Great owners/enthusiasts and enjoyed the chat about the tech and the business. 

Karen Peers experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Team size: 3 Time taken: 60 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulcleverimmersive
TheDreamTeam experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 17 Feb 2022 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
cleverintensequite difficult

Great room with interesting puzzles and an impressive set. We found this room quite challenging. Very friendly hosts and definitely worth a visit. 

Barry Crossley rated this:
Played: 12/7/2017 Team size: 6 Time taken: About 68mins I think Outcome: Successful escape!
Wow!! Sensational scenery and immersion and great gameplay

Reviews by escape room review sites

Extremescape's first game was a big, brilliant pirate game. Their second is loosely inspired by Indiana Jones, and it somehow manages to be even better. Like Pirate Ship, Lost Tomb is a 90 minute game. Where Pirate Ship injects a moment or two of unexpected theatricality, Lost Tomb has a succession of them.

The game starts in a relatively small space, with the team instructed to find a way in an abandoned gold mine, and subsequently to recover each of a set of bags of gold. From the outset the ...

The set is stunning, the puzzles are enjoyable, the theatrical moments are fantastic and, to top it off, the couple who run it are a great pair of hosts. If you're ever in the area, and by that I mean the UK, you should head over here for 90 minutes of pure joy.
Tomb Raiding Adventures are perhaps my favourite type of escape, and The Lost Tomb at Extremescape sits amongst some of the best I have ever played. While I can’t really choose which of the three games at Extremescape is the “best,” this is without a doubt my personal favourite.

I loved this room. It felt like there was a lot to do, with plenty of elements and things to discover. Discovering the temple with only 30 mins left was definitely panic-inducing, but added a bit of pressure. I highly recommend this room to anyone!

And location is more relevant than you might think for Lost Tomb, as the game itself takes places in what seem to be some old underground caverns carved out of rock. It does mean that they’re halfway to that Lost Tomb aesthetic already, but it’s impressive nonetheless.
Another wonderful game by Extemeescape. It’s clear that they have learnt over time and having played all of their games there is clear development from Pirate Ship to Lost Tomb and ultimately Vikings. This is truly a 90 minute game. I dare say that very few will complete this in less than the standard 60 minutes unless they are a large VERY experienced group. It’s safe to say that Extremescape don’t build easy rooms but no matter, they are all worth playing as they are examples of some of the best in the country. 

Lists

This game is part of the following user-created game lists:
  • Best UK escape rooms 2022 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2022, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 
  • Best UK escape rooms 2021 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms (out of 1600) in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2021, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 
  • Best UK escape rooms 2023 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2023, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 
  • Midlands games to play by 🏆Annagramma expert
    For those who want to get together for some games. Try and keep them north of Oxford and south of Manchester but outliers are ok if we all want to do them!

See also