Extremescape: Lost Tomb

By | March 20, 2019

by Extremescape (website)

Stanley Hall Farm, Stanley Hall Lane, SK12 2JX

Disley

2-8 players

90 mins
We built The Pirate Ship after playing only 4 escape rooms and we wanted to put our own stamp on “Our Escape Room” .
To our surprise The Pirate Ship was unbelievably well received and the reviews have been fantastic, better than we ever imagined.
The pressure was on, our next room had to be as good, if not better than The Pirate Ship. It took nearly a year to build, it is heavily themed, exciting, interactive, immersive and a real live adventure.
Your team of adventurers & archeologists, enter an abandoned gold mine in the heart of the Mexican mountains, your mission is to find the hidden gold.
Legend says that the holder of the hidden gold of El Narangel will find the Lost Tomb.
The miners left subtle clues & hints, if you use all your skills you may find the hidden gold and ultimately the Lost Tomb but be careful they the miners won’t give up their gold easily.
The Lost Tomb is now open.
Come and see for yourselves,
Good Luck
show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:




If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Overall rating

Rated between 4 and 4.5 out of 5

based on ratings from 45 users
combined with 9 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

spbc expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 9 Jul 2023 Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivestory-drivengreat hosting
Anonymous experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
clevergreat hostingfamily friendly

I played a few years ago. Lovely host and good puzzles.

PurpleB expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
beautifulimmersiveepic
puzzlebitch experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 24 Sep 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 76 mins Outcome: Successful escape!
originalimmersiveepic

This is one of two rooms we played at Extremescape and again, they have absolutely knocked it out of the park with the incredible room design, super cool puzzles and some absolutely epic moments along the way. Lots of things we have never seen or done before in an escape room which is always a plus! I really cannot over-state how impressive the rooms here look, the craftspersonship is just unbelievable.

A few small issues we had with the room: we thought they could do with an override switch for one of the puzzles as we had solved it correctly a few times before it worked. We also thought the ending was ever so slightly anti-climactic (it took us a minute to realise we'd actually escaped) but honestly, these things were pretty minor in what was otherwise an absolutely incredible experience. I screamed with delight and joy so many times as magical things happened around us. Lots and lots of fun, I really loved this game. The negatives are far outweighed by the positives and even despite these small issues, the rooms here are leagues above others and a must-play for enthusiasts! 

Catherine K experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalimmersivestory-driven😨creepy

We’d asked the owners to tone down the ‘special effects’ as I’m a massive wimp, they happily obliged and this made the game much more enjoyable for me. An interesting game with unique puzzles and a great set. 

Adam Bravery expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 30 Jun 2022 Team size: 3 Time taken: 56:17 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifuloriginalquite difficult

Cracking design for this room with some awesome elements I hadn't seen in other games. Found it a bit harder than the pirate ship, a few more moments of wondering what to do next but GM was always on hand to nudge us in the right direction. Particularly enjoyed the riddle in the first section 

🔐James Bloodworth expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 18/04/2022 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersivegreat hosting
Once again terrific theming and solid puzzle design (with some incredible physical effects) create an incredible game.  The puzzle flow is mostly non-linear in nature and will test your searching, observation and deduction skills.  I think the puzzles in the second half let the room down slightly but it’s still of a high standard and still very much worth your time.
abooth expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 18 Apr 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 75 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersivestory-driven

Beautiful set, loads of good puzzles and a terrific story. Some bits made me gasp both in terms of set and story.

flyingoctopus expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifuloriginal

Maybe an unpopular opinion, but this was my least favourite of the 3 games.

It is still an epic set with some beautiful props.  The amount of effort that goes into the building of these rooms is outstanding.

We found some of the puzzles had been duplicated from the pirate room and tweaked to fit the new theme. 

These games are definitely worth the trip to the farm. I would recommend playing them all in one visit. 

grogu42 experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Team size: 5 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivegreat hostingfamily friendly

Came to play here with work and we played all 3 games in one day.

The game was fantastically themed, with a great story line and plenty of suprises! Such a great venue with a great use of space! The hosts were amazing also! Highly recommend!

Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

Extremescape's first game was a big, brilliant pirate game. Their second is loosely inspired by Indiana Jones, and it somehow manages to be even better. Like Pirate Ship, Lost Tomb is a 90 minute game. Where Pirate Ship injects a moment or two of unexpected theatricality, Lost Tomb has a succession of them.

The game starts in a relatively small space, with the team instructed to find a way in an abandoned gold mine, and subsequently to recover each of a set of bags of gold. From the outset the ...

The set is stunning, the puzzles are enjoyable, the theatrical moments are fantastic and, to top it off, the couple who run it are a great pair of hosts. If you're ever in the area, and by that I mean the UK, you should head over here for 90 minutes of pure joy.
Tomb Raiding Adventures are perhaps my favourite type of escape, and The Lost Tomb at Extremescape sits amongst some of the best I have ever played. While I can’t really choose which of the three games at Extremescape is the “best,” this is without a doubt my personal favourite.

I loved this room. It felt like there was a lot to do, with plenty of elements and things to discover. Discovering the temple with only 30 mins left was definitely panic-inducing, but added a bit of pressure. I highly recommend this room to anyone!

And location is more relevant than you might think for Lost Tomb, as the game itself takes places in what seem to be some old underground caverns carved out of rock. It does mean that they’re halfway to that Lost Tomb aesthetic already, but it’s impressive nonetheless.
Another wonderful game by Extemeescape. It’s clear that they have learnt over time and having played all of their games there is clear development from Pirate Ship to Lost Tomb and ultimately Vikings. This is truly a 90 minute game. I dare say that very few will complete this in less than the standard 60 minutes unless they are a large VERY experienced group. It’s safe to say that Extremescape don’t build easy rooms but no matter, they are all worth playing as they are examples of some of the best in the country. 
Wow! What an epic mission! Click the link to read our review.

Lists

This game is part of the following user-created game lists:
  • Best UK escape rooms 2022 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2022, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 
  • Best UK escape rooms 2021 by Escape the Review virtuoso

    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms (out of 1600) in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2021, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 

  • Best UK escape rooms 2023 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2023, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 
  • Midlands games to play by 🏆Annagramma expert

    For those who want to get together for some games. Try and keep them north of Oxford and south of Manchester but outliers are ok if we all want to do them!

See also