The Great Escape Game Sheffield: The Devil’s Playground

By | March 20, 2019

by The Great Escape Game Sheffield (website)

Vicar Lane, S1 2EX

Sheffield

2-6 players

60 minutes

Salt, five red candles, red string and a floor length mirror. Four simple, household items is all you need to summon a house of hell.
Welcome to the Devil’s playground, you are his new toys.
Driven by the desperation of your desires, you find yourself trying to beat The Devil at his own game. After having your soul trapped inside the very mirror you have used to summon him, you discover you are in the Devil’s waiting lobby, the elevator to hell. You are not alone. Instead, you are surrounded by his other contestants, enslaved to the game of sacrifice. You must work together to outsmart the Devil’s torments, traps and trickery as you play a game for the ultimate price – the game of sacrifice.
The Devil has taken the liberty of possessing your body for the next hour. The consequence; he is capable of stirring up plenty of trouble in that time. At the end, The Devil will either leave your body or claim your soul. What he does with it, nobody knows…Yet.
Will you become the next sacrifice?
Disclaimer: All players under the age of 12 must be accompanied by an adult.
show full description

Promotional offer

20% off with code XMASEARLYBIRD
Valid for bookings between 1 Dec 2022 and 31 Dec 2022
GET 20% OFF BY USING CODE:     XMASEARLYBIRD    
(VALID ON BOOKINGS MADE IN DECEMBER, PAID BEFORE SEPTEMBER)

Overall rating

Rated between 25 and 35 out of 5

based on ratings from 14 users

Your review

Player reviews

shona panks experienced rated this:Rated between 20 and 20 out of 5

I opened one puzzle in this room. I was so bored. There really isn’t much to do

The Monkey expert rated this:Rated between 25 and 25 out of 5
Outcome: Successful escape!
great hostingpoor hosting

Both great hosting and poor hosting

 Started off amazing. So in character, the slap I got when I said they can't touch you really shut me up (pre covid) but then the running of the room was so flawed. Not many puzzles in the room either

Catherine K experienced rated this:Rated between 25 and 25 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
intensepoor hosting🧟terrifying

I’d asked for the scare factor to be toned down in advance and was reassured it was just a standard escape room I’d be entering, it wasn’t! I found it terrifying, the noise and dark was too much for me and the middle part of the room I tripped over several times. 

Overall a poor experience for me as it was overshadowed by the scare effects. 

Pagan Hollis experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 14 Feb 2022 Team size: 3 Time taken: 50:54 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersive😨creepy
AdamEscapes rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 21 Oct 2021 Team size: 4 Time taken: 51 Outcome: Successful escape!
hi-techgreat hosting

Played this with a team of 4 and we fould it fun with some interesting puzzles that made use of some nice technology. I do generally prefer older style escapes rooms that use more conventional locks than technology, but this is what you get with a gen2 room. The only downside for us was it was pretty dark and, at times, hard to see, but overall we had fun

bradyo rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 9 Oct 2021 Team size: 2 Time taken: 58:00
beautifulimmersiveintensequite difficult🧟terrifying

Well built, very immersive room for thrill seekers. Genuinely scary at times and the set is great for it's purpose. There's an interesting array of puzzles that tie in with the set nicely too. Some of the puzzles were quite difficult and we had to ask for a few clues. Only minor gripe was that it was difficult to communicate with the gamesmaster as the music/atmospheric sounds in the room were quite loud, but the staff (particularly Issy) were very friendly before/after the room and were keen to know what we thought they could improve on. 

fraggle42 experienced rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Team size: 2 Time taken: 36.61 Outcome: Successful escape!
very easy
🦡cipherdelic virtuoso rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
🔐James Bloodworth expert rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Played: 2020-03-15 00:00:00 Team size: 3 Time taken: 48:34 Outcome: Successful escape!
Another game at their Gen2 site, once again there's plenty of technology but if you don't like dark rooms then this is very dark at times.  Once again a good selection of puzzles in a mostly limited area (I'd advise no more than 3-4 to avoid getting in each others way, a lot of tech means hardly any padlocks but there are some physical puzzles and some crawling to be done.  This game also typically has an actor but it's not a hard requirement if a member of your party isn't keen.  It's interesting, having played games at both their Gen1 and 2 sites, currently I think I prefer the Gen1 games.
flyingoctopus expert rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
😨creepy

This game starts off well and is fairly immersive.

Creepy at times with one or two jump scares but I definitely would not class it as a scary room. 

My main issue in this room was the overuse of one type of padlock. It was very dark and hard to see the padlocks anyway, so having to try the same code on multiple locks in the dark grew very tiring. 

Mark Greenhalgh expert rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Played: 28/05/17
🦡cipherdelic virtuoso rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Martin Ellis rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Anonymous rated this:Rated between 25 and 25 out of 5
Played: Team size: 2 Time taken: Outcome: Successful escape!

See also

Other copies of this game in other locations:(Different copies of the same game sometimes have significant differences.)