Breakin’ Escape Rooms: The Flying Dutchman

By | March 20, 2019

by Breakin' Escape Rooms (website)

89 Holloway Road, N7 8LT

Central London

3-6 players

60 minutes

Deaf friendly - contact the venue for details
From the depths of the sea a ship rises with a skeletal figure spearheading its bow, striking fear into the hearts of the bravest of sailors. The dreaded ship, The Flying Dutchman makes sail once again, led by its fierce captain.
Davy Jones once was a man, but he was cursed by the woman he loved to roam the seas and ferry the souls of the damned to the other side for eternity. A most precious artifact has been stolen from his ship, and now he wants it back.
You were one of the pirates that stole from Jonesโ€™ locker, but you were left behind when the Dutchmanโ€™s crew discovered you. Now you must find your way within the ship and manage to escape before the time runs out and you become part of Davy Jonesโ€™ undead crew... forever!
show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:




If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Overall rating

Rated between 2 and 4 out of 5

based on ratings from 11 users
combined with 7 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

TeamHawley experienced rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 24 Feb 2024 Team size: 4 Time taken: 44 Outcome: Successful escape!
Another beautifully themed room. Without wanting to give any spoilers; there was just one puzzle that took way too long and was limited to 2 people being able to participate which lost the really nice flow of the game. Aside from that. Another solid room.
MightyMidds experienced rated this:Rated between 20 and 20 out of 5
Played: 20 Dec 2023 Team size: 4 Time taken: 48 Outcome: Successful escape!
story-drivenfamily friendlytime waster puzzlequite easy

Lovely room for more inexperienced players and kids except for 1 massive time waster. We took 48 minutes to complete the room with a 6 and 9 year old as part of our 4 players, and 1 monotonous puzzle used up 25 minutes. I have nothing against dexterity puzzles but having to repeat the same thing repeatedly just feels like a waste of time. I can see how the room record is 21 mins!

StaceyF expert rated this:Rated between 25 and 25 out of 5
Played: 19/09/2018 Outcome: Successful escape!
ratsontour expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 8 Apr 2023 Team size: 2 Time taken: 54 Outcome: Successful escape!
Steph Norchi experienced rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
kman expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 20 Oct 2017 Team size: 4 Time taken: 45m 14s Outcome: Successful escape!
Mark Greenhalgh expert rated this:Rated between 15 and 15 out of 5
Played: 16/07/17
๐Ÿฆกcipherdelic virtuoso rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Manix84 rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Played: 09/11/2017 Team size: 4 Time taken: 50 minutes Outcome: Successful escape!
Rhea Eris experienced rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

This pirate-themed room was described both as the easiest one at Breakin', and the most kid-friendly, for which reason it was last on my list to play. Having now played it, it's definitely the one I'd suggest for beginners, but it's also a really fun, solid escape room I'd recommend to anyone.

Most of the rooms at Breakin' are relatively small, single-room affairs. Dutchman is significantly bigger, with multiple areas and exuberantly over the top decorations. Everything is carefully on theme, w...

A beautiful room with a very linear set of puzzles. Beginners will enjoy but as an enthusiast, I found that the strict linearity of it meant it was easy to get frustrated - as soon as you got stuck on one puzzle you were entirely blocked and there was nothing else to investigate.

My favourite thing in the whole world is introducing new friends to escape rooms. My second favourite thing in the whole world is when they love the escape room and spend the whole time laughing and having an absolute blast.

Ahoy me hearties. We find ourselves trying to escape a cursed ship. How will we pi-rate this escape room?

See also

Other copies of this game in other locations:(Different copies of the same game sometimes have significant differences.)