The Great Escape Game Sheffield: Submerged

By | March 20, 2019

by The Great Escape Game Sheffield (website)

Vicar Lane, S1 2EX

Sheffield

3-6 players

Languages: EN

60 minutes

2 copies
Sent on a rescue mission, you are submerged deep into unknown territory. No one has heard from the team in days. You find a vessel floating desolately in the ocean. You enter the unknown to find the surroundings eerily calm. You can’t find a single member of the team, not a person, not even a body. You begin to ask yourself;
What happened here?
Where is the team?
Suddenly, the doors air lock behind you, trapping you in deep water with only 50 minutes left in the oxygen reserve tank.
As lights flash and sirens soar, the intensity of your new surroundings become clear. You must work quickly to power up and communicate your emergency to the surface before your time runs out.
This room can either be played as a single team (3 – 8 players) or two teams can play against each other (6 – 18 players / 9 max per room).
Disclaimer: All players must be aged 14 or over.
show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:




If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Overall rating

Rated between 2 and 4 out of 5

based on ratings from 15 users
combined with 2 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

lishahirst experienced rated this:Rated between 1.5 and 1.5 out of 5
Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!

The last puzzle of the game was broken, the rest of the game didn’t flow very well and was disjointed 

spbc expert rated this:Rated between 3.5 and 3.5 out of 5
Played: 20 Jan 2018 Team size: 5 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalfunnycompetitive
Lorraine Downing experienced rated this:Rated between 2 and 2 out of 5
Played: Dec 2022 Team size: 4 Outcome: Failed 🙁
illogicalseparatedvery difficult

Tried this room twice now, and as someone else has perfectly summed up, you get a third of an escape room each. If you are not communicating effectively, you will not get out. One puzzle in particular was quite hard to see, and held us up for longer than it should have. 

🎲A Jones experienced rated this:Rated between 3 and 3 out of 5
Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalbroken tech

Have played this one twice - once in 2018 and then again after it was altered and redone. Honestly preferred it prior to it's remake - the puzzles were better (if more difficult).

countermeasures8690 rated this:Rated between 2 and 2 out of 5
Played: 16 Oct 2018 Team size: 6 Time taken: 43 mins
beautifuloverpricedboringquite difficult

It looks fantastic but as far as puzzles go, it was just okay, there were some interesting puzzles however, as we were split into 3 disparate areas in the room, we only got 1/3 of an escape room (save some finale puzzles, which were okay)

I consider myself good at escape rooms and I was paired up with a big-brain so we solved all the puzzles in our own room within 5 minutes and the far end of the room had a pair of smooth-brains (don't worry, they would say the same :P) who took ages solving their puzzles and needed loads of clues.

As a result, there was a 15 minute period where we were sat in our own area solving zero puzzles, just talking about what our plans were for the rest of the week. This wasn't why we paid £20.

Some of the puzzles required the consolidation of information as a group effort, but it should have been all the puzzles if you're going to split people up.

There was also a competitive aspect involving a copy of the room next door, but it was still turned on and we weren't told it till afterwards and that all the time spent with the device was wasted because it wasn't even a puzzle. Its stuff like this that put me off the corporate escape rooms because they tend to just have a "F it, that'll do" when it comes to the tech in the room not really contributing to the experience. Bad form.

Escape Foxes rated this:Rated between 2.5 and 2.5 out of 5
Played: 1 Aug 2021 Team size: 5 Time taken: 48.00 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivestory-drivenbroken techquite easy

Even though Visually this is very pleasing, i felt that the game for me need to be played 3 times to be able to experience everything that went on.  I felt that there was a lot of standing around waiting for other members of the team to be able to do there part first before I was able to complete my section which at times became frustrating. 

Jordan Brown experienced rated this:Rated between 2 and 2 out of 5
Played: 19 Sep 2018 Team size: 4 Outcome: Failed 🙁
originalbroken tech

Sadly multiple pieces of broken equipment and tech dampened this experience - also not as fun at all if there is no other team playing in the other head-to-head room!

Lise expert rated this:Rated between 4 and 4 out of 5
Played: 4 Jun 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 42 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalimmersive
Pagan Hollis expert rated this:Rated between 4 and 4 out of 5
Played: 15 Feb 2022 Team size: 3 Time taken: 48:06 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalcleverimmersive
LockAndMe experienced rated this:Rated between 4 and 4 out of 5
Team size: 5/10 Outcome: Successful escape!
value for moneyoriginalimmersive

Interesting room this. Essentially we went for a friends birthday, and played as two teams of 5. Both teams played the same room, but were competing against each other for time (naturally) and there was a bonus part of this game where you could knock out the power of the other teams room for 10 seconds or so. I should state, that you dont have to play this room as a large group, and the minimum is 3 I believe.

Really fun, different ideas that I havent seen before. Requires good communication and strong team work. Unfortunately, I can't remember the games master because with such a large party, we were a bit of a handful (sorry) but I dont remember anything negative, so thats a positive in my eyes.

I do want to return to this company in the future.

Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

If you’re looking for a room that does something a bit different then this is the one, it forces you to rely on communication between each other and without it you will go down with the ship.

See also

Other copies of this game in other locations:(Different copies of the same game sometimes have significant differences.)