DarkMaster Escape Rooms: Into The Reliquary

By | May 22, 2021

by DarkMaster Escape Rooms (website)

Unit 5, Plumyfeather Farm, Plumyfeather Road, Lye Green TN6 1UX Crowborough

Crowborough

2-8 players

Languages: EN

60 minutes

Brave the Peruvian jungle and find the ancient relic before the Dark Master gets his hands on it.
show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:




If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Overall rating

Rated between 3.5 and 5 out of 5

based on ratings from 36 users
combined with 4 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

Pagan Hollis expert rated this:Rated between 5 and 5 out of 5
Played: 4 Sep 2023 Team size: 3 Time taken: 59 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifuloriginalimmersivequite difficult

What a FANTASTIC room! So many unique elements  I haven't seen before! My number 1 in the UK. No spoilers obviously, just do it!!

🤘The Pick of Destiny expert rated this:Rated between 3.5 and 3.5 out of 5
Played: 12 Jun 2024 Team size: 2
beautifulimmersivefamily friendlyquite difficult

There's no doubt that the set in this game is stunning. You enter the game and you are instantly immersed into another world. We were absolutely blown away, however the actual gameplay left us feeling unfulfilled. 

Search and find puzzles seem to be focus here. We're all for hiding items out of sight but risking injury to be able to attain them is maybe a step too far. Unfortunately it does feel as though the puzzles were a bit of an after thought and we just couldn't gel with them.

A Blacksmith expert rated this:Rated between 3.5 and 3.5 out of 5
Played: 1 Sep 2023 Team size: 2 Time taken: 43:35 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersiveepic
Anonymous expert rated this:Rated between 1.5 and 1.5 out of 5
Played: 13 Jan 2023 Team size: 2 Outcome: Failed 🙁
Disappointing to be honest with the reputation this company has was expecting better. Nice sets but poor puzzles and GMs who weren't really interested or engaging. Won't be back
Ratchel experienced rated this:Rated between 5 and 5 out of 5
LolainHollywood experienced rated this:Rated between 4.5 and 4.5 out of 5
Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
story-drivenepicamazing set
Peter Hoare experienced rated this:Rated between 4.5 and 4.5 out of 5
Played: 8 Nov 2023 Team size: 2 Time taken: 65 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersivegreat hostingquite difficult

This room is rather surprising, amazingly themed and built, with features you will never see again in any escape room. The puzzles were sometimes a little hard to get started with, and there were some moments of frustration, but the host was amazing and the clues were a gentle nudge rather than telling us the answer. There were only two of us, and we ran over time a little bit but I dont feel to bad about that. There is a lot to do and see. 


This room is also unique in that everyone gets to take a little bit of it home with them, wether they like it or not. Not in their pockets, but between your toes and in your shoes 😉 

nearlyflippin experienced rated this:Rated between 4.5 and 4.5 out of 5
Played: 26 Aug 2023 Team size: 4 Time taken: 40:57 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalimmersiveepicquite easy
Anonymous rated this:Rated between 3 and 3 out of 5
beautifulimmersiveillogical

First of all the set is flawless, it really does feel like a movie set.

For us the game relied far too much on finding things hidden in odd places around the room, we are all for observation but it was just getting silly at points.

We felt the flow of the game lacked and didn’t make much sense, with things found not required for another 40/50 mins until another part. And found many puzzles odd and illogical. 

There was a puzzle which was skipped which I think we would have preferred to have been explained how it worked but sadly there was no offer.

This is just our take on the room, but we sadly didn’t gel with the room.  

d.green26 expert rated this:Rated between 4 and 4 out of 5
Played: 1 Jul 2023 Team size: 4 Time taken: 54 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersivegreat hosting
Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

Few companies make such a stir so soon after opening as DarkMaster. It wasn’t long after they launched their first two games that word spread that they had something special; and of the two, it was Reliquary that particularly caused the buzz.

This is a jungle / lost temple romp, in the style of Indiana Jones or Lara Croft, searching for a lost artefact, and in several ways it manages to capture a visceral, physical sense of adventure and peril in a way that few escape rooms can manage. I shan’t...

Immersion – in every sense of the word!

If an immersive escape experience is what you are after, look no further! Dark Master have made a very impressive debut with Into the Reliquary. The set design is highly professional and of a quality that you would find in a movie theme park. Luckily, the giant carnivore plants in the bit of the Peruvian jungle you find yourself in aren’t real, but the water very much is.

The set of Into the Reliquary is truly something to behold, and there are certain moments throughout the game that we are unlikely to forget for some time. The puzzles didn’t wow in the same way as their surroundings, but still made for a fun game, although that was somewhat overshadowed by a moment or two of what felt like legitimate danger.

I’ve been in quite a few bonkers sets for Escape Rooms. This has to be the most nuts, even beating DarkMaster’s own aeroplane in One Wing. Everything has been thrown at it, with one more surprise just when you think they can’t do any more. It is an incredible feat of engineering and I’ve no idea how they managed half of it.

A beautifully themed room with puzzles to match the room. Unique concepts and some awesome surprises. Check our review for more details 

Lists

This game is part of the following user-created game lists:
  • Best UK escape rooms 2022 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2022, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 
  • Best UK escape rooms 2021 by Escape the Review virtuoso

    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms (out of 1600) in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2021, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 

  • Best UK escape rooms 2023 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2023, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 
  • My Top 10 Games by jakea256 expert
    Unordered list of my favourite games in just shy of 200 as of 5/1/24.

See also