Houdini’s Escape Room Experience Swindon: Escape From R.M.S. Titanic

By | June 27, 2023

by Houdini's Escape Room Experience Swindon (website)

Whitehill Way, Shaw Ridge Leisure Park, Swindon SN5 7DN

Swindon

2-8 players

Languages: EN

60 minutes

On April 10th 1912 the largest ship ever build left Southampton on her maiden voyage. She was called the ship of dreams, transporting people to New York in the height of luxury.

​Just 4 days into the journey disaster struck as she collided with an iceberg.

On board, as first class passengers, with the impending doom; what would you do to escape the ill-fated ship?

show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:





If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Promotional offer

50% off with code PRICECUT
You'd be crazy to miss out on our price cut offer!

Get a whopping 50% off when you come and play a Houdini's room on a Tuesday with a team of four or more.

Just enter code: PRICECUT when booking online.

Overall rating

Rated between 1 and 2 out of 5

based on ratings from 69 users
combined with 6 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

SupertrampEcho experienced rated this:Rated between 10 and 10 out of 5
Outcome: Successful escape!
TheCLAMS expert rated this:Rated between 10 and 10 out of 5
Played: 20 Aug 2023 Team size: 4 Time taken: ~39mins Outcome: Successful escape!
broken techpoor hostingdangerous

We booked 3 Houdini's rooms for one day and gosh was it disappointing! 

The worst escape room we have every played! This room had only been open for a month and a half and already half the puzzles were completely broken. 

It was very frustrating - we would complete the puzzle, it wouldn't work, so we would go off and try something else thinking we didn't have everything for the puzzle yet and the 5 minutes later the GM would appear to tell us it was broken. One particular puzzle at the end had exposed wiring which we weren't warned about. When expressing concern we were told they already knew about it and to just use the other wires there and it should work. I just can't believe they would leave exposed wires out for us to touch!

Again as with all 3 rooms at Houdini's, the end to the room was so anti-climatic we didn't even realise we had completed the room until the GM appeared at the end and told us. 

And be warned - the clue system for Houdini games (at least in the Swindon branch) is the GM just appearing in the room to give you hints. It's very disconcerting and completely ruins the immersion. The GM was constantly coming into the room to check on us and give clues (even if we didn't want one!). There was a phone which we were eventually told was meant to be used for the GM to communicate with us but he would only use it some times and then the other half of the time he would just appear in the room!

One positive I will say - the rooms are decorated well and some puzzles could be fun/clever if they actually worked or the GM gave you a chance to figure it out.

We'll never do a Houdini's room again!

buzzywuzzy experienced rated this:Rated between 15 and 15 out of 5
Played: 24 Aug 2023 Team size: 4 Time taken: 45 Outcome: Successful escape!
broken techpoor hosting

As with their other rooms, items damaged, missing, broken. GM coming in to the room to correct and bring missing items. Wasn't clear when you'd finished until GM  came in to tell you you're done 

Jemileh experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Failed 🙁
coco974 rated this:Rated between 25 and 25 out of 5
Played: 5 Jan 2022 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
broken techoverpriced

Definitely not our favourite and has put us off trying any more at Houdini's! 

The very first puzzle we encountered a problem (vital information missing) and had to call for help straight away. This continued throughout, at least 3 times we had to ask for help because something wasn't working as it should, which was really disappointing. 

The GM was lovely, and very happy to help, but sometimes his clues relied on us having prior knowledge of the Titanic (which I am lacking!). 

The clues are via an old style telephone, meaning if you have made it beyond the initial room it can be time consuming to get back to get help. 

The theming of the room was fantastic! The decor, details and sound effects were brilliant.

The puzzles and clues were clever and original (some things in there we'd never seen before) it's such a shame that some just didn't work. 

We got a little ribbon trinket for successfully escaping which was a nice touch but it doesn't make up for the broken room!

Alice Lucy rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
Jasmine Barrett rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulstory-drivenintense

Thoroughly enjoyed this and the combination of puzzles. I personally would have preferred to play as a smaller team as I found so many people meant you werent as involved BUT that doesnt take away from how wonderful i found this room to be. If I could do it over,  I would any day of the week.

Anonymous experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 2 May 2022 Team size: 4 Time taken: 45:00 Outcome: Successful escape!
Team Tonks experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 15 May 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 41.45 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalstory-drivenmagicalquite difficult

Titanic was an original theme which is something we value in a room. Great use of space without feeling either empty or crammed. All of the puzzles were relevent to the story and did not feel shoehorned in and provided a decent level of challenge for an experienced team.

Ronnie Meade experienced rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 14 Aug 2021 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivepoor hosting

Booked this room based on high recommendations in the UK enthusiasts page but were disappointed in comparison to the reviews. Although this is a good room with beautiful set design to immerse you. There are let downs with certain labourous puzzles and poor hosting. Before entering, the gamesmaster boasted about having the best time as a team of 2 only to check and find he had been beaten by the review the room team which changed his interaction. We made good progress quickly and came stuck at one point, asking for a clue which never came... Once out he admitted that as we were doing so well he didn't think we needed help so soon. Disappointing experience but not just because of the host. Would recommend but not as highly as we were led to believe

Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

‘Immersive’ is a worrying term for a game based on the sinking of the Titanic, but fortunately they don’t take things as far as plunging players into the icy waters of the Atlantic. Instead, this game places the players in an upper class berth on the doomed ship, just as it begins to sink.

Houdini Escape excel at providing a good experience before and after the game, starting from the atmospheric lobby and the mini-cinema used for game briefings. I particularly admired the way they use a simple...

A good intro and cool transition into the game. A beautifully themed space, with a sense of exploration across the ship and attention to detail that really helps with immersion. Solid puzzles and good theatre throughout the game. Titanic is probably the most impressive of the games in Southampton and well worth a trip if you're in the area.
We loved the attention to detail in both the game, and the waiting area. The room itself had touches that were historically accurate, and the reception had a poster of the Titanic that was signed by the youngest survivor of the disaster.

Let’s talk about climaxes. The one thing all good games shouldn’t do these days is to leave you unsure whether you have actually completed it. It definitely shouldn’t be dependent on the GM walking in and telling you. 

As it turns out, the room has a lot going for it. It sprawls over several rooms (well, "cabins"), it looks fairly realistic (except for lack of motion, I guess) and proposes a few tasks I had never performed before (something I always appreciate after playing so many rooms). There are many references to real-life details in the puzzles, to the point where Titanic experts would probably be able to circumvent a puzzle or two. Yet, having said all that...

I had never heard of Houdini Escape rooms before, so when it was suggested that we do one of their rooms, I was unsure what to expect but was up for the challenge. They have multiple locations around the country and with Southampton closest we headed there and it seemed only apt to do the Titanic room. When we arrived we were greeted by the nicest host/games master who i'm so sorry but I don't remember his name. He is an absolute credit to the Houdini team. His passion and enthusiasm for his job was clear to see and he really made the whole experience, from checking in to escaping that much more fun and entertaining.



Houdinis Escape Onslow Road Southampton: Titanic

November 2022

Overview 

This was Second visit to Houdini’s in Southampton after visiting the their Tenpin location earlier in the day taking on Extinct. We had booked in at their Onslow Road location for what is arguably the best rated escape room in the country, Titanic. This was our first 90 minute room. There is a car park nearby where you then have a 2 minute walk to the location so not too bad at all. The reception area is decorated as you would expect for an old immersive experience but it is not as grand as the Tenpin location. You are given an iPad to complete your information details and sign waivers. We were taken to an old cinema style room with popcorn machine and cinema screen ready to show us our brief. 

Room impression

The room is up to 7 people, however, we would not recommend going with a group of that size. Some of the areas in the game are quite tight and as a team of 4 we did struggle a little bit in some parts. The set of the game is as you would expect, fully immersive and completely in keeping with what task we were taking on. We would say that some of the props and games in the room were starting to look a little tired and were not as impressive as Extinct that we had done earlier in the day. In saying that, they had done a brilliant job in creating an immersive experience that we did all enjoy. 

Puzzles

At the beginning of the game we found it quite easy to split up and tackle a few games on our own but as the experience went on, the games did become linear. As previously mentioned, some spaces were quite tight and this left some of our team stood watching whilst others were attempting the solve some puzzles. This put a little dampener on the experience for us and with much bigger teams, we can imagine this being quite a big issue. There were a lot of hide and seek games during the experience and at the beginning a few padlocks were to be found but on the whole, the puzzles were varied and fun throughout. It did take us a while to work out that when we did get a puzzle right, a ship’s bell would ring. We’ve not experienced this before and it was a nice touch to add to the immersive experience. 

Game Master Clues

We can’t remember asking for any help during Titanic. Our games master did keep a watchful eye on us and if we steered slightly off track then a foghorn would sound which let us know we needed to have a little re-think. We were told that if we needed a clue all we had to do was ask and she would have came over on the speaker system. 

Round Up

We had high expectations of this room and to the large part it did not disappoint. A lot of effort has gone into making one of biggest tragedies in human history a tasteful experience. You could see that game was starting to look a little tired on some of the puzzles that will probably need addressing at some point but it kind of added to the history of it all. This game is a must when visiting Houdini’s Southampton.

See also