Houdini’s Escape Room Experience Nottingham: Escape From R.M.S. Titanic

By | January 25, 2022

by Houdini's Escape Room Experience Nottingham (website)

Clifton Blvd, Redfield Way, Nottingham NG7 2UW

Nottingham

2-8 players

Languages: EN

60 minutes

On April 10th 1912 the largest ship ever build left Southampton on her maiden voyage. She was called the ship of dreams, transporting people to New York in the height of luxury.

​Just 4 days into the journey disaster struck as she collided with an iceberg.

On board, as first class passengers, with the impending doom; what would you do to escape the ill-fated ship?

show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:




If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Overall rating

Rated between 3 and 5 out of 5

based on ratings from 69 users
combined with 6 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

Catherine K experienced rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 10 Sep 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 50 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivestory-driven

The set was a lot bigger than I expected and it added to the atmosphere. We enjoyed the room, it had a few unexpected puzzles and had us moving for the whole time. 

Tip - the rooms are located inside the bowling alley.

ShaneKarlSmith experienced rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
TheDreamTeam experienced rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Played: 23 Sep 2022 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
quite difficult
Anonymous experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 2 May 2022 Team size: 4 Time taken: 45:00 Outcome: Successful escape!
Jemileh experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Failed 🙁
Molly Smith experienced rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Failed 🙁
quite difficult

This game started off positively in a well themed room with an intriguing method of moving into the second room. But as the experience went on, the set and puzzles seemed to become more tired. There also seemed a lot to be done in the time and some of the puzzles were frustratingly fiddly. Not a bad experience, we just felt it could have been better.

Mrs G expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Team size: 3
beautifulimmersivestory-drivenquite difficult

We really enjoyed the Titanic room. It was immersive and different to anything else we had played with some great features and plenty of puzzles along the way. The set was far bigger than we thought it would be. We became stuck a couple of times but we were helpfully guided back on track by our gamesmaster. 

Lawsome Foursome rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 3 Aug 2022 Team size: 4 Time taken: 35:26 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivestory-drivengreat hosting

We had a fantastic experience in Nottingham.  The story telling was fabulous.  One of best we have played

Elliott rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 1 Jul 2023 Team size: 4 Time taken: 57 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivegreat hostingquite difficult
roberts0502 experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 24 Jun 2022 Team size: 3 Time taken: 55 Outcome: Successful escape!
cleverimmersivegreat hosting
Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

‘Immersive’ is a worrying term for a game based on the sinking of the Titanic, but fortunately they don’t take things as far as plunging players into the icy waters of the Atlantic. Instead, this game places the players in an upper class berth on the doomed ship, just as it begins to sink.

Houdini Escape excel at providing a good experience before and after the game, starting from the atmospheric lobby and the mini-cinema used for game briefings. I particularly admired the way they use a simple...

A good intro and cool transition into the game. A beautifully themed space, with a sense of exploration across the ship and attention to detail that really helps with immersion. Solid puzzles and good theatre throughout the game. Titanic is probably the most impressive of the games in Southampton and well worth a trip if you're in the area.
We loved the attention to detail in both the game, and the waiting area. The room itself had touches that were historically accurate, and the reception had a poster of the Titanic that was signed by the youngest survivor of the disaster.

Let’s talk about climaxes. The one thing all good games shouldn’t do these days is to leave you unsure whether you have actually completed it. It definitely shouldn’t be dependent on the GM walking in and telling you. 

As it turns out, the room has a lot going for it. It sprawls over several rooms (well, "cabins"), it looks fairly realistic (except for lack of motion, I guess) and proposes a few tasks I had never performed before (something I always appreciate after playing so many rooms). There are many references to real-life details in the puzzles, to the point where Titanic experts would probably be able to circumvent a puzzle or two. Yet, having said all that...

I had never heard of Houdini Escape rooms before, so when it was suggested that we do one of their rooms, I was unsure what to expect but was up for the challenge. They have multiple locations around the country and with Southampton closest we headed there and it seemed only apt to do the Titanic room. When we arrived we were greeted by the nicest host/games master who i'm so sorry but I don't remember his name. He is an absolute credit to the Houdini team. His passion and enthusiasm for his job was clear to see and he really made the whole experience, from checking in to escaping that much more fun and entertaining.



Houdinis Escape Onslow Road Southampton: Titanic

November 2022

Overview 

This was Second visit to Houdini’s in Southampton after visiting the their Tenpin location earlier in the day taking on Extinct. We had booked in at their Onslow Road location for what is arguably the best rated escape room in the country, Titanic. This was our first 90 minute room. There is a car park nearby where you then have a 2 minute walk to the location so not too bad at all. The reception area is decorated as you would expect for an old immersive experience but it is not as grand as the Tenpin location. You are given an iPad to complete your information details and sign waivers. We were taken to an old cinema style room with popcorn machine and cinema screen ready to show us our brief. 

Room impression

The room is up to 7 people, however, we would not recommend going with a group of that size. Some of the areas in the game are quite tight and as a team of 4 we did struggle a little bit in some parts. The set of the game is as you would expect, fully immersive and completely in keeping with what task we were taking on. We would say that some of the props and games in the room were starting to look a little tired and were not as impressive as Extinct that we had done earlier in the day. In saying that, they had done a brilliant job in creating an immersive experience that we did all enjoy. 

Puzzles

At the beginning of the game we found it quite easy to split up and tackle a few games on our own but as the experience went on, the games did become linear. As previously mentioned, some spaces were quite tight and this left some of our team stood watching whilst others were attempting the solve some puzzles. This put a little dampener on the experience for us and with much bigger teams, we can imagine this being quite a big issue. There were a lot of hide and seek games during the experience and at the beginning a few padlocks were to be found but on the whole, the puzzles were varied and fun throughout. It did take us a while to work out that when we did get a puzzle right, a ship’s bell would ring. We’ve not experienced this before and it was a nice touch to add to the immersive experience. 

Game Master Clues

We can’t remember asking for any help during Titanic. Our games master did keep a watchful eye on us and if we steered slightly off track then a foghorn would sound which let us know we needed to have a little re-think. We were told that if we needed a clue all we had to do was ask and she would have came over on the speaker system. 

Round Up

We had high expectations of this room and to the large part it did not disappoint. A lot of effort has gone into making one of biggest tragedies in human history a tasteful experience. You could see that game was starting to look a little tired on some of the puzzles that will probably need addressing at some point but it kind of added to the history of it all. This game is a must when visiting Houdini’s Southampton.

See also