Game Over Riyadh: Jack The Ripper

By | March 1, 2023

by Game Over Riyadh (website)

7326 Khalifah Ibn Badi, Al Mohammadiyyah، 3422, Riyadh 12364

Riyadh

2-6 players

Languages: EN, AR

60 minutes

London, Whitechapel – November 1888. Another girl was murdered last night. Mary was butchered. The streets are empty, all are kept away by fear. Yet if the evidence I hold in my hands is correct, perhaps these clues can put an end to the Ripper. It’s up to us now, only we can do this… We’re coming for you, Jack.
show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:




If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Overall rating

Rated between 2 and 3.5 out of 5 (estimated, based on ratings for other versions of this game)

estimated score
not from direct reviews

Your review

Player reviews

spbc expert rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Played: 30 Jan 2022 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
great hostingfun
Pegz241 rated this:Rated between 25 and 25 out of 5
Played: 27 Jun 2021 Team size: 2 Outcome: Failed 🙁
Anonymous rated this:Rated between 25 and 25 out of 5
Played: 24 Mar 2023 Team size: 2 Time taken: 48:29 Outcome: Successful escape!
story-drivengreat hostingplain

We got stuck for an embarrassingly long time on two parts (it just wasn't our day!) so I didn't expect to finish (which would've been a first), but then suddenly we completed it. It felt very short with few puzzles. It's a good beginner room as every step of very obvious where you need to focus.

gimiabreakout experienced rated this:Rated between 25 and 25 out of 5
Played: 30 May 2017 Team size: 6 Outcome: Successful escape!
🦡cipherdelic virtuoso rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
🔐James Bloodworth expert rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Played: 01/12/2019 Team size: 2 Time taken: 45:22 Outcome: Successful escape!
Relatively well themed, some tricky puzzles but this would be a good beginner room.
Escapetopus experienced rated this:Rated between 20 and 20 out of 5
Played: 18/06/2017 Team size: 5 Outcome: Successful escape!

My other experiences at this venue have all been good, which makes this room even more of a disappointment.

Now, part of the problem was that it was a very hot day when we played - and I was heavily pregnant which didn’t help - but I think venues need to ensure good ventilation in hot weather so that players don’t overheat. This room was like a sauna!

The room decorations were initially promising, however some pieces of the fake wall were broken, revealing bits of polystyrene, which rather spoiled the sense that we were in Victorian London. The puzzles themselves seemed illogical, with the final flourish in particular falling flat. If the GM needs to explain how it’s supposed to work afterwards, it hasn’t worked!

Escape Game Over are generally a great venue, but I can’t recommend this room.

Arjay Henshall expert rated this:Rated between 15 and 15 out of 5
Played: 28/07/2019 Team size: 2 Time taken: 47.42 Outcome: Successful escape!

First impressions were very good. Very well themed upon entering the first room.

Sadly, it all went downhill after that. The amount of content that was actually in the game was extremely poor and many of the "puzzles" badly flawed. Without giving too much away, the final 2 puzzles required a bit of technology that just didn't work. The GM had to keep coming over the intercom to tell us to be louder or to move farther away, and to be honest, they just didn't make any sense. 

It would be a great little starter game for anyone starting out in escape rooms, but anyone that has done more than 2 rooms, avoid this game

Reviews by escape room review sites

Outside the room Game Over isn't a common brand in the UK (although they have now opened a second venue in Rochdale), but there are venues all over Europe – Lyon, Helsinki, Rome and Athens to name but a few. Given that international reach, I was curious to see what their rooms were like. Surely
Read More"

See also