Headlock Escape Rooms: The Keeper & the Fungus Among Us

By | August 1, 2021

by Headlock Escape Rooms (website)

Up to 6 players

Β£75.00

Languages: EN

πŸ“Ήremote avatar
Winner of a 2021 TERPECA award90 mins
The Keeper has awakened.  This only happens every 1,000 years when the evil Paxillus is released from his mushroom prison.  Your team, The Guardians, must help our hero defeat this dreaded Mushroom King and save the people of this land.
show full description

Overall rating

Rated between 45 and 50 out of 5

based on ratings from 35 users
combined with 2 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

Kenneth Yap rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 17 Jun 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 85 minutes
originalfunnyfamily friendly

This game was really fun and original. Quirky characters, easy-to-follow storyline, good range of puzzles of varying difficulty, and the best feature is the awesome live avatar. The avatar was descriptive of the room and its features, accompanied by the occasional subtle hint. Reveal and cut scenes were engaging, while room overview and camera angle captured all the details you need to size up the play. Suitable for kids of all ages and an overall great experience that combines all the features of an escape room and Role Playing Game (inventory and items)! Great job Joel! We had lots of fun playing it, from start to finish.

EireBanshee expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: Sept 2021 Team size: 4 Time taken: 80 min Outcome: Successful escape!
originalfunnystory-driven

We smiled and danced throughout this game.  Let's be honest, this game is strange - you are either going to love it or hate it.  But how can you not love it?!  This game had a  very cool retro vibe for me.  It was more musical theater than escape room, but with puzzles along the way.  We had a very enjoyable evening with this game.  Thanks, Joel, for your creativity, and for having the cojones to put these mad ideas into action.

Jan Chong rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 21 Nov 2021 Team size: 4 Time taken: 60 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalfunnyfamily friendly

This experience is joyously silly.  The whole thing plays more like a video game than an escape room, but it is all good fun.  As the other reviews say, best to enter unspoiled. 

Nick Gibson rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 16 Oct 2021 Team size: 4 Time taken: 85mins Outcome: Successful escape!

Brilliantly original take on the Zoom-based escape room format. Don't Google it in advance, just go in with a smile on your face and expect to have that smile for the entire time :>

ESparrow rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 8 Oct 2021 Team size: 4 Time taken: 90 mins Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifuloriginalfunnyquite difficult

This is one of my favourite games I've played. The sets are beautiful and made with love. The story is charming and funny. The puzzles are well designed and interesting. There are musical numbers. Point and click feel with the charm of gorgeous puppets and fun puzzles! πŸ™‚

Big_Chris rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 7 Oct 2021 Team size: 4 Time taken: 75 mins Outcome: Successful escape!
originalfunnymagical

  • Lovingly created set and story
  • Great use of the online medium to deliver something original
  • Fun and satisfying puzzles

Anonymous rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 6 Oct 2021
Ricky Schultz rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 2 Oct 2021 Team size: 4 Time taken: 75 minutes
originalcleverstory-driven

This game is truly unique, fantastical, and oh so clever. It is a must play game! If you love escape games, catchy songs, humor, and classic point and click adventure games like "Escape from Monkey Island" or "Myst" then this game is definitely for you. It is such a fun and creative experience, and our team of four thoroughly had a great time. 

Headlock Escape Rooms has taken the escape room genre over zoom and has expertly created an experience that can truly only be played in this virtual setting. This is not an escape room that was converted for a zoom format, but rather a game that was created from scratch with zoom in mind. 

I highly recommend that you book now. Really. Stop what you are doing and go book now for a truly memorable experience.

edventure rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 25 Sep 2021 Team size: 4 Time taken: 90 mins Outcome: Successful escape!
originalimmersivestory-driven

Believe the hype. More of a show with puzzles along the way. Music is superb. Joel is a top chap. Really enjoyed this. πŸ‘πŸΌ

Myles Nye rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 12/5/2021 Team size: 3 Time taken: 90 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifuloriginalmagical

This is an un-missable Zoom experience. I highly recommend to solvers of any level. If you think you've seen everything an escape game on Zoom can be, think again. Trust me on this one. Bring the kiddos. Original, delightful, outstanding. Can't wait to share this and recommend with my friends and family. Bravo Headlock!

Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

This game is a true delight! With original music and songs, beautiful set design, great puzzles and a wonderful host – this will likely be unlike anything else you have ever played. We don’t do awards, but if we did, this would be a winner!

What makes this virtual escape room stand out for me is the uniquely designed

dioramas on which your journey takes place. They are colorful, vibrant, and the

aesthetic takes on a funky whimsical theme that is consistently seen and felt throughout

the whole experience. Every new scene we entered I had to take the moment to just

look around and admire the set design down to the little figurines that turned out to be

characters you would engage with in adorable text conversations.


Another facet that endeared me was the use of musical numbers that livened the

experience during transition times. The songs are catchy, hilarious, and filled with puns

that adults and children alike would enjoy. We encouraged the creator to share the

sound score with players afterwards and they are considering it!


"The Keeper & the Fungus Among Us" is a funky magical journey in a fantastical world

with a nostalgic video game vibe any person could enjoy. The creative sets engage

players and the clever use of music gives players the feeling that they were in more

than just an escape room. You became a Guardian, a hero in the making, out to stop

the evil infesting the land. Your tasks challenge your mind to not only think outside the

box but also decide what kind of hero you truly want to be. Are you up for it?

This is what good puzzle games are. They’re created by folks who love the escape room industry and put their absolute everything into making fun content for the rest of us to enjoy. Joel has nailed it, and The Keeper & The Fungus Among Us will go down in cult escape room history for may years to come.

See also