Enigma Rooms Hull: Escape The Chocolate Factory

By | November 30, 2019

by Enigma Rooms Hull (website)

Princes Quay, Ground floor, 30G Dock St, HU1 2PQ

Kingston upon Hull

2-6 players

60 minutes

After spending your whole life looking at the outside of the worlds most mysterious chocolate factory you finally get chance to step inside.
Will you be lucky enough to get in and marvel at the wonders within and then escape to tell the tale?
show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:




If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Overall rating

Rated between 3.5 and 5 out of 5

based on ratings from 29 users
combined with 2 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

bethamari experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 11 Mar 2024 Team size: 4 Time taken: 51:56 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersivestory-driven
We have played a few Enigma rooms now and I love their theming, the rooms always look so good and there’s always a good variety of puzzles! We all really enjoyed this one.
🎲A Jones experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 5 Apr 2023 Team size: 2 Time taken: 51:42 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersive
The set dressing here was great and really fit the theme. There’s a few tricky puzzles and then some that seem to go by fairly quick. Most of the value in this room is set dressing rather than puzzles I would say.
funsupport rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 31 Aug 2021 Team size: 2 Time taken: 59 Outcome: Successful escape!
story-drivenepicmagical

Love this room. It has been done out fantastic, the puzzles are great and it is really fun! 

flyingoctopus expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersive

This is a visually beautiful room, really immersive.

You feel like you are actually part of the original film. 

Good use of space with a nice variety of puzzles. 

The kids will LOVE this room. 

🀘The Pick of Destiny expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
family friendly
Jen Wells (Get Wells Soon) expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersivegreat hosting

A superb game that was so enjoyable from beginning to end. The set provides wow moment after wow moment and the puzzles are a lot of fun. We just loved this one.

LockAndMe experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
value for moneyimmersivefamily friendly

Unbelievable. This room is by far my favourite room in the Enigma chain. The beginning was not what I was expecting, but made sense with the storyline, but as you play through this room, it just gets better and better. The set is amazing too, so much so, that my friend had to keep telling me off for looking at it and not focusing on the puzzles. 

Really worth playing this. So much fun, it has everything you want from the story, and so much more. Very immersive, and a great sense of adventure.  

Scotus0 expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 20 Dec 2021 Team size: 3 Time taken: ~56:00 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulcleverimmersive

Chocs β€˜n’ Locks!

I might’ve completed 81 escapes, but never one in a chocolate factory! I went with my dad and brother, and we got 10% off with ENIGMAPERK.

Story

Take the chance to step inside the chocolate factory, but make sure you can escape (?)

Puzzles

An engaging variety of puzzles that involve some artful thinking and clever pay-offs. The placement/accessibility of a couple of components in the game mislead and threw us off the scent (which, in this room, was genuinely like sweets- amazing), but our friendly Games Host was on hand to provide hints when needed.

Mise-en-scene

In the thoughtfully laid out spaces, there are plenty of nods to the films, some more subtle than others. The final β€˜zone’ is particularly impressive.

Final Comments

Altogether a top-notch room- in fact, my dad and brother said it’s one of their favourites. We escaped with just under 5 minutes to spare.

rachrvm rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersivefamily friendly

So so clever and beautifully done. Loved it!

TheDreamTeam experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 26 Jan 2023 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifuloriginalstory-driven

This room was stunning and original - with lots of interesting puzzles.

Fantastic hosting again from Dan.

Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

Only having time to play two games of the three at Enigma Rooms Hull, the second one we chose was their Chocolate Factory game. On telling us about the chocolate factory's owner, Mr Enigma, our host pointed out that there was no copyright infringement going on; and there wasn't. But the influence of a certain famous movie is clear throughout this loving homage. Your team isn't plunged into the factory, but instead reach it after a build-up that mirrors the plot of the film.

In comparison to the...

Lists

This game is part of the following user-created game lists:
  • Best UK escape rooms 2022 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2022, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 
  • Best UK escape rooms 2021 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms (out of 1600) in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2021, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 

See also