Cryptology Sheffield: The Mysterious Case of Hugh Dunnitt

By | March 20, 2019

by Cryptology Sheffield (website)

141 West Street

​0114 483 0052

Sheffield

2-6 players

Languages: EN

60 minutes

You are invited to investigate a murder, which has more to it than meets the eye.
The Mysterious Case of Hugh Dunitt.
Can you reveal all the evidence and form the correct conclusion?
show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:




If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Overall rating

Rated between 3 and 4 out of 5

based on ratings from 22 users
combined with 2 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

Jen Wells (Get Wells Soon) expert rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Played: 25 Nov 2023 Team size: 2 Time taken: 22 mins Outcome: Successful escape!
story-drivengreat hosting

A solid offering with some nice quirks and straightforward puzzles. It is definitely one that's on the easy side, as we flew through it, but that's not to say it wasn't enjoyable and we appreciated the different kind of take on a common theme.

The hosting here is incredibly friendly and welcoming.

Lise Mortier expert rated this:Rated between 25 and 25 out of 5
Played: 16 Jul 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 52 Outcome: Successful escape!
story-drivenbroken tech
Anonymous rated this:Rated between 15 and 15 out of 5
Anne expert rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 31 Jul 2021 Team size: 2
story-drivenvery easy

We just flew through this one. Wish we had played it in real life as we would have liked to watch some specific game mechanic IRL. 

We love detective type stories and this one delivered. It is quite easy and is probably best for beginners, but we also had fun.

Part one was really what we came for - the plot twist in part two was not really our cup of tea storywise, but the puzzles were fine and not hard. You could probably say that this escape game is more focused on the story than the puzzles and that makes it very inclusive also for a younger demographic. 

Tech wise this is based on the telescape platform and it worked well all the way except for sounds, where some was very low in volume and some was very high in volume. Lots of videos used to create the story. 




Amy Lowson rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 11 Sep 2021 Team size: 5 Outcome: Successful escape!
Lorraine Downing rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
value for moneystory-driven
SiSitAndWait rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 22 Jan 2022 Team size: 4 Time taken: 47:55 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivestory-drivengreat hostingquite easy

A murder mystery done very different kept us on our toes! It had some puzzles we had not seen before and whilst it was on the easier side it was very enjoyable.

The interactive system used in the game is like nothing I had seen!

abooth expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 22 Jan 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 52 Outcome: Successful escape!
value for moneyoriginal

Enjoyed this a lot - some original puzzles, lovely flow to it.

The Monkey expert rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5

Enjoyed the room, interesting with the way they've decided to create this room in terms of story line. Not the usual ending. 

Jordan Brown experienced rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 14 Feb 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 46:55 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalfamily friendly

A fairly common theme but the story takes an interesting turn. Clue system is very inventive and the theming, whilst initially sparse and uninspiring, is done well overall. Some good puzzles (if not a tad frustrating) and great logic/flow.

Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

This is a really fun room with the ‘things to do’ element of the room meaning everyone can get really stuck in and feel properly involved. The clue system, as with Cryptology’s other rooms, is interactive and funny, and perfectly designed to fit in with the room’s story and theme, making it a thoroughly immersive experience. Additionally, as you progress through the room the pressure ramps up to encourage you to get everything solved in time. This is cleverly done and Hugh Dunnitt is a really enjoyable and commendable room!

See also

Other versions of this game:(Different copies of the same game sometimes have significant differences.)