AI Escape: Project Delta

By | March 20, 2019

by AI Escape (website)

Unit K002, The Biscuit Factory, 100 Clements Road, SE16 4DG

South London

3-5 players

Languages: EN

closed
100 mins
β€œThat’s one small step for a man, one giant leap for mankind”
In 2052, you have been recruited to join Rainbow Galactic’s team of astronauts under the Project Delta Agreement. Your mission is to fly onboard spaceship Venus and carry biological experiments on other terrestrial planets to achieve space colonisation through genetic engineering. Will you be able to revolutionise the entire human race or will the project’s dark secrets consume you first?
show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:




If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Overall rating

Rated between 3.5 and 5 out of 5

based on ratings from 19 users
combined with 7 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

WickyPayne rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 7 Mar 2019 Team size: 3 Time taken: 105:01 Outcome: Failed πŸ™
hi-techoriginalimmersivequite difficult

Superb, a few puzzles were overly difficult, but game was much fun nevertheless.
Unique puzzles, plot-twist, great hosting. Many puzzles were so clever ideas, and not even puzzles but game itself was very clever and had so much details, it has it's own minigame in the game, and after that minigame the best part of this escape room starts to happen. Althought story was a bit overcomplicated it was awesome to experience. GM (Cera I guess) was explaining us the story 10 minutes after the game πŸ˜€

My favorite game so far althought no 5 stars review. I am sad that game is no more existent.

LockAndMe experienced rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Team size: 5 Outcome: Failed πŸ™
very difficult

This room felt like it was difficult for difficult sake. There was many layers to each puzzle, and I personally felt like there were too many details that we had to come across to work out the story. The room looked great and the theming was great, I sort of get the idea of what they were trying to do, and it seems like it would be great, but for me (and the rest of the group) it just seemed way too difficult, and a lot of the time things became frustrating and we quickly lost the fun side of things. 
I don't want to rate this too low, as i've spoken to a few people who seemed to like it, so maybe it was us? I don't know, but from the experience we had, it just felt like the designer of the game was more bothered about stopping enthusiasts escaping, rather than focusing on the fun side of things, which for me, is what its all about. 

But again, I know this side of things is all subjective. 

🌡Juliette B expert rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 10/08/2019 Team size: 2 Outcome: Failed πŸ™

Probably the hardest game we have attempted and can understand their recommendation for doing it as a 3+ group. Very nearly completed, but completely failed to understand one puzzle and got completely stuck with repeated hints from the GM telling us info we already knew (we still didn't get it even with the explanation given afterwards which didn't help) and after the detailed walk through felt like we should probably give up the whole escape room lark as we had clearly missed a variety of subtleties of the game that we were supposed to notice, to the extent we felt quite stupid :-/

They have incredible attention to detail in their games and the set is amazing, but if you miss something being said it is easy to lose track of what is going on so do listen carefully when audio files are playing. 

They are clearly very passionate owners and it's hard to criticise on that basis as they have many good ideas, and I do approve of the room being difficult - I would definitely go and try another one of their rooms in future (and thought Kill MAD was great) - but not sure we enjoyed this room like we were supposed to, mainly due to a rather mixed experience with the GM especially with how we felt after the walk-through at the end - ultimately a rather frustrating experience. Very popular game though so perhaps just an off day for us! 

Mike S expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
β˜•Joe Brown expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 27/10/18 Team size: 4
Fantastic range of challenging puzzles and technology made this a really well paced room. Definitely not for new players but this is for sure an enthusiasts room, the 100 minute length felt great too.
Anonymous rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Anonymous rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Anonymous rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 22 Dec 2021 Team size: 5 Time taken: 105 Outcome: Successful escape!
hi-techimmersivestory-drivenquite difficult

The most thematic one I've played! Highly recommend. I'm definitely a story driven person and this one hit all the boxes. Best of all, no actual padlocks and fiddley stuff!

Brandon experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 26 Mar 2022 Team size: 4 Time taken: 73:00 Outcome: Successful escape!
hi-techoriginalstory-drivenquite difficult
Escape Enthusiast expert rated this:Rated between 20 and 20 out of 5
Team size: 4 Time taken: 97 Outcome: Successful escape!
illogicaloverpricedout of game knowledgevery difficult

Really disappointed with this game after all the hype. The puzzles are needlessly obtuse in a totally frustrating and unfun way. A larger group is required due to the difficulty, however the game is strictly linear so only two people can really be involved at any one time. I barely did anything in the game apart from a painfully frustrating video game segment that grew old far too quickly. The narrative didn't have enough depth to it, but was an interesting touch. The twist was sadly very predictable. I honestly wouldn't recommend. I hate to say it as the host was lovely. But it just felt pretentious with some of the tricks that were thrown into the puzzles. The worst offender requiring outside knowledge to complete (spoilers) leap years (end of spoilers). I sadly ended up wanting to leave the room partway through as I was so bored. It's well themed and the concept is great, but the execution is very much lacking. 

Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

AIEscape's previous game Kill M.A.D. has been the London escape room I recommend most often and enthusiastically for a little while now, so to say I've been eagerly awaiting their new sci-fi game would be an understatement. Project Delta casts you as the crew of a spaceship at the start of a three-year mission involving biological research for the purposes of space colonisation; and, naturally, there are hints that all may not be as innocent as it seems.

I've seen spaceship games built using an...

Another unusual escape room from a company that just doesn't do mainstream games. Lots of story and hard puzzles - probably too much for some people! Oh, and did I mention that it's 100 minutes!
AI Escapes are really going for full immersion with Project Delta, and have spent a lot of time to truly bring you into the world
AI Escape are back with a new room after their hit first room Kill M.A.D. Will Project Delta raise the bar even higher?

Great hosts, great concepts in puzzles but over priced, difficult for the sake of being difficult and a lot of moments where members were stood around not doing anything. Very frustrating. 

Lists

This game is part of the following user-created game lists:
  • Best UK escape rooms 2022 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2022, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 
  • Best UK escape rooms 2021 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms (out of 1600) in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2021, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 

See also