Cryptology Sheffield: First Contact

By | March 20, 2019

by Cryptology Sheffield (website)

141 West Street

โ€‹0114 483 0052

Sheffield

3-8 players

Languages: EN

60 minutes

You have been tasked to find out what has happened to a stranded Tayson Research Vessel ship just off Mars.
You soon realise that what you have discovered will change the course of history, but in which way?
You must choose your path and the path of all humanity for betterโ€ฆ or worse!
show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:




If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Overall rating

Rated between 3 and 4.5 out of 5

based on ratings from 29 users
combined with 2 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

Sockless Feet rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 24 Mar 2024 Team size: 3 Time taken: 46:56 Outcome: Successful escape!
cleverstory-drivengreat hosting
Recommended team size from website is 4+, but we were allowed to play as a 3 due to previous escape room experience. Definitely felt like there was enough to do in the room as a 3 so larger groups would get on well with it. It was very well themed and enjoyed the story of the room, especially with the ending. None of the puzzles felt repetitive or overused and there was enough sign posting in the room for things to make sense without being glaringly obvious. My only gripe is that some of the cupboards didn't open without (what I would consider) excessive force and we missed couple things early on because we weren't pushing hard enough. We basically had to get a clue for "hit it harder", which resulted in a teammate just punching it for it to open. 
The games host, Johnathan, was excellent though and we had a good chat between our game. Definitely sold the experience to us. 
Exotic Turtle experienced rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Played: 29 May 2022 Team size: 3 Time taken: 54 Outcome: Successful escape!
hi-techillogicalbroken techquite difficult
๐Ÿฆกcipherdelic virtuoso rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
fraggle42 experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 15 Mar 2020 Team size: 2 Time taken: 59.58 Outcome: Successful escape!
hi-techclever
ratsontour expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Time taken: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
hi-techoriginalclever
Mark Greenhalgh expert rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 21/10/18
abooth expert rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Played: 22 Jan 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 63 Outcome: Failed ๐Ÿ™
beautiful

We just didnt gel with this game, took a really long time for us to click with it. Could be that we were a two and there was a looooot to do. Luckily the host gave us an extra three mins to finish.

SiSitAndWait rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 22 Jan 2022 Team size: 4 Time taken: 54:58 Outcome: Successful escape!
hi-techoriginalstory-drivenquite difficult

A very hi-tech game that is very different to all the escape rooms we have done before. They had a great use of video segments to enhance the story.

Because it was a sci-fi game it made great use of the technology in there but not so much that it feels distracting from the main mission. There are some great shoutouts to sci-fi films and series! It was our fave game of the day

Arjay Henshall expert rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Played: 1 May 2022 Team size: 3 Time taken: 58
funnystory-drivenillogical
Catherine K experienced rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Team size: 3 Outcome: Failed ๐Ÿ™
quite difficult

We played this when it first opened and I believe it has been tweaked since then. There were definitely some teething issues with technology not working and some illogical puzzles. It was an ok game but not up to Cryptologyโ€™s usual standard. 

Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

The game that introduced us to Cryptology- and what a game it was! We played this with our friends and regular escape companions, Tasha and Rach, and all four of us LOVED it! There was simply so much to do! In this game, you are tasked with boarding the TRSS Caelus to find out what happened to the crew of the spaceship orbiting Mars whose communication has ceasedโ€ฆ

Lists

This game is part of the following user-created game lists:

See also