Escapable: The Great Loudini

By | September 25, 2022

by Escapable (website)

Thornes Lane Wharf, Wakefield WF1 5RL

Wakefield

2-6 players

Languages: EN

75 mins
Wheelchair suitable - contact the venue for details
You have been tasked by Harry Houdini himself to help retrieve one of his stolen diaries. Taken by the imposter that is 'The Great Loudini'... However that's not all,  Loudini has been working on a way to predict the future! Can you retrieve the diary in time and help Houdini secure his place, as the greatest magician of all time...
show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:




If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Overall rating

Rated 5 out of 5

based on ratings from 26 users
combined with 1 pro review

Your review

Player reviews

Spanishfleas experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 26 Nov 2023 Team size: 4 Time taken: 54 Outcome: Successful escape!
funnygreat hostingmagical

A-maz-ing - Even Craig Revel Horwood would give it a 10.  Easily in our top 3 ever. 

Just book it if you can. Feel very lucky we managed to book a time in our busy schedule. 

Anonymous expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Outcome: Successful escape!
originalgreat hostingmagical
LockAndMe experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 25 Apr 2023 Team size: 6 Time taken: 55
immersivegreat hostingmagical

What we have here ladies and gentlemen, is not an escape room, but an escape experience, like no other I have played before. Really clever, and from the VERY start, and by that I mean, from the door to the building opening, we were in the experience. Our Host led us to a space where we had our brief, this took longer than usual briefs, but honestly, I wish every game brief was like this, I will not be giving away spoilers, but amazing. We were then lead to our room, where the escape rooms puzzles began, but the experience element didn't end.

Now when I first met Tom, the owner (LOVELY guy) he promised me that this room would involve actual magic (not Harry Potter spells and potions, ACTUAL magic) and I'm not ashamed to say, I turned into a little kid, as there was magic, now obviously I'm not spoiling anything here, their website tells you that live magic is seamlessly woven into this room, and it really is seamless. Now the on the surface, the puzzles aren't necessarily anything that people who have played a lot of rooms wont struggle with, nothing is over complicated, or too challenging, but the way they are all set up, one flowing into the next, is really great, and like I say, the magic element, makes this room an absolutely MUST play experience. 

What I will say is, if you do book. Allow yourself to turn into back into a child for a bit, be amazed by what happens, and don't try to work out the 'secrets' to anything, just enjoy it, and you'll get the most out of this experience. 

Thank you Tom, our host. You have given us a truly unique (at least from what I have seen) escape experience, and I don't think anyone will be able to match this.

Jordan Brown experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 2 May 2023 Team size: 2 Time taken: 63:17 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivegreat hostingmagical

Unbelievable - truly an experience like no other! Hosting is next level and really adds to the experience. Puzzles are logical and well thought out, with a few things Iโ€™d never seen before. Great decor which definitely adds to the magic. Do not miss this!

Dan Taylor experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 2 May 2023 Team size: 2 Time taken: 1:03:07 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalimmersivegreat hosting

Stop what you are doing and book in for this room!

Where to begin. First off I will say the passion and heart that has gone into this room is evident from the start. As is mentioned on the website (so no spoilers!) there is a live actor and live magic built into this room. It is delivered at moments that add to the immersion of the story as well as dumbfounding you at the same time!

From a purely puzzle point of view, the puzzles flowed very well with some excellent signposting that was subtle enough to not feel like you were being shoved in the right direction but also obvious enough that you werenโ€™t left scratching your head with what to do. Not the most difficult game Iโ€™ve played but still offered up some nice challenges, I think we required only 2 clues in the game excluding pointers where we had stupidly missed things! 

I would say this all helps lead to the finale though as I think every team that plays this game will need to experience the ending of the room. If Iโ€™m honest there was almost a tear in my eye as the ending was such an awe inspiring, personal, unbelievable, magical (insert more adjectives here!) and just incredible end that had me walking away feeling as though Iโ€™ve been part of the magic.

detolcrew experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
arandzom experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Team size: 3 Outcome: Successful escape!
story-drivengreat hostingmagical

The less said the better! I went into this room not knowing ANYTHING and it was a joy. Probably the best hosting I've ever come across.

Jen Wells (Get Wells Soon) expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 9 May 2023 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalgreat hostingmagical

Without shadow of a doubt, this is one of the most enjoyable rooms we have done to date. What Tom - the owner - has created here is something extremely special that will be a magical and memorable experience for anybody, irregardless of age.

This is an experience, rather than just an escape room; it is all done beautifully, with gorgeous puzzles and a fantastic theatrical element to it that elevates it to the next level. Great care has been taken with everything in here and that personal touch really adds to the enjoyment.

This room is magic in more ways than one.

Pagan Hollis experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 10 May 2023 Team size: 4 Time taken: 49:12 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalclevergreat hosting

Amazing!! Absolutely brilliant. Tom did an absolutely fantastic job with the room and his interactions with us. I wish I could play it again and experience it all over again. By far one of the best rooms I have ever done. ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘

simsi747 experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 14 May 2023 Team size: 4 Time taken: 1.05 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivegreat hostingepic

I'd heard Tom was building this game over a year ago. I've been waiting since then and it did not disappoint. The build up is fantastic the game play is brilliant. The theme is just awesome. There's a lot of love and personal touches gone into this room. It's a absolute must to do. It's a shame I can only click 3 of the tags for what stood out. 

Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

The Great Loudini was an escape room that has been blowing up the recommendation pages, and since it launched weโ€™d spotted plenty of shout-outs to Tom and the team via the various enthusiast Facebook pages. So naturally, we were very excited to see what Escapable had in store for us! 

See also