Escapable: The Great Loudini – Puzzles Edition

By | May 24, 2024

by Escapable (website)

Thornes Lane Wharf, Wakefield WF1 5RL

Wakefield

2-6 players

Languages: EN

60 minutes

new
Wheelchair suitable - contact the venue for details
You have been tasked by Harry Houdini himself to help retrieve one of his stolen diaries. Taken by the imposter that is 'The Great Loudini'... However that's not all,  Loudini has been working on a way to predict the future! Can you retrieve the diary in time and help Houdini secure his place, as the greatest magician of all time...
show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:




If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Overall rating

Rated 5 out of 5 (estimated, based on ratings for other versions of this game)

estimated score
not from direct reviews

Your review

Player reviews

spwhitton1 rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 30 May 2024 Team size: 2 Time taken: 56:01 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalclevergreat hosting

Amazing! One of the best escape rooms we have done (we have done 60+ all around the world), Tom the GM / magician was incredible, such a fab addition to a room. Puzzles were different and really interesting, would 100% recommend!

puzzlepalooza experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5

Just go. This is unmissable. Dates are limited because there's only one possible person who can host it, so depends on his availability. TERPECA 2023? 

d.green26 expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 26 Oct 2023 Team size: 2 Time taken: 58 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivegreat hostingmagical

An absolute pleasure to have a game ran by someone that does actual magic in front of your eyes. I would have happily sat and watched this for an hour if possible but this was just the introduction to a special experience not just an escape room. The room has some good puzzles and some wow moments that we just cant work out how they worked and it felt magical when we solved some of the puzzles helped by our magical host. This game as gone to the top of our list of games its just not a normal escape room it is a great escape room made unforgettable by the hosting and extra magic of the room. This is a must do room unless you really don't like magic

StaceyF expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 8 Oct 2023 Team size: 5 Time taken: 53:02 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalgreat hostingmagical
puzzlebitch experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 26 Sep 2023 Team size: 2 Time taken: 49:56
originalgreat hostingmagical

Wow x10000! What an absolutely outstanding experience this was. What Tom has managed to create with The Great Loudini is just stunning. The combination of escape rooms and magic is so beautifully done from start to finish, with Tom taking hosting to new heights. It was such a beautiful and magical and exciting experience, I actually teared up halfway through the game!

I don't want to say too much (and also try not to read too many of the reviews here - the less you know the better!) - but I truly cannot recommend this room enough. 

Tom and Jenn are both lovely and it was an absolute pleasure to have an in depth chat with them after the game. 

This is an absolutely unmissable game that has set a new bar for me. By far my favourite escape room experience to date. I wish I could do it again! 

goyinghome rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
value for moneygreat hostingmagical

Hosting taken to the next level 

🎲A Jones experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 28 Jul 2023 Team size: 2 Time taken: 68:17 Outcome: Successful escape!
great hostingmagical

Fantastic. One of our favourite experiences and rooms. Tom really pulled it off and from the moment we entered to the moment we left we were in his magical world and everything was on theme and exciting. Clearly a lot of love and effort has gone into this and if you like magic you'll hopefully notice loads of nods and tributes to things from that world. You can tell that the owner really likes this theme and is into their magic and they've made this room their baby.

Loved the live magic!

🤘The Pick of Destiny expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Team size: 2
story-drivengreat hostingfamily friendly

This was a really interesting concept and something a bit different. Had a lot of fun playing it and would recommend!

🦡cipherdelic virtuoso rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: July 2023
clevergreat hostingmagical

Its amazing to see escape room owners take a chance and do something different,  it sparks the imagination of the players and re-writes the escape rules.  This adventure takes a  fabulous room of magical puzzles and interweaves with some memorable and interactive magical cabaret throughout it.

Tom may have created a rod for his own back (as the only host), but what a wonderfully crafted rod it is. I'd happily play it again just for the show.

Chris Metcalfe experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 28 Jul 2023 Team size: 3 Time taken: 69 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalgreat hostingmagicalquite difficult

An absolute must play room. So different and unique.  Straight into my top 3 rooms! Amazing hosting! 

Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

When rating escape rooms I’m not exactly generous, and I’ve sometimes been asked before, by the owners of exceedingly good games, what persuades me to give a 5* score. My usual reply is that it needs something beyond just all-round excellence: some way in which it stands out that’s specific and distinctive. Loudini has that.
The premise is that you’re sneaking into the dressing room of the conjuror The Great Loudini, in search of the magician’s notebook and also the notebook he may have stolen ...

The Great Loudini was an escape room that has been blowing up the recommendation pages, and since it launched we’d spotted plenty of shout-outs to Tom and the team via the various enthusiast Facebook pages. So naturally, we were very excited to see what Escapable had in store for us! 

See also

Other versions of this game:(Different copies of the same game sometimes have significant differences.)