Escape From The Room: Chambers of Champions

By | July 21, 2020

by Escape From The Room (website)

Depot Rd, Epsom KT17 4RJ

Sutton

2-5 players

60 minutes

2 copies
The King of the 8 Realms of Kandala has died and by the rules of the Continent a new ruler must be selected. Long gone are the days where this would be decided by swords on the battlefield, and now has become the custom that the next ruler would be decided by a contest of wit and guile. Each Realm would select a set of Champions to compete against other contenders for the Crown. Both teams are locked in the Chambers of Champions and must race to complete a series of challenges set by representatives of the 8 Realms. But the stakes are high where victory has the ultimate prize and failure is met with execution.
show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:




If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Overall rating

Rated between 3.5 and 4.5 out of 5

based on ratings from 10 users
combined with 2 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

Laura McGill expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 7 Apr 2023 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
🦑cipherdelic virtuoso rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: August 2023
πŸ”James Bloodworth expert rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 28 Aug 2023 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!

A veritable wall of puzzles and padlocks awaits here in the Versus game.  There are various victory conditions but all of it can be tackled in a non-linear fashion, stuck on one puzzle, move on to another and then come back to this one.  

StaceyF expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 22 Jun 2023 Team size: 3 Time taken: 87 Outcome: Successful escape!
value for moneycleververy difficult

This is the finest example I’ve seen of what you can achieve in a small space. Super room with so many puzzles your head will spin. We tried for the crown but were prob about 8 puzzles short of completing. There’s a danger of feeling frustrated with these sorts of rooms but tbh I enjoyed it. A group of 4 would be ideal. Anymore and you’d be tripping over each other. Would be cool to do as a head to head. 

benny1664 experienced rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Played: 22 May 2023 Team size: 3 Time taken: 43 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalillogicalvery difficult

I am in 2 minds with this game.  Its very unique.  There are 2 parts to the game and we theoretically got out in 43mins but to get out you only have to do 1/3 of the puzzles.  To finish it all is a crazy amount of work and some of the puzzles really did seem a bit out there to comprehend even with an explanation at the end.  We got out in a supposedly quick time but I left feeling very deflated with how many of the puzzles we had actually finished.  It did improve slightly when she said she had only seen 3 teams in 2 years finish it all but I definitely left without a sense of achievement. 

I also think briefings should really clearly say that things are used more than once as most games are one use only but in this game many things all link together and get used over and over. 

So its worth doing but don't be surprised if you do not finish everything as we have pretty much finished all rooms we have done in the 70 games played so far and we got spanked by it!  I think we did around 2/3 of the puzzles.

Robert Storey experienced rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 24 Dec 2022 Team size: 3 Time taken: 00:28:00 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalpoor upkeepquite difficult

A good concept of a room let down by worn locks, puzzles and a couple of mis-steps in resetting. Otherwise a great room and concept, theming and hosting were good as well. 

Lee Andrew experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
value for moneyoriginalcleverquite difficult

Absolutely amazing room! Loved everything about it. Some extremely clever puzzles and a great time.

jakea256 expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 20 Mar 2022 Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalepicquite difficult

Probably the most overwhelming escape room that I have played and the first see what you can manage in an hour style. Really great variety of puzzles, simply something for everyone and I loved the way in which teams can compete if they wish in this room - every sound really builds a great sense of how well the other team is doing. Very clever and a lot of fun even if my brain was fizzing after!

markb experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 28 Jan 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 89
quite difficult

We took on the extended 90 minute challenge which requires you to solve every puzzle and soon learnt that is not a challenge for the faint-hearted.  The pro review explains the game mechanics so I won't reiterate that, but to say, if you love the challenge of solving puzzles and opening padlocks this is a game worth playing. It seemed overwhelming at first wit so much information which would provide you with the solutions to each of the numerous puzzles so you need to stay focused and remember carefully what you've already used to solve a puzzle and communicate this carefully between team members, as a 2 we had to work almost exclusively individually until we got to the last few that we'd both passed up earlier in the game and the final meta puzzle. Theming is simple but effective and the room is not particularly big, but it works well and doesn't need to be more elaborate.

Ronnie Meade experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 30 Jan 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 57:21 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalclever

A simple yet effective room where you can either find a way out as quickly as possible or try to solve every puzzle to become the new ruler of the kingdoms. The room can also be played as a versus room to heighten the suspense and pressure with both rooms in clear view of each other. A riddle heavy room so a puzzle minded players dream but practical players like my other half may not enjoy and feel overwhelmed. The room isn't that spacious so I would say teams no bigger than 4 people should be okay. We solved around 70% of the room before running out of time. Highly recommend this room for like-minded mental thinkers but practical players be prepared to only solve puzzles and not have much of a practical element. An extra 30 minute option is also available for those wanting to solve every puzzle. 

Reviews by escape room review sites

You might notice that Epsom Escape Rooms at Horton golf course used to have a game called The Challenge Chambers, and wonder if this game is a renamed version of that, or a sequel. Neither is the case, but this room shares a similar game concept with that one: you have a grid of puzzles, each with a padlock, and you have to solve enough of them to allow you to pass a key from the left side of the grid to the release point on the right hand side.

Also common to both is the fact that this is a ra...

A thoroughly enjoyable game that just kept delivering serotonin hit after serotonin hit with small wins that took us on our journey to the crown. If you like puzzle overload then this is the game for you.

Lists

This game is part of the following user-created game lists:
  • Best UK escape rooms 2022 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2022, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 

See also

Other copies of this game in other locations:(Different copies of the same game sometimes have significant differences.)