Escape Plan: Roll Out The Barrel

By | March 31, 2019

by Escape Plan (website)

Rich Mix, 35-47 Bethnal Green Road, E16LA

East London

2-5 players

Languages: EN

60 minutes

It’s 1945 and the Air Commodores at RAF Tangmere have secured a barrel of ale of the highest quality, which they shipped in secretly last night under the cover of darkness. Whilst they are planning a jolly good knees-up for the senior officers, you and the rest of the squadron face an austere Victory Day celebration. But the Air Commodores have been called away to Sector Control and there’s a window of opportunity to break in, find the stash and roll out the barrel!
show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:




If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Overall rating

Rated between 4 and 4.5 out of 5

based on ratings from 41 users
combined with 4 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

Solemn rated this:Rated between 4 and 4 out of 5
Played: 25 Feb 2024 Team size: 2 Time taken: 58:31
originalfunnygreat hosting
Great room. Lots of fun. Some fantastically original puzzles and props in play. Our hosts were lovely and very accommodating. We had a blast here.
elfgrunge experienced rated this:Rated between 4.5 and 4.5 out of 5
Played: 25 Feb 2024 Team size: 2 Time taken: 58.31 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalgreat hosting
A really wonderful game! Sarah was such a great host. We played this impulsively immediately after having played Adventure Begins so our brains were a bit fried, but we really enjoyed ourselves. It has one of my favourite puzzles I’ve ever done in an escape room, and I think it’s worth it for that alone. 
Mark Crossley experienced rated this:Rated between 4 and 4 out of 5
Played: 23/04/2023 Team size: 2 Time taken: 43:10 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalstory-drivengreat hosting
Tatie experienced rated this:Rated between 3.5 and 3.5 out of 5
Outcome: Successful escape!
great hostingfamily friendly
d.green26 expert rated this:Rated between 3.5 and 3.5 out of 5
Played: 10 Nov 2023 Team size: 2 Time taken: 63 Outcome: Failed 🙁
great hostingfamily friendlyquite difficult
Jen Wells (Get Wells Soon) expert rated this:Rated between 4.5 and 4.5 out of 5
Played: 31 Oct 2023 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulcleverstory-driven

Another fantastic offering from Escape Plan! This was the final game we did on this day and, while it didn't quite pip Battle for Britain to the top room spot for me, it certainly met the high expectations we had after doing the other two rooms.

So many hand-crafted puzzles and some truly inventive elements made this an absolute joy to complete.

Peter Hoare experienced rated this:Rated between 4 and 4 out of 5
Played: 26 Oct 2023 Team size: 4 Time taken: 57 Outcome: Successful escape!
value for moneygreat hosting

Interesting set up in a kind of shared arts space in an old office building, quite unexpected. This room is probably the most analogue room I have seen, with some puzzles manually operated by the GM who is literally sitting in a little false wall room in the corner...! It was gloriously low tech but the puzzles were all challenging, creative and unique. 

Our GM (like Paris but with a K) was great, was clearly involved in the business, and after we were done, she gave us a detailed rundown of how we performed, recalling moments during the game in very high levels of detail, saying how well we had done certain tasks, remembered all our names too, which is something i've not seen yet. 

Will be back for the other rooms. 

ShellH experienced rated this:Rated between 4.5 and 4.5 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
cleverimmersivestory-driven
taleviooo rated this:Rated between 4.5 and 4.5 out of 5
Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalfunnyclever
Chris Metcalfe experienced rated this:Rated between 4 and 4 out of 5
Team size: 3 Outcome: Successful escape!
value for moneyoriginalgreat hostingquite difficult
Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

There are any number of games set in WW2, but I’d hazard none others that share the premise of Roll Out The Barrel: set immediately after the end of the war, you’re trying to break into the officers’ mess to get at their private stash of booze, all the better to celebrate victory. Your goal is a literal barrel, and barrels are used throughout as a motif along with the more obvious wartime decor and 1940s theming.

The escape room industry may be increasingly using prefabricated puzzle com...

We loved Battle for Britain and although this room didn’t quite reach the greatness of that room, it’s a good room which we thoroughly enjoyed. Puzzles were logical, it was fun to be in, the ending was strong and the hosting was spot-on

For a game set during World War II… It’s surprisingly light hearted and funny! But wait, I’m getting ahead of myself. Roll Out the Barrel isn’t technically set during World War II. It’s set the day after. Your mission? Throw the best party for the troops you possibly can. Everyone knows the best parties involve obscene amounts of booze which is why three intrepid troops and myself just broke into our officer’s top secret bar cabin to steal all their barrels. It’s party time!!

This time the International City Adventurers Team were taking on a more lighthearted mission involving beer. Talk about puzzle envy. This room had a lighter, upbeat feel about it and was a good way to end our mission. 

Lists

This game is part of the following user-created game lists:
  • Best UK escape rooms 2022 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2022, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 
  • Best UK escape rooms 2021 by Escape the Review virtuoso

    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms (out of 1600) in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2021, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 

  • Best UK escape rooms 2023 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2023, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 

See also

Other versions of this game:(Different copies of the same game sometimes have significant differences.)