Make Your Escape: Spellbound

By | March 20, 2019

by Make Your Escape (website)

First Floor, 4 Osmaston Road ('The Spot'), DE1 2HR

Derby

4-10 players

60 minutes

Deaf friendly - contact the venue for details
In the witchcraft trials of 1607, two women were convicted in Derby despite protesting innocence. For centuries, their woodland cabin remained untouched.
Now their story continues: one of mystery, deception and magic...and you will become part of the legend.
Work together as a team to solve the puzzles and escape.
Something wicked this way comes...
show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:





If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Promotional offer

This offer is only available to Escape The Review patrons (Enthusiast tier or higher)

Overall rating

Rated between 4 and 5 out of 5

based on ratings from 45 users
combined with 5 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

spbc expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 17 Apr 2022 Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
hi-techgreat hostingmagical
Tim Cooper expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 22 Jul 2021 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifuloriginalstory-driven
Anonymous expert rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
poor hostingreset errors

This room is beautiful. On entry it definitely has the wow factor. It has the potential to be an outstanding experience. 

Sadly, we experienced 2 reset errors. Answers had been left on a chalkboard for us to see and another solution was left solved in plain sight. 

We know that these things happen, its human error and its inevitability. However, the way that these mistakes are dealt with is what sets good customer service apart from bad. 

 When someone has to enter the room to deal with errors, this 100% breaks the immersion and should be addressed at the end of the game. However, our GM  laughed off the mistakes, no apology, no accountability. This left us feeling really let down by this company. 

Exotic Turtle experienced rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 27 Mar 2022 Team size: 3 Outcome: Successful escape!
Arjay Henshall expert rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 27/03/2022 Team size: 3 Time taken: 59:55 Outcome: Successful escape!
intensedifferentbroken techquite difficult
matt_keds expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 22 Feb 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 59:19 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersiveintense

#43

Room 2 out of 4 at our trip to MYE. This. Was. Magical. From the get-go we were immersed into the experience. The decoration was absolutely brilliant, not one part of the room was missing anything, and the puzzles! It can seem overwhelming at first at how much there is to do, and our host  seemed a bit quietly dubious as to whether we’d escape with just two of us. But we managed! This room could comfortably fit 6, but if you’re feeling like a challenge then try it as a pair. Into the top 5 of our personal rankings.

Our first puzzle to solve was something I’ve never seen before and very original. As there were so many puzzles, it didn’t bother us that a few were padlock-based either. The way you solve things to work towards the finale was super fun too. The last 3/4 minutes were a mad rush and rather stressful! But that’s what you need sometimes in such a room. The best room at MYE by far.

abunai expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5

Really recommend a group of 4 for this one, even with experienced players! A LOT of stuff to do.

jakea256 expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
originalclevergreat hostingquite difficult

Really loved the theming of this room and the uniqueness of multiple puzzles. Everything was incredibly well signposted and loved the linking to the history of Derby itself. A must play if in the area.

Mark Greenhalgh expert rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 17/10/17
Simon (The Overthinkers) expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 31 Oct 2020 Team size: 2 Time taken: 39:26 Outcome: Successful escape!
Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

I'll be mostly echoing Chris here, but Spellbound is a lovely room that I'd enthusiastically recommend to pretty much anyone. It's a classic of a well-designed puzzle-driven game which benefits from a beautiful set, a fun start, and a thoroughly satisfying conclusion.

It's one of the least linear games I've played. I played with a team of four, and that was a good number to divide and conquer without feeling that I'd missed out on too much due to my teammates solving things while I was l...

A fun game, with pretty decorations and good puzzles. I can't imagine what it would be like with the full ten people but, for the two of us, it was most definitely a rewarding experience and well worth the trip over to Derby.
Spellbound is a mission, especially for a team of two. That’s why it’s normally recommended for 3+ players. It is achievable for a team of two, but it’s full on, with loads of puzzles and content to sift through - but from the very first puzzle, this game is a hoot!
It’s a big room full of puzzles. Okay, that’s a tad reductive for an intro, but I’m not sure how else to describe Spellbound. The theme is neat enough: like The Signal it’s based on a story from Derby’s history, but this time going all the way back to the witchcraft trials of the 1600s. You start the game split up, and there’s a clever test of teamwork and deduction before you can reach the room proper (it took us a good ten minutes, though we were playing with fewer than the recommended number of people).

Lists

This game is part of the following user-created game lists:
  • Best UK escape rooms 2022 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2022, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 
  • Best UK escape rooms 2021 by Escape the Review virtuoso

    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms (out of 1600) in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2021, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 

  • Best UK escape rooms 2023 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2023, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 

See also