Clue HQ Birmingham: Captain Riddle’s Forgotten Fortune

By | March 20, 2019

by Clue HQ Birmingham (website)

Arches 20 & 21, Lionel Street, B3 1AG

Birmingham

2-6 players

60 minutes

Captain Riddle was one notorious pirate. Famous for pillaging from land and sea and holding his bounty within a hidden cove. The story has become legend over the years and no one is sure if the treasure even exists anymore. You and your scallywag crew have commandeered his old ship and are now sailing in search for the gold. Paranoid that others would attempt to follow in his footsteps, he locked everything up, and is said to have not written down the route to the loot. Riddle’s ship is protected, so you won’t have long after you set sail until the company come after you.
show full description

Overall rating

Rated between 40 and 45 out of 5

based on ratings from 15 users
combined with 2 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

Mark Greenhalgh expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 23/06/17
Simon (The Overthinkers) expert rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 1 Apr 2018 Team size: 4 Outcome: Failed πŸ™
immersive
🦑cipherdelic virtuoso rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
πŸ”James Bloodworth expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 4 Sep 2021 Team size: 2 Time taken: 46:00 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulfunnygreat hosting

A brilliant time infused with an awful lot of fun.  A wide variance of puzzles in a game of two halves.  There's a lot to do but you will probably do it with a smile on your face as you do.  Couple of red herrings may make you wonder but nothing should divert you.  Definitely one of Clue HQ's better offerings.

🌡Juliette B expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 7 Aug 2021 Team size: 2 Time taken: 65:00 Outcome: Failed πŸ™
beautifulimmersive

Set is lovely and there are plenty of puzzles. Our GM (and her trainee) were excellent. I had a couple of niggles - there was one puzzle that clearly did not work that we wasted quite a bit of time on (to be fair, they did then allow us to finish the game after time) and the low lighting in the final room made it really difficult to actually achieve one of the tasks. But overall it's a lovely game and would definitely recommend. 

Ellie rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 6 Aug 2021 Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulstory-driven

The set is gorgeous and surprising, and there is a good range of puzzles.

However, this game irritated me because, with a minor tweak, our experience would have been incredible. The final room is beautiful but very very very dark, so dark that we couldn't see the padlocks and had to resort to the lights on our watches. A few other minor gripes too, but this was the biggest issue for us.

Despite this, I would definitely recommend this game because we had a great time, but I would advise a light source unless you have been loading up on the carrots!

Exotic Turtle rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 22/05/2021 Team size: 3 Time taken: 56 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulstory-drivenintense

My favourite from the Clue HQ franchise.

Free flowing, great story and immersive!

Arjay Henshall expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 22 May 2021 Team size: 3 Time taken: 56 Outcome: Successful escape!
hi-techimmersivegreat hostingquite difficult
Sean Nash rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 12 Mar 2018 Team size: 5 Time taken: 50mins Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersivestory-drivenquite difficult

Fun pirate room with multiple rooms. Great scenery, scents and game flow. 

TheMushyPeas rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 17/09/20 Team size: 2 Time taken: 54.14 Outcome: Successful escape!

One of our favourite rooms so far! (played 14 rooms). Much better than Clue HQ's other offerings. Sturdy construction, outstanding theming and great story. Nothing particularly, individually challenging- just so much content to get through! Our only criticism was the lighting levels caused us issues at more than one point throughout the game - including the finale in which we had to have a clue (which we try to avoid) as to where the item(s) even was that had already been revealed as it was too dark for us to see.

Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

Whispers on the grapevine (okay, mainly Facebook) suggested that with Captain Riddle, Clue HQ had upped their game and built something quite special, so it was a priority for our visit to Birmingham. Actually, it'd probably have been a priority anyhow - pirate themed games tend to be fun.
First impressions on entering the room were contradictory: the decor was lovely, but I was surprised by what a small space it was. Fortunately that's misleading, with the game turning out to be expansive enoug...

See also