Enigma Rooms Pontefract: Escape From Oz

By | March 26, 2023

by Enigma Rooms Pontefract (website)

3 - 7 Ropergate End, Pontefract, WF8 1JX

Pontefract

2-6 players

Languages: EN

60 minutes

Just another day living on the farm out on the Pontefract prairie land.
The weathers changing, you and Toto are caught up in a cyclone that deposits you and the farmhouse into the magical land of Oz.
show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:




If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Overall rating

Rated between 4.5 and 5 out of 5

based on ratings from 22 users

Your review

Player reviews

samsham experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 25 May 2024 Team size: 2 Time taken: 58:33 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersivefamily friendly
Spanishfleas experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 27 Nov 2023 Team size: 4 Time taken: 40 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersivemagical

Beautiful sets.

Very immersive.

Magical moments and wonderful attention to detail. 

A real highlight of our trip. Owner was gracious and engaging. Would recommend to anyone to play. Still smiling from it. 

Dan Taylor experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 18 Sep 2023 Time taken: 44 minutes Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulcleverstory-driven

What a game! You follow the story of Oz quite closely to the film which I really liked. The set design of this room was really well put together, with some fantastic effects throughout the game which really added to the experience. A strong mix of tech and traditional lock puzzles which really gave some good variety to the puzzles. I've played a lot of games by this point but there were still some puzzles in this room I've not seen before which is always great to see. There was also a good mix of non linear puzzles which could be done at different points which then lead you to the linear story which I was very impressed by. It's so difficult to explain how good this game is without ruining anything but honestly it was a stunning game and a great start for a new Enigma location. I can't wait to see what they do with future rooms!

Jen Wells (Get Wells Soon) expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 23 Sep 2023 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulfamily friendlymagical

Beautiful! What an incredible adventure through the story of the Wizard of Oz! This is such a well put-together room with delightful puzzles that will appeal to all ages.

The sights, sounds and smells of Oz are really evoked here in this incredibly immersive world that has Enigma's trademark attention to aesthetic detail. Puzzles are plentiful and enjoyable, hosting is friendly and welcoming and the general gameplay is a lot of fun.

Jess_keds expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 23 Sep 2023 Team size: 2 Time taken: 43 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersivestory-driven

Beautiful room from another wonderful Enigma branch. The set is built perfectly for the story with such a hands-on, lovingly-made feel throughout. As a 2, we sailed through, however we didn’t feel like we did as luckily there’s plenty to do. A nice balance of puzzle types. Make sure you bring your reading glasses though! There’s some unique β€œwow” moments which gets hard to find after nearing 200 ER’s. Excellent! 

matt_keds expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 23 Sep 2023 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivefamily friendlymagical
🀘The Pick of Destiny expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 28 Sep 2023 Team size: 2
cleverimmersivestory-drivenquite difficult

This is a really fun room with some really nice touches. 

πŸ†Annagramma expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 12 Nov 2023 Team size: 4 Time taken: 47.30 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersive

Oh so beautiful! So much has been put into the theming and there is plenty to do through the room. We had a couple of moments of hmmm what do we have to do next but then some ahas that let us continue before long. Lots to read and one counting puzzle which I always find I suck at lol. But a brilliant first room, will definitely be back when they open another. Thanks to Emma the lovely GM!

Tatie experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Team size: 4 Time taken: 57 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulgreat hostingfamily friendly
CraftyPandaX rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 16 Nov 2023 Team size: 3 Time taken: 59 Mins Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulstory-drivengreat hosting

What a beautiful game! 

This is a amazing story driven game that has some of the best set pieces we have ever seen! 

There are multiple WOW moments and bits that make you just want to stop to take it in.

You can really see the effort thats been put into the decor of the game and it makes it really immersive. You really have to play this game.

The game is story driven and everything flows really well.


Would we travel to specifically play this game : Yes.

Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Lists

This game is part of the following user-created game lists:
  • Best UK escape rooms 2023 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2023, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 

See also