Emergency Exit Escape Rooms: The Studies of Dr. Becker

By | October 23, 2021

by Emergency Exit Escape Rooms (website)

12A George Street, OL6 6AQ

Ashton-under-Lyne

2-8 players

Languages: EN

60 minutes

🐶

You are invited to spend an hour with the famous Dr. Becker at Boleskine Lodge Practice.

He is currently with another patient and will be with you shortly. In the meantime make yourself at home and enjoy his hospitality and his study - a beautiful place decorated with his bizarre collection of strange and wonderful things.

But do not dig too deeply as things are not always as they seem in this place, after all it is well known that some of his previous guests are still there after volunteering to help with his studies.

Dr. Becker has a past which is questionable at best and not everyone agrees with his methods.

show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:




If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Overall rating

Rated between 4 and 5 out of 5

based on ratings from 13 users
combined with 2 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

samsham experienced rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Team size: 2 Time taken: 57:00 Outcome: Successful escape!
story-drivenbroken techpoor hosting
🤘The Pick of Destiny expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Team size: 3
immersivegreat hostingintense👻scary
mrsb rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 30 Apr 2023 Team size: 2 Time taken: 58 mins Outcome: Successful escape!
value for moneycleverintensequite difficult😨creepy
Jess_keds expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Outcome: Successful escape!
hi-techimmersiveintense😨creepy
Scotus0 expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 28 Jan 2023 Team size: 6 Time taken: ~53:00 Outcome: Successful escape!
value for moneyimmersivestory-driven👻scary

Becker Beware

For my birthday, I wanted to do 2 escape rooms back-to-back; luckily, my friends obliged. The experience pretty much started at the door, with a sinister introduction that instantly set the tone!

Story

Investigate the questionable Dr Becker’s study: his invitation for you to visit may not be as well-meaning as it seems.

Puzzles

We tackled a mixture of physical locks and mechanical-based obstacles. The puzzles themselves were engrossing and in good supply.

Mise-en-scene

Perturbing is the word! Among the curious artifacts in the dated, dimly-lit study and beyond, there were surprises to keep you on your guard. There wasn’t a timer to keep track of how long you’ve got left, which I would have liked.

Final Comments

A surprisingly large maximum number of 8 people can do this room: there was enough for 6 of us to cooperate on, but I think any more players would have been too many. We escaped with around 7 minutes left on the clock.

Anonymous rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 14 Oct 2022 Team size: 4 Time taken: 51 Outcome: Successful escape!
funnyimmersivegreat hosting👻scary
matt_keds expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 23 Apr 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 47 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalimmersivestory-driven👻scary

#61

The best at Emergency Exit IMO, one of the creepiest rooms we’ve done and good puzzles. The finale was particularly stressful/scary!

🔐James Bloodworth expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 17/04/2022 Team size: 3 Outcome: Successful escape!
great hosting😨creepy
Definitely not for the screamish!  This game is another dealing with potentially uncomfortable themes.  Medical experiments gone awry is another popular theme and this is very much a game of two halves.  It does feature live actors and also a degree of theatricality that I’ve not seen before.  Puzzles are mostly linear with a combination of searching, placement and deduction.
lizratesrooms experienced rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 20 Apr 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 58 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivegreat hosting👻scary

Host did a great job with immersion and the story. We found it creepy and very realistic! Some puzzles were very clever but some were broken as the host had to come into the room to fix it which broke the immersion. Would have preferred a more range of puzzles too. 

msilcox expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 12 Feb 2022 Team size: 4 Time taken: 51 minutes Outcome: Successful escape!
originalimmersivegreat hosting👻scary

Among the best remote avatar games we've played.  The integration of cut scenes was absolutely seamless, and really elevated this into a cinematic experience.  The set was wonderfully spooky, and there was a good assortment of puzzles, with few traditional locks.  The usual mix of light-hearted and bloody-minded hosting that we experienced with these folks' other games.  Absolutely a "must do" for fans of online escape rooms.

Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

The year 2022 started with the eagerly awaited news, that the award winning company „Emergency Exit Escape Games“ came up with a new chapter: „The Studies of Dr Becker“ is their third online available Escape Game after „Exorcist“ and „The Beast“. And with them both still being No. 1 and No. 4 on our Top-List (since 20 month and after many more games played) …the expectations were high! And we weren’t disappointed!

The Studies of Dr. Becker was a fantastic game overall which had so many high points from the interactions of Charlie and Liam to the high-quality videos that integrated seamless into the story. The characters of Charlie and Liam also played off each other and us which brought some humor and fun as an added bonus. This game reminds me a lot of Simon Pegg’s “Shawn of the Dead” movie with the style of horror and dark humor. This game is offered in person at their location, which you should play if you ever get the chance. Otherwise, this is a great game to play as an online experience (plus you might only be able to enjoy a "nice view" of Liam through the remote version).

We would really recommend playing The Studies of Dr Becker (and its predecessors if you haven’t yet). We are sure that an in-person visit would be equally fun but we can’t stop raving about the online hosted experience. At £20pp (for a four player team), this is a great way to spend your Friday night.

Lists

This game is part of the following user-created game lists:
  • Best UK escape rooms 2022 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2022, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 
  • Best UK escape rooms 2023 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2023, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 

See also

Other versions of this game:(Different copies of the same game sometimes have significant differences.)