Clue HQ Birmingham: The Legend of Miyalock: Forbidden Magic

By | August 31, 2020

by Clue HQ Birmingham (website)

Arches 20 & 21, Lionel Street, B3 1AG

Birmingham

2-6 players

Languages: EN

60 minutes

The Legend of Miyalock tells of a treasure hidden deep within a mountain, shrouded in magic and mystery and guarded by the spirit of the dragon – Malaki. Long ago, Malaki sought to destroy this world but a young girl named Miya used her magic to entrap the dragon within the mountain. Thousands of years later, the Collective League of United Explorers (C.L.U.E.) has finally stumbled upon the hiding place of this legendary treasure – but they may have unearthed something much more dangerous. Retrieve Miya’s wand, master the magic of the past and join the fight to defeat Malaki once and for all to claim the treasure of Miyalock for yourselves.
show full description

Overall rating

Rated between 40 and 50 out of 5

based on ratings from 10 users
combined with 2 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

abooth experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Team size: 1 Time taken: 54 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersivestory-driven

One of if not my favourite game I've ever played. Actually did it alone as it was due to close and my teammate was unavailable. The host was superb, there's a never ending sequence of surprises and the story telling is just wonderful.

Simon (The Overthinkers) expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 14 Sep 2021 Team size: 2 Time taken: 40:21 Outcome: Successful escape!
hi-techoriginalimmersive
laceyd87 experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 14 Nov 2021 Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulhi-techgreat hosting

Well our host Ryan was amazing and really  added to the experience. It was a real thrill and everything had its place. The finale section was wow on effects. I personally found that the sound was fine in the room and didn’t interfere with our communication. Sometimes it was a little funny with placement of items but that was due to fact it was tech orientated. Must play. 

🦡cipherdelic virtuoso rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
🔐James Bloodworth expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
hi-techimmersivegreat hosting

Is this worthy of all of the praise heaped upon it, yes it is!  If you've the portal series of online escape game then the first couple of rooms will look familiar but the game extends so much more than that.  Gameplay and puzzles are good and the flow of the game works well.  Possibly my favourite Clue HQ game.

🌵Juliette B expert rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 7 Aug 2021 Team size: 2 Time taken: 59:00 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifuloriginalclever

I have mixed feelings about this - it is almost a great game, but wasn't quite there for me. Good points: beautiful set and videos, really enjoyed the interactive equipment you need for the game. Some good puzzles although nothing too individually challenging. Progress is linear for the most part. 

Bad points: the audio is loud to the point of damaging your hearing. I couldn't hear my partner even when we were shouting at each other at close range. This was very off putting, detracted from the experience and meant we had absolutely no way of solving an audio puzzle which we were then stuck on for some time (but also couldn't really attract the attention of the GM, again as so loud). It becomes very linear later on so I spent quite some time doing nothing due to the small spaces things were located in - again this may have been better if we'd been able to communicate, but volume precluded this. It's a shame about these issues as we ended up not enjoying a game that I think is probably better than our experience. 

Emma Macedo experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 11 Aug 2021 Team size: 2 Time taken: 49.11 Outcome: Successful escape!
cleverstory-drivenmagical
Ellie rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 6 Aug 2021 Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivestory-drivenmagical

A beautiful game with a good use of the space. For once it was impossible for me to forget the story and mission! Clever use of tech to create the magic and plenty of puzzles to keep us busy throughout. 

It is clear that so much effort has been put into creating  this room so am really glad we played before it has to be taken down. Hope it can return again in future.

Exotic Turtle rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 19/06/2021 Team size: 3 Time taken: 47 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivestory-drivenmagicalquite difficult
Arjay Henshall expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 19 Jun 2021 Team size: 3 Time taken: 47 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivestory-drivenmagical

The latest game to be launched at Clue HQ and it’s safe to say it’s brilliant. 

This has quickly become my fav game at CLUE HQ. 

With some clever technology, great story and a few things I’ve not seen before, this room adds to a great lineup of games. 

There is a lot to do in this room so don’t be fooled by the starting space. It was frantic and we left sweating. Although fairly linear, there seemed to be something for everyone to do and I don’t feel anyone was standing around.

Fantastic game 

Reviews by escape room review sites

The Legend of Miyalock seems to be the shining light in the ClueHQ collection. Admittedly we haven’t played many ClueHQ games, but Miyalock is a cracking game and one that ClueHQ can be proud of. We don’t know what the future holds for The Legend of Miyalock, so get and play it now, before it is possibly lost forever.

See also