Clue HQ Birmingham: The Legend of Miyalock: Forbidden Magic

By | August 31, 2020

by Clue HQ Birmingham (website)

Arches 20 & 21, Lionel Street, B3 1AG

Birmingham

2-6 players

Languages: EN

60 minutes

The Legend of Miyalock tells of a treasure hidden deep within a mountain, shrouded in magic and mystery and guarded by the spirit of the dragon – Malaki. Long ago, Malaki sought to destroy this world but a young girl named Miya used her magic to entrap the dragon within the mountain. Thousands of years later, the Collective League of United Explorers (C.L.U.E.) has finally stumbled upon the hiding place of this legendary treasure – but they may have unearthed something much more dangerous. Retrieve Miya’s wand, master the magic of the past and join the fight to defeat Malaki once and for all to claim the treasure of Miyalock for yourselves.
show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:




If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Overall rating

Rated between 3.5 and 5 out of 5

based on ratings from 51 users
combined with 3 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

escapeartist1212 expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
hi-techstory-drivenmagical
andylosttheplot rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 16 Mar 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 58 Outcome: Successful escape!
hi-techstory-drivengreat hostingquite difficult

My wife and I played this as a two and really enjoyed it.

Theme - magic theme is a common one, but this room has an immersive story and the story is well integrated.

Puzzles - lots to do in an hour - especially the 2nd half builds tension nicely. Nice variety of styles. We had a tendency to overthink a few puzzles!

Tech - I think this is a good example of how to integrate tech into a room. You could see the dedication to the design with the way the lighting worked with the story.  We had one small puzzle that malfunctioned but this was released externally and didn’t upset the game flow.

Age - you could take kids and they would have things to do. Some nice crawling and other hidden spaces.  There’s PG level mild peril but nothing outright scary. The only thing I would say is they keep the volume of the dramatic music and general sound effects high, this might be a bit much for some children ( and adults!).

GM - Lauryn GMd for us. She is super enthusiastic and did a fantastic job. She knew when to let us stew and when to give us more direct clues to get us back on track. The clues come written on a screen and were timed really well for us.

Overall I thought this room was excellent and probably in the top 10 of the 50 or so We’ve done. Highly recommended.

Adam experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 12 Aug 2022 Team size: 4 Time taken: 28:12 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalstory-drivenmagical
chlowo rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 20 Apr 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 59m 03s Outcome: Successful escape!
hi-techepicmagical

This room honestly blew my socks off. The theming and puzzles really shine, I was giddy with excitement and impressed the whole way through. One of my favourites so far.

Molly Smith experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivegreat hostingmagicalquite difficult

Our host set the scene well. Great atmosphere and very immersive. Unfortunately though the dim lighting made it hard to see some puzzles, the speech we listened to was very unclear & the sound effects were a bit overwhelming for this autistic player. I absolutely loved some of the clever reveals and had good fun. Thank you.

Brandon experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
hi-techepicmagical
roberts0502 experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 2 Jun 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 59:28 Outcome: Successful escape!
hi-techimmersivemagical
lizratesrooms experienced rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Team size: 2 Time taken: 58 Outcome: Successful escape!
essentialatom experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 18 Jun 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 38 mins Outcome: Successful escape!
Anonymous rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 16 Jun 2021 Team size: 3 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulstory-drivenepic

The best room that Clue HQ have. Play this. The set is amazing, the puzzles are solid and challenging, and the storyline is good.

Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

The Legend of Miyalock seems to be the shining light in the ClueHQ collection. Admittedly we haven’t played many ClueHQ games, but Miyalock is a cracking game and one that ClueHQ can be proud of. We don’t know what the future holds for The Legend of Miyalock, so get and play it now, before it is possibly lost forever.

There were rumours that this room was shutting down, but luckily it appears to still be available to play. And long may that continue – make the effort to get here if you’re in Birmingham and in a clue-y mood.

Lists

This game is part of the following user-created game lists:
  • Best UK escape rooms 2022 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2022, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 
  • Best UK escape rooms 2021 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms (out of 1600) in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2021, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 
  • Best UK escape rooms 2023 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2023, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 
  • Midlands games to play by 🏆Annagramma expert
    For those who want to get together for some games. Try and keep them north of Oxford and south of Manchester but outliers are ok if we all want to do them!

See also