Escapologic Nottingham: Immaterium

By | January 28, 2020

by Escapologic Nottingham (website)

21 Castle Gate, NG1 7AQ

Nottingham

2-5 players

60 minutes

Passengers on pilgrimage aboard a trader ship, Evadere The Tempestas, on course to holy Terra. Pilgrims have been escorted to their quarters deep within the bowels of the vessel, upon entering they are told the ship will soon translate into the warp and the journey will begin. The ship stirs into life, players hear a distant rumble and feel a faint vibration as the engines wake. As the warp jump is made, the warp core and several ship systems fail, causing massive damage to the craft. Players have no choice but to leave and find out what has happened or risk being trapped in the crew quarters while the ship is slowly torn apart. Here the real journey begins... battle through the Warp Storm and escape the ever seeping Chaos.
Created in conjunction with Games Workshop, Immaterium is a simultaneous cooperative team experience. For the first time ever, players will be able to jump into the world of Warhammer 40,000 and experience its myriad dangers for real. They will touch, smell and feel all areas of the ship and everything on it – including a talking Servitor. Up to five people at a time can immerse themselves in Immaterium, and explore the deepest recesses of a star-faring vessel facing imminent doom.
show full description

Overall rating

Rated between 35 and 45 out of 5

based on ratings from 21 users
combined with 3 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

Anonymous rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Team size: 3 Time taken: 37:18 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifuloriginalimmersivequite easy
Simon (The Overthinkers) expert rated this:Rated between 25 and 25 out of 5
Played: 18 Apr 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 42:57 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalimmersive
πŸ”James Bloodworth expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 2020-10-12 00:00:00 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
This is a hard room to review, I think it falls somewhere between an escape room and more of a theme park experience, this is a hybrid without fully committing to either one.  The theming and scenery are absolutely top notch, the puzzles aren't arguably original but they are done well and completely in theming.  You don't need to know any of the background of the game this is based on to enjoy it but I'm sure it's packed with easter eggs for fans.  I had a couple of issues with the audio system and elements of the scenery but I was able to talk to the GM at the end regarding this.  Escapologic have pushed the envelope again with this and I think it's a fascinating view of a potential view for the future.
🦑cipherdelic virtuoso rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5

If you're a Warhammer fan this this will be a wet dream for you, but even if you aren't a fan the room build is stunningly detailed and are visual feasts. But its really more of an event or experience, its very light on puzzles with much more doing than solving.Regardless of being puzzle light  is a room to do as there are incedible OMG! moments, its a must play just don't expect a puzzlefest. 

Sharon Nowik experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: October 2020 Team size: 2 Time taken: 45 Outcome: Successful escape!
🌡Juliette B expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 8 Jun 2021 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulhi-techoriginalquite easy

The set for this is fantastic, multiple spaces with high attention to detail and a variety of special effects to be enjoyed. It isn't a classic escape room per se in that there are not lots of puzzles to work out but it is immersive and I can see in terms of development how this is one direction ERs could go. Definitely requires physical agility by all team members. I am not familiar with Warhammer so didn't get any added satisfaction that way but can't say it mattered to me in terms of experience. 

Arjay Henshall expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 27 Jun 2021 Team size: 3 Time taken: 45 Outcome: Successful escape!
hi-techimmersiveepic

WOW.

This game is something else. Yet again, the Escapologic team have created something truly magical. 

From start to finish the immersion was phenomenal. 

My only issue is I now don’t know if this or curio is my favourite room. 

A true masterpiece that will have you occupying every inch of the room and will keep you going for sure. 

FANTASTIC 

Exotic Turtle experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 27/06/2021 Team size: 3 Time taken: 45 Outcome: Successful escape!
value for moneyimmersiveepic😨creepy

My favourite room thus far!!!!!

Laura McGill expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 1 Aug 2021 Team size: 2 Time taken: 45:00 Outcome: Successful escape!
hi-techoriginalimmersive
Tim Cooper expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 26 Aug 2021 Team size: 2 Time taken: 35:00 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifuloriginalimmersivequite easy
Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

Possibly one of the most visually stunning games that we have ever played. Ok, the puzzles didn’t particularly click with us but that won’t stop us recommending this game. Make sure you stretch before you play, you need to be quite mobile as you navigate around the ship.
This room will thrill any Warhammer fan of course, but also any general sci-fi fan, or anyone who has ever thought they would love the chance at escaping from a perilous situation (whilst never actually being in danger!) or looking for a very atmospheric room with some clever tasks and surprises. It does call for some dexterity as well as climbing and crawling, so a great one for kids just don't wear your best trousers!!
Immaterium delivers a gritty but pretty set with fun, physical puzzles, although be prepared for that lack of user feedback to potentially leave you frustrated. I’d recommend it to anyone who’s in Nottingham, but especially Warhammer or sci-fi fans or those who like physical challenges.

See also

Other versions of this game:(Different copies of the same game sometimes have significant differences.)