Cave Escape: Monuments

By | July 29, 2019

by Cave Escape (website)

63 Mansfield Road, NG1 3FN

Nottingham

3-6 players

Languages: EN

60 minutes

It is 1945 and your country needs you! You have been called upon by the allied forces to venture deep into the salt mines of Austria. Your task is to locate and retrieve the priceless artworks, precious gems and gold bullion that have been stolen by the Nazi’s. Can your team solves the puzzles, diffuse the bomb and crack the codes to save the artefacts before the mine is blown to smithereens? There’s only one way to find out…
show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:




If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Overall rating

Rated between 4 and 5 out of 5

based on ratings from 53 users
combined with 6 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

spbc expert rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 22 Feb 2022 Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulgreat hostingconfusing
flyingoctopus expert rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!

The props and theming of the room are very immersive and we really appreciated how well the space had been used to create the atmosphere in the room.

We got off to a great start, storming through the puzzles and really enjoying ourselves. The second half of the room sadly wasn't as enjoyable. The GM wouldn't leave us alone. We had barely had time to think about a clue he had given before he was giving us another (we didnt ask for these clues). He was actually quite bossy and unfriendly at times over the speaker.

We got out in under 50 minutes, feeling bullied and rushed. We had loads of time left so I have no idea why the GM thought it necessary to  behave in the way he did. 

We had a totally different experience with a different GM in their other room.

Jordan Brown experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 1 Sep 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 53:47 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersivestory-driven
Schteeeve experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 16 Dec 2022 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalcleverimmersivevery difficult
gimiabreakout experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 11 Jun 2022 Team size: 6 Time taken: 53 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivestory-drivenepicquite difficult

A well thought out game with a variety of puzzles and surprising elements, a fantastic escape room. 

The puzzles and props were authentic and well in keeping with the theming, made better by being located underground in a real cave! Truly special, professional and incredibly well managed.

Ksen experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 24 Jul 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 57 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifuloriginalimmersive

Very well themed with great story and props. Puzzles also fun with a good mix of searching and solving. 

Mrs G expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Team size: 3 Time taken: 51.01
beautifuloriginalimmersive

Having heard so many good things about Monuments we just had to play on our trip to Nottingham, we were not disappointed! A great game loaded full of puzzles which fit the theme perfectly. An unusual and unique setting used perfectly to compliment the game play. Highly recommended

Jess_keds expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 2 Jun 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 52:16 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalimmersivegreat hosting

Fully immersed from start to finish. Beautiful space utilised creatively with scenery and props to suitably match the storyline. Some unique puzzles and a suitable amount of reading required. Great variety of mechanical, physical, mental and electronic puzzles and thankfully minimal use of number locks. Great hosting during our visit which can make such a difference. 

matt_keds expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 2 Jun 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 52:16 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulfunnyimmersive

#72

Brilliant theming and a really unique game. The space is really well used and the unique story makes it a fun and exciting experience. Cave Escapes are the top venue we’ve visited, very accommodating letting us do what is normally a 3 person+ room as a pair. Unmissable.

Jemileh experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Team size: 3 Outcome: Failed 🙁
Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

A World War II theme might not seem the obvious choice to set in a cave, but in fact the story is a perfect match for the setting: in Monuments you are in the Austrian salt mines where the Nazis stashed their looted treasures, trying to rescue precious works of art before the defeated occupiers blow the place up.

Cave Escape‘s unique underground setting again gives an instant authenticity to the environment, and the games builds on that with a great deal of 1940s equipment and decor. It’s not a...

A game with plenty of highlights, whether it’s the story interludes, the beautiful set or the feeling of being on a virtuous heist. Well worth playing if you’re in the Nottingham area.
I loved Cave Escape from the moment I stepped into the reception area two years ago to play Carfax, but Monuments has completely blown me away. Not only was this game one of the highlights on our nearly 60 game road trip, but it ranks among my favourite Top Ten games I have played to date.

One word: AMAZING.

History lovers will especially get a kick out of this room, and I definitely feel it’s one for adults rather than children, but no one could fail to be impressed by the attention to detail in this room, the effort made to bring in props and technology that blend seamlessly to give life to the story and authenticity to the experience. The effort gone to by the team is top-notch. Highly recommended.

If you had asked me last week if I ever thought that I would need to experience an escape room in a cave i'd have laughed, that was until I visited Cave Escape in Nottingham. Cave Escape currently have two escape rooms in Carfax, their Dracula themed room and Monuments their World War 2 themed room, (With a third, Judgement, opening at a different location called Judges Escape Emporium nearby soon). We arrived slightly early but were let in and told just to chill on the sofa. I have seen some beautiful receptions before but Cave Escape really take the top spot on this. It was stunningly beautiful and so cosy and the staff are all so lovely and are so passionate about escape rooms as at a few times in our interactions we got distracted talking about other rooms. Anyway, we got given a locker by our lovely host Imogen and we descended down some stairs to our room Monuments.



Lists

This game is part of the following user-created game lists:
  • Best UK escape rooms 2022 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2022, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 
  • Best UK escape rooms 2021 by Escape the Review virtuoso

    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms (out of 1600) in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2021, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 

  • Best UK escape rooms 2023 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2023, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 

See also