TimeTrap Escape Rooms: Pudding Lane

By | July 29, 2019

by TimeTrap Escape Rooms (website)

11 Friar Street, RG1 1DB​

0118 405 0074

Reading

2-6 players

Languages: EN

60 minutes

closed
It’s Tuesday 4th September 1666 and The Great Fire of London has been burning for two days. Order has begun to break down and chaos is threatening to erupt – fuelled by the rumours that the fire was started on purpose… Londoners are blaming every stranger that crosses their path. Is it another attack in the long running feud with the Catholics? A retaliation in the war with the Dutch? Or was it just an accident?
Only one man knows the truth about how the fire started, and that man is Thomas Farriner, a baker from Pudding Lane, from whose bakery the first flames appeared on September 2nd… But with his house and, in fact, his entire street long destroyed, Farriner and his three children have fled to safety at the house of his brother David, on Mincing Lane.
Meanwhile, a Frenchman by the name of Robert Hubert has been arrested on suspicion of starting the fire. If found guilty, he will hang, and although he doesn’t seem in his right mind, and his story doesn’t add up, the authorities want someone to blame and are ignoring their suspicions that he is innocent.
In order to set things straight and stop London collapsing into paranoid anarchy, Thomas Farriner must be convinced to deliver a statement describing what really happened on the night of September 2nd through the door of the nearest church. But first, someone must brave the fiery streets and dastardly challenges in order to find him… The question then is, what will he decide to say? The fate of London awaits…
show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:




If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Overall rating

Rated between 4 and 5 out of 5

based on ratings from 75 users
combined with 5 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

DypanicDuo experienced rated this:Rated between 4 and 4 out of 5
Played: 21 Feb 2024 Team size: 2 Time taken: 42:40 Outcome: Successful escape!
DoctorPB experienced rated this:Rated between 3.5 and 3.5 out of 5
Team Jophie experienced rated this:Rated between 4.5 and 4.5 out of 5
Played: 15 Mar 2024 Team size: 2 Time taken: 50:07 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersive
AJ’s expert rated this:Rated between 4 and 4 out of 5
Played: 20 Sep 2020 Team size: 2 Time taken: 55:24 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifuloriginalimmersivequite difficult
Anonymous rated this:Rated between 5 and 5 out of 5
Played: 14 Mar 2024 Team size: 2 Time taken: 47 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalimmersivestory-driven
Probably my favourite escape room i’ve ever done
🏆Annagramma expert rated this:Rated between 4 and 4 out of 5
Played: 16 Mar 2024 Team size: 3 Time taken: 34:04 Outcome: Successful escape!
cleverimmersivestory-driven
Ah what a brilliant way to make a historical event come alive, brilliantly themed, some clever puzzles and tasks and a decision to make at the end leading to different outcomes. Loved our GM Lily and really hope that TimeTrap is reborn with their time travel antics elsewhere.
EscapedBear experienced rated this:Rated between 4 and 4 out of 5
Played: 16 Mar 2024 Team size: 3 Time taken: 34:04 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivegreat hosting
Tatticorn rated this:Rated between 5 and 5 out of 5
Played: 29 Feb 2024 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalimmersivegreat hosting
Char rated this:Rated between 3.5 and 3.5 out of 5
Dan Getliffe experienced rated this:Rated between 4 and 4 out of 5
Played: 3 Mar 2024 Team size: 2 Time taken: 50:05 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersivebroken techquite easy
The highlights of this are definitely the set, immersiveness and theming of the puzzles. However, we found it a bit on the easy side (and some puzzles were not that original), and we were unimpressed that one of the puzzles was not working so we unknowingly bypassed it completely (which apparently was the intention) which left us confused on finishing, and our GM tried to hide it (the fact that it was broken) from us even when we asked about it… I found that part really disappointing and it soured my feelings on this at the end. It’s still decent, but Curioser and Curiouser is much more worth the trip!
Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

Those who are less familiar with London history might assume Pudding Lane is confectionary themed - but of course this game is actually named after the place where the Great Fire of London began in 1666. Your team has been sent back in time, not to prevent the fire from breaking out but to determine how it started, and ensure blame does not fall in the wrong place.

My first reaction on entering the room was to gleefully geek out over how beautifully a certain aspect of the scenery had been buil...

London’s burning, London’s burning
Fetch the engines, fetch the engines
Fire, fire, fire, fire!

London has been in flames for two days and the city is in complete chaos, but whodunnit? Rumours are endless about who started the fire … It must have been the Catholics! No, surely the Dutch are the culprits … or are they?

We enjoyed Imaginarium, and loved Station X, but Pudding Lane is by far one of our favourite games on offer at TimeTrap, cementing itself a place in Liz's Top Ten Escape Rooms list
This game was really immersive, it was clear a lot of effort gone into the room theme, with them even creating an old London street scene. It’s not something we’ve seen done this well that often and draws comparisons to Tulley’s Farms rooms.
When you think of Reading you don't think The Great Fire of London, except if you've visited TimeTrap Escape Rooms in the heart of the city centre. TimeTrap is home to three rooms. These are their new room Curiouser and Curiouser 1871, an Alice through the looking glass themed room, Station X 1942, a Bletchley Park themed room and Pudding Lane 1666, the room we were there to play. We were greeted at the door by our host/games master David who from the get go was on top form. He was enthusiastic and energetic and just so upbeat and positive. It was such a warm welcome and it energised us for our room. He explained the usual health and safety and general escape room stuff as well as some things about the room and then he handed us a bag and led us to the streets of London.

Lists

This game is part of the following user-created game lists:
  • Best UK escape rooms 2022 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2022, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 
  • Best UK escape rooms 2021 by Escape the Review virtuoso

    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms (out of 1600) in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2021, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 

  • Best UK escape rooms 2023 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2023, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 

See also