The Escaporium: The Haligonian

By | March 20, 2019

by The Escaporium (website)

Colonnade Level, East Wall, The Piece Hall, HX1 1RE

Halifax

2-7 players

60 minutes

Enter the newly discovered private Halifax museum of Mr. P. Saul and find out what he has been the guardian of all this time!
show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:




If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Overall rating

Rated between 3.5 and 4.5 out of 5

based on ratings from 16 users
combined with 4 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

Anonymous rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 9 Mar 2024 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalgreat hostingquite difficult
Jordan Brown experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 24 Feb 2024 Team size: 2 Time taken: 46:05 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalgreat hosting
Absolutely fantastic idea to use local heritage as a theming for the room - why don't more places do this? 
πŸ”SpontaneousIllusion expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
originalclever
I was surprised as to how much I really enjoyed this game. I didn't know what to expect from a museum style game. However the puzzles in here was fantastic made me leave fancying a toffee penny. 
lilyw rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalclevergreat hostingquite difficult
arandzom experienced rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Adam Bravery expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 12 Nov 2023 Team size: 3 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalclever

Surprised by this game as I'd not heard much. Liked how it integrated local history into the puzzles and was very original. The puzzles are very good throughout and there's plenty to be getting on with - weren't so sure one of the final puzzles though, which felt a bit timewasting. You can tell it was an older room but overall it still delivers high quality gameplay that is unique and puzzle focussed.

Seven Of Diamonds experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 2023 Team size: 2 Time taken: ~50min Outcome: Successful escape!
originalgreat hostingintense
d.green26 expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 23 Oct 2023 Team size: 2 Time taken: 56 Outcome: Successful escape!
story-drivengreat hostingfamily friendly

This was our least favourite of the 3 that we had played at this venue at this point but still worth doing. A solid design with good puzzles and interesting set and props made a nice change. As always a friendly hosting that made for a fun room.

Mighty Oaks experienced rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 26 Oct 2019 Team size: 2 Time taken: 47:21 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalgreat hosting
Catherine K experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalstory-driven

A good solid room, lots to do for a team of 2 but we successfully escaped! 

Jen Wells (Get Wells Soon) expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalstory-drivengreat hosting

We loved that this was particular to Halifax! Great hosting from Sam, who clearly loves escape rooms as much as we do! Some lovely puzzles to get stuck into.

Simon (The Overthinkers) expert rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Played: 16 Apr 2022 Team size: 4 Time taken: 40:37 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalgreat hosting
flyingoctopus expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
cleverfamily friendly

We weren't sure what to expect with this room as we know nothing about Halifax. However, this really didn't matter

 The puzzles were really clever. This is a challenging room for a team of 2 but very doable. 

Highly recommend all of the rooms at this venue. 

Anonymous experienced rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Team size: 2
great hosting
🦑cipherdelic virtuoso rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Anonymous rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: Team size: 2 Time taken: Outcome: Successful escape!

Reviews by escape room review sites

Haligonian is the adjective for a person or thing from Halifax, and this room is a love letter to the town where The Escaporium is based. There’s a storyline beyond that, involving searching a collector’s private museum, but it seems like an excuse to celebrate all things Halifax. That might sound like an odd premise, less exciting than stopping a bomb or escaping from jail, but the result is not just a game that feels distinctive but one where you can feel the pride in the town’s history and ac...

A charming room and perfect for players who are looking for something that's perhaps a little more cultural and touristy than your average escape room.
A game very much focused on puzzles, with a museum like setting that gives it a very different feel. Lots of fun and an interesting insight into the history of Halifax.

Lists

This game is part of the following user-created game lists:
  • Best UK escape rooms 2021 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms (out of 1600) in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2021, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 

See also