Game Over Derby: Forbidden Temple of Montezuma

By | March 20, 2019

by Game Over Derby (website)

Abbotts Hill Chambers 2nd Floor, Gower St, DE11SD

Derby

2-6 players

Languages: EN

60 minutes

It’s been many years since your archaeology professor vanished while on an expedition. You decide it’s time to follow his trail, bring his research to light, and fulfil a promise. It will be dangerous. Something claimed the professor, it could claim you too.
show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:




If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Overall rating

Rated between 3 and 4 out of 5

based on ratings from 11 users
combined with 3 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

Millie Parkin rated this:Rated between 15 and 15 out of 5
Played: 25 May 2024 Team size: 2 Time taken: 58 Minutes
illogicalbroken techpoor hosting
Terrible game. Completely illogical puzzles, they made no sense and we’ve done over 50 rooms so know what a good puzzle is. Hosting was very poor, one person was running 2 rooms at the same time. She didn’t tell us the background story and left us in the room in a rush. Don’t play this 
spbc expert rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Played: 1 Jan 2020 Team size: 3 Outcome: Successful escape!
confusing
Anonymous experienced rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Team size: 3 Outcome: Successful escape!
great hosting
Simon (The Overthinkers) expert rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Played: 15 Jan 2022 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
🦡cipherdelic virtuoso rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
🔐James Bloodworth expert rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 01/12/2019 Team size: 2 Time taken: 46:22 Outcome: Successful escape!
Favourite room at the venue, a fun vibe at what is mean't to be their hardest room.  Only clue I will give is to look around at all items..
Escapetopus experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 17/09/2017 Team size: 6 Outcome: Successful escape!

A beautiful set with plenty of wow factor makes you feel like you’re inside an Indiana Jones movie. The puzzles are challenging, even with a larger group.

Arjay Henshall expert rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Played: 21/0819 Team size: 2 Time taken: 59.59 Outcome: Successful escape!
Kelly Archer expert rated this:Rated between 20 and 20 out of 5
Played: 4 Nov 2023 Team size: 3 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulillogicaldark

This game was a bit of a disappointment to be honest. We picked a game that looked really immersive with nice set design as an introductory room for my father in law. Sadly the immersion was ruined by the loud screams from the teenagers playing the "Saw" game next door and the room played on its styling with extra darkness. The very first puzzle (this won't spoil anything, it is obvious) is doing a tangram - the search for pieces was incredibly frustrating; looking for pale wooden objects in the nooks and crannies of a dark room is not my idea of fun.

We had quite a few clues because some of the puzzles were obtuse (this was game 131, we do not normally struggle on this) including one puzzle which the GM admitted needed a clue every time because otherwise no one would get it - in my opinion that means there is a flaw in the design.

It was such a disappointment because some of the ideas were good but the flow just wasn't there. 

David Bodsworth experienced rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Played: 24 Dec 2017 Outcome: Successful escape!

Our first ever escape room, and it got us hooked. Nice, well built set. One or two puzzles that we didn't get, but looking back, not sure if that was the game or us!

Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

With a gap between games, we rang Game Over's doorbell on the off chance they had a slot free, and they were able to oblige with Montezuma, which they described as their hardest game.

The backstory involves following in the footsteps of your vanished archaeology professor, and while the game starts in an academic's office I don't think it's too much of a spoiler to say that there may be something a little more temple-y involved at some point.

As you'd expect for a game rated with a high diffic...

Game Over hat mit Forbidden Temple of Montezuma ein definitiv herausforderndes Spiel gebaut, was vielleicht nicht unbedingt mit Aussehen, dafür aber mit Anspruch an die grauen Zellen glänzen konnte.

See also