Lucardo Rawtenstall: University of Magic: Dragon’s Heart

By | March 20, 2019

by Lucardo Rawtenstall (website)

33 - 35 Kay Street, Rossendale, BB4 7LS

Rawtenstall

2-6 players

60 minutes

An announcement has been made in the University of Magic - the Dragon’s Heart has been stolen! Without this, magic as we know it is at risk. Rumours are circulating that it was seen in Oggles Magic Shop. Your task is to use your magical powers to enter Oggles, recover The Dragon’s Heart and return it back to the University of Magic. Dark forces are involved, so take care on this quest. Pre-Book – Opens 8th December 2018
show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:




If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Overall rating

Rated between 3.5 and 5 out of 5

based on ratings from 31 users
combined with 6 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

samsham experienced rated this:Rated between 4 and 4 out of 5
Played: 24 Feb 2024 Team size: 2 Time taken: 49:51 Outcome: Successful escape!
story-drivengreat hostingmagical
Laura Knight expert rated this:Rated between 4.5 and 4.5 out of 5
Played: 17 Aug 2023 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
story-drivengreat hostingmagical
Loved this game, might be the best magic-type game I've played. Good storyline, lovely atmosphere, great puzzles that flowed well, and a few that were really special! Highly recommend. 
browngate experienced rated this:Rated between 3.5 and 3.5 out of 5
roberts0502 experienced rated this:Rated between 3.5 and 3.5 out of 5
Played: 13 Jan 2024 Team size: 2 Time taken: 56:42 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivemagical
knoh39 experienced rated this:Rated between 4 and 4 out of 5
Played: 1 Jan 2024 Team size: 2 Time taken: 52.37 Outcome: Successful escape!
clevergreat hostingmagical
Unique start to this game, set and theme was excellent. Host was amazing and got right into his character. Some clever puzzles and magic spells. Very interactive, we had a great time! 
TheCLAMS expert rated this:Rated between 4 and 4 out of 5
Played: 27 Oct 2023 Team size: 4 Time taken: ~36 mins Outcome: Successful escape!
magicalgreat theming

This room is beautifully themed and the start is super fun and intriguing. Theres a fun interactive puzzles I just love in here. We did find there weren't lots of puzzles though and we completed it fairly quickly. 

goyinghome rated this:Rated between 5 and 5 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
cleverimmersivemagical

Great set design, and some clever touches, it was a bit dark, so you may need a touch 

Chris Metcalfe experienced rated this:Rated between 4 and 4 out of 5
Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulfunnystory-driven
Speedy Sloth expert rated this:Rated between 3.5 and 3.5 out of 5
magical
TheEscapeBoomers expert rated this:Rated between 4 and 4 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulstory-drivengreat hosting

Great fun for a team! We had a blast and enjoyed the theatrical side. 

Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

Magic School has proved wildly popular as an escape room theme, and Lucardo have one such game in each of their two branches. Instead of taking the easy route of duplicating a single game, these are two completely distinct games. (I guess it would make narrative sense to play the Manchester branch’s Entrance Exam first, but Dragon’s Heart is entirely standalone and we had no problem starting with it.)

While this entire genre of escape room owes an obvious debt to the Harry Potter franchise, thi...

The team at Rawtenstall continue to impress. A well delivered story, a fantastic introduction, a great entrance to the game, solid puzzles and plenty of theatre throughout the experience meant we left the game buzzing.
It’s been so long since we played Entrance Exam that I can’t really confirm or deny the rumours that say Dragon’s Heart is even better, but I can confirm that Dragon’s Heart is definitely superb and well worth the trip to Rawtenstall.
A truly magical room with lots of great special effects and beautiful theming. Our new favourite Lucardo game!

Lists

This game is part of the following user-created game lists:
  • Best UK escape rooms 2022 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2022, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 
  • Best UK escape rooms 2021 by Escape the Review virtuoso

    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms (out of 1600) in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2021, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 

  • Best UK escape rooms 2023 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2023, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 

See also