Escapologic: Chronos

By | March 20, 2019

by Escapologic Leicester (website)

2B St. Martins, LE1 5DB

Leicester

2-5 players

60 minutes

A version of the normally dormant Chronos virus has mutated, becoming deadly, resulting in the death of any living thing it comes into contact with. This pandemic has decimated the human populace and plunged modern society into chaos. After several failed attempts at finding a cure it is now time to activate the last resort.
The Powers That Govern, a mysterious secret society, have enlisted you to pilot a machine developed from the collective research of some of the most brilliant minds in history; Da Vinci, Tesla and Einstein. This machine is the final contingency, it will shift you through the voids of space and time… Your destination, Victorian London.
It is here that you will find patient zero, the only known fatality caused by Chronos up until it’s mutation in the present day. The research from this rare case was once lost to time but now you have the power to get it back and find a cure. Change the past, fix the present and give humanity a future.
show full description

Overall rating

Rated between 35 and 45 out of 5

based on ratings from 13 users
combined with 8 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

Philip & Gemma rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 10 Mar 2018 Team size: 2 Outcome: Failed 🙁
quite difficult

This is a room that we wish we could forget and play again. We made the mistake of this being the first ever Escapologic room we ever played and we found it very difficult. We know that if we played it now as more experienced players, we would do much better.

It is a physical puzzle room with contraptions and machinery. The set pieces and puzzles are amazingly themed and the clue system is great. 

As with all the Escapologic rooms, the game host was fantastic and tried to help us out. Alas, until we suffer with amnesia, we will have to accept our defeat to this great room.

Arjay Henshall expert rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 23 Apr 2022 Team size: 3 Time taken: 42 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersiveillogical

In terms of puzzle quantity, don’t expect to find a lot to do in this room, however some puzzles were great fun to do. 

Aeastethically very good and in keeping with all Escapologics other games 

markb rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 4 Dec 2021 Team size: 2 Time taken: 42 Outcome: Successful escape!

We played two at Escapologic on the day and this was our favourite, some clever puzzles and a nice between needing to use your brain and undertaking more physical puzzles. Some of the writing/symbols were fairly tricky to read though.

Team Tonks rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Played: 16 Jan 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 41.12 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalcleverquite difficult

The hardest room on site, some very clever and physical puzzles but some things can be hard to read. Again some very original set pieces which we really enjoyed.

Mark Greenhalgh expert rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 05/02/18
🔐James Bloodworth expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 25 Sep 2021 Team size: 3 Time taken: 56:46 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivestory-drivengreat hostingquite difficult
Once more, great theming but this room features some quite fiendish puzzles that we initially struggled with (the clue system is fantastic!).  I wouldn’t say you need to think outside of the box but you do need to identify links in the early stages or you will struggle throughout.  The room looks beautiful and has some great ideas throughout.
Lise Mortier expert rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Played: 2019 Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!

The design of the room has to be perfectly well done for a non-linear room to excite me, instead I quickly felt overwhelmed by the different possibilities the room had to offer. The design and decor of the room is fabulous as they kept old devices and antique items to design their rooms, unfortunately some of them might be a bit un-precise or even broken, which even though they looked great broke a bit the immersion. One puzzle in particular was the center piece of the room and required manual maneuver with the whole team being involved, quite an impressive piece! The final puzzle that was supposed to release the item we were looking for to complete the room was broken and resulted in us escaping the room without having really finished it. But where the team of Escapologic was fantastic is that they offered us a discount for a future room due to those technical issues, it was greatly appreciated as we had several technical issues in the past with other companies that were not as concerned about the customer satisfaction, so mega + for the Escapologist team. We are looking forward to try their other rooms!

🦡cipherdelic virtuoso rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Mike S expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Aine Morgan rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

Having waxed enthusiastic about the big elaborate sets in the other Escapologic Leicester games, I’m going to now declare Chronos my favourite of the three, even though it’s physically the smallest. But it packs a great deal into that space, with some exquisite decor and very physical puzzles that are as attractive as they are challenging.
The story is that you’re travelling back in time to a Victorian laboratory on a mission to find the only known cure for a devastating pandemic. The time trav...
Sometimes we just don’t click with a room, and that doesn’t make it a bad game, our brains just weren’t wired correctly for this game. It was a very pretty room and the puzzles were tactile and interactive, but so far, Chronos is at the bottom of our Escapologic list.
We travel back in time to find a cure for the deadly Chronos virus which is wiping out the human population in this Leicester based escape room.
A very well themed room with a steampunk feel filled with levers, dials, pipes and physical puzzles.
Another Escapologic game that hits the spot. Frustrating at times but in a good way and harder enough for experienced escapees to have something to really sink their teeth into. Challenge yourself and take on the Chronos virus
A deadly virus is ravaging the world, and the only known antidote is inconveniently located... over 130 years ago. Fortunately, the good folk at Escapologic have a time machine to get us there!

Lists

This game is part of the following user-created game lists:

See also