Escape Hunt Woking: Journey to Atlantis

By | July 26, 2023

by Escape Hunt Woking (website)

Ground floor, unit 1, Morris House, 34 Commercial Way, Woking GU21 6EN

Woking

2-6 players

Languages: EN

60 minutes

A recent attack from a mysterious foe has left the ship severely damaged, and Captain Nemo badly injured.

Taking to the helm, you have just 60 minutes to steer the ship to sanctuary and locate Atlantis. If you fail, Atlantis may go undiscovered for another two thousand years.

show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:




If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Overall rating

Rated between 1.5 and 2 out of 5 (estimated, based on ratings for other versions of this game)

estimated score
not from direct reviews

Your review

Player reviews

Anonymous rated this:Rated between 10 and 10 out of 5
Played: 1 Oct 2023 Team size: 5 adults Time taken: 50 mins Outcome: Successful escape!
illogicalbroken techoverpriced

We are an experienced group of escape roomers. The only positive feedback I can give about this room is that the room decoration was very authentic and the host was friendly. We "escaped" within the hour. However, this was far and away the worst escape room I've ever done. I won't give any spoilers here so if Escape Hunt want specifics then please feel free to contact us directly.

One of the handles was broken. Tech didn't work. Multiple puzzles made absolutely no logical sense and were unrelated to the story. The sound was all over the place - the backing music and intros were so loud that the sound was distorted and then other parts of the game were virtually inaudible. Two parts provided non-proportional and non-instant feedback when input was provided which made them essentially pointless. There were many unrealistic red herrings (for example a piece of navigation equipment having the number 13 on twice and a letter missing in a word on a sign). Upon successfully completing a puzzle on one side of the room, a drawer silently unlocked on the other side with no reasonable way of us knowing it had opened without the host telling us.

This room is also incredibly linear. There is generally only one thing to be "solved" at a time. And most of the "solving" is either incredibly basic, a lucky guess, or an unrealistic logic leap.

We made our dissatisfaction clear to our host after we escaped. We pointed out the numerous flaws to the game. I requested a refund and was told someone would email us...

We called up the following day and requested a refund again. Escape Hunt offered a 50% refund which we reluctantly accepted after they refused to give us a full refund despite such a poor experience.

I would highly recommend avoiding this room and avoiding Escape Hunt.

Anonymous rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 19 Sep 2023 Team size: 6 Time taken: 44:32 Outcome: Successful escape!
value for moneystory-drivengreat hosting😨creepy

ooooooh! under the sea!

Great hosting, my hearing was tested, but fell off a piece 

Dan Getliffe experienced rated this:Rated between 10 and 10 out of 5
Played: 3 May 2022 Team size: 2 Outcome: Failed πŸ™
illogicalbroken techpoor hosting

This is an absolute disaster of a room. Makes no sense, host was shocking and would not help us at all, things don't work and the puzzles don't really fit the theme. Terrible room and the worst we have done by some distance - I have nothing good to say about it!

theworldescapecrew blogger rated this:Rated between 25 and 25 out of 5
Played: 24 Jun 2023 Team size: 5 Time taken: 28.43 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivestory-drivenplainvery easy
2For1 experienced rated this:Rated between 25 and 25 out of 5
Played: 14 Apr 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 37:42 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalstory-drivenbroken techquite easy
Jen Wells (Get Wells Soon) expert rated this:Rated between 25 and 25 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
great hostingfamily friendly

Escape Hunt have a smart new centre in Edinburgh in the Omni Centre so all the games here are newly-built. Atlantis looks great and has some lovely decor.

If I'm honest, this room just wasn't our kind of room. It would be a fun experience for a family with children, as the puzzles aren't challenging and there are lots of things to do, as opposed to things to solve: we just love tricky puzzles, padlocks and having to work hard to figure something out. I can, however, imagine a family having a really nice time in here, as kids would love all of the handles, levers and role-play on offer.

Our host, Kyle, was delightful and cannot be faulted for his enthusiasm, so the additional star is for him!

Andy100Rob rated this:Rated between 15 and 15 out of 5
Played: 17/09/2022 Team size: 4 Time taken: 45 mins Outcome: Successful escape!

Walking in and the room looked good. That's the last good bit.

There weren't clues as such, just random things to touch. Solving one puzzle didn't lead on to the next and it just seemed confused.

When we left the room, we needed the games master to explain how we'd won and how we'd solved half the puzzles. It didn't make sense.

I would not advise anyone do this room. It doesn't flow, the puzzles aren't clear puzzles, the solutions aren't obvious when you've completed them, the next step is just a fumble in the dark.

We managed to complete the room, then when the games master explained some clues, we'd missed two clues completely, yet the room had opened the next clues. It just didn't make sense. 

The voice overs aren't useful, they don't add anything to the game play and point you in the wrong directions. 

Avoid.

Anonymous expert rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 1 Jun 2022 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivegreat hosting

Room looks great, great host but one puzzle let it down where the correct match was broken and has been replaced with something that doesn’t look the same so we had to guess. Host was aware that it was very different and that the only way to complete it was to guess!

See also