Escape Quest: Mr Copplestone’s Curiosity Shoppe

By | July 30, 2021

by Escape Quest (website)

Chapelgates, 84b Mill Street, Macclesfield, Cheshire, SK11 6NR

01625 437437

Macclesfield

2-10 players

Languages: EN

60 minutes

Winner of a 2023 TERPECA awardWinner of a 2022 TERPECA award

Mr Copplestone aka “The Professor” is an inventor. His greatest invention is the world’s first time machine, built so he could travel through space and time to find interesting objects and life saving potions to sell in his curiosity shoppe.

The time machine is powered by Time Echo Crystals, these crystals are rare and only a small quantity exist in the world.  Without them the time machine won't work.

Such a precious commodity must be stored & guarded carefully to ensure the future of time travel can continue. There's just one problem with that - Mr Copplestone!

He may be a genius, but he's the most forgetful man you could ever meet.  This morning when he opened his box of Time Echo Crystals he found only one left inside, where could he have put them?

Mr Copplestone and his wife Margaret live on Chapel Street in the year 1873.  We can't rely on Mr Copplestone finding the missing crystals alone so if you're brave enough to jump into his time machine and use the last remaining crystal we have to head to 1873 you could save the future of time travel.

. However the time entry vortex is weak and can only stay open for one hour, get back inside before it closes and bring any crystals you find with you so we can keep them safe back in the future ready for our next time travelling adventure.

show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:




If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Overall rating

Rated between 4.5 and 5 out of 5

based on ratings from 52 users
combined with 5 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

Smith² expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
beautifuloriginalstory-drivenquite difficult
Another brilliant game from Escape Quest! This was the fourth one we've done here and it was perfect. Just when we thought we'd seen everything they could offer, they pull the rug out from under us and surprise us all over again!
Cannot wait for what they do in their new one. 
🔐James Bloodworth expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 30/04/2022 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulstory-drivengreat hosting

The idea of puzzle quests has grown considerably with “Daylight Robbery” at Cryptology and “UI-55” at Compendium.  This is a similar idea where you have a considerable number of puzzles to solve in order to find time crystals.  The setting is amazing and reminiscent of “Loot the Lanes”, the more crystals you find then other shops open up to you.  Not all shops will as the overall game will change every so often almost guaranteeing repeat visits (I know I will).  A massive range of puzzles from obvious searches to cunning logic puzzles, audio driven ones and observational.  

TheDreamTeam experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 11 Jan 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 60 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivestory-drivengreat hosting

Our first ever escape room and what an introduction it was. Only after completing many rooms after this one do we appreciate how good this quest was.

A great expansive setting where you can see the love that has been put into every detail, nothing seems out of place and all the puzzles fit the room nicely. 

A must visit for anyone.

Anonymous expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulcleverepicquite difficult
BenMill experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Team size: 3 Outcome: Successful escape!
cleverimmersivegreat hosting
🌵Juliette B expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 20 Jun 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 23 crystals Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersivegreat hosting

Loved loved loved this game. Looks beautiful, lovely owners, great game hosting - so much to do. Outstanding. 

Catherine K experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 10 Jul 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 20 crystals Outcome: Successful escape!
cleverimmersivegreat hosting

Finally made it to Escape Quest after hearing about it for several years and we were not disappointed! A brilliant company with enthusiastic and friendly owners. We loved this game, it was a lot of work and fun for a team of 2 but it was 60 minutes of joy. 

Adam Bravery expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 29 Jun 2022 Team size: 3 Time taken: 30 Time Echo Crystals Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersiveintensequite difficult

Fantastic game with non-stop action and superb puzzles. Set design was spot on and our host Elaine was super friendly and gave helpful nudges when needed. Perhaps wish it was less padlock heavy but generally you knew which puzzle related to which padlock and all the puzzles were great fun, clever, and well signposted. Otherwise can't fault the room; it's amazing and absolutely worth playing. 

Jen Wells (Get Wells Soon) expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Team size: 2 Time taken: 25 crystals Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersivegreat hosting

Flawless. The most beautiful, immersive and well-constructed game we have ever played, with incredible hosting to boot. This is the gold standard of escape rooms.

Anonymous experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Team size: 3 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulgreat hosting
Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

Escape Quest in Macclesfield was one of the first operators in the UK. Mr Copplestone’s Curriosity Shoppe is quite a unique and challenging scenario for up to 10(!) people. I would recommend three to five players.

I particularly liked the game concept where all teams, regardless of experience level, are fully engaged for the entire 60 minutes. Given the non-linear puzzle structure, this applies to every single player! Puzzle lovers will get their money’s worth here.

This is a NEW review for the 2021 Newly opened version of Mr Copplestone!

The puzzles are brilliant and varied; the space is visually stunning; we had one of the most fun escape experiences we have ever had with this room; Mike and  Elaine have created a super original; innovative concept with this room; the game is exceptionally immersive and we can’t think of another room quite like it! As they are outstanding in every category for which we award, we have decided to award Mr Copplestone’s Curiosity Shoppe a Badge of Honour, our highest award, which we think is incredibly well deserved for the hard work and love Mike and Elaine put into their rooms.
I feel that I have to write this review quickly, mostly because the more I like a room the quicker I want to relive it in my write-up. And I really, really, really liked this room.
So good we had to play it twice! Click the link to read our review!

Lists

This game is part of the following user-created game lists:
  • Best UK escape rooms 2022 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2022, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 
  • Best UK escape rooms 2023 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2023, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 
  • Midlands games to play by 🏆Annagramma expert

    For those who want to get together for some games. Try and keep them north of Oxford and south of Manchester but outliers are ok if we all want to do them!

See also