Compendium Escape Rooms: UI-55

By | October 30, 2019

by Compendium Escape Rooms (website)

1a Crompton St, BL9 0AD

Bury

2-12 players

Languages: EN

60 minutes

60 minutes to salvage as much of Britain's wealth as possible.
Has your team got what it takes?
show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:




If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Overall rating

Rated between 4 and 5 out of 5

based on ratings from 58 users
combined with 4 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

A Blacksmith expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 11 Feb 2024 Team size: 2 Time taken: 52 bags Outcome: Successful escape!
immersiveintenseepic
Very much an Epic room, so much to do. As a team of 2, it was tough but we made it, I would recommend a team of 4 or 6, unless you like a lot of cardio.  Worth it's reputation.  
Joe Brown expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 3 Apr 2022 Team size: 4
Crystal Maze meets Escape room with a tonne of puzzles to do across a big set, perfect for keen enthusiasts
roberts0502 experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 7 Dec 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 59:00 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalimmersiveactive
MerseyMarauders expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
clevergreat hostingintense
TheDreamTeam experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 14 May 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 60 Outcome: Successful escape!
hi-techcleverepic

Very original concept and such an exciting game to play. Tons of puzzles and great hosts.

PurpleB expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
🌵Juliette B expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 19 Jun 2022 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalcleverintense

So many things to do - claim as much treasure as you can in one hour. We (understandably) did not do the whole lots playing as a two but we certainly had a great time! Absolutely worth a play. 

thehermit experienced rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 6 Nov 2021 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalcleverfamily friendly

As our first collection type game, we really enjoyed the different take on an escape room. 

However, we played as a team of two, and there was a certain aspect in the game which would make completing the game on unattainable. However this aspect was swapped out during our gameplay which made it a little easier.

After playing a few other collectible games in the UK, I would still recommend you UI 55 but you can now tell this was one of the first as other companies have built on different aspects.

Anonymous rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 29 Feb 2020 Team size: 3 Outcome: Successful escape!

One of the best games I've ever played. So much to do, so well themed...absolutely brilliant room that I could recommend to everyone who has ever played an escape game.

Anonymous rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 14 May 2022 Team size: 4 Time taken: 60 Outcome: Successful escape!
value for moneyhi-techintensequite difficult

Unbelievable again from the guys at compendium, a very different type of game and I think I like it. The brief is in depth and explains the game nicely then you are left to it to try and complete as many puzzles as possible in the hour and what a mix of puzzles there are. Honestly a must play for anyone.

Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

Of Compendium’s (currently) four games, UI-55 stands apart, right near the top of enthusiasts’ rankings for best U.K. games. It’s also very different in style: where the others are well suited for an experienced pair, UI-55 is a score-based game where you’ll probably want at least three if not four, if you’re aiming to get through anything like all of it.

With my usual disregard for the finer points of the plot, I’d boil this one down to: you’re on a submarine, there’s a bunch of loot, get as m...

Never have I ever seen this many puzzles crammed into a room. UI-55 isn’t your traditional escape room, but if you’re in the mood for puzzles, puzzles, and more puzzles, mixed with an insane amount of fun, you can’t go wrong with this game.

This is a short review because the verdict is simple. This is a must-play room, and we are awarding it our highest award; The Badge of Honour.

Lists

This game is part of the following user-created game lists:
  • Best UK escape rooms 2022 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2022, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 
  • Best UK escape rooms 2021 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms (out of 1600) in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2021, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 
  • Best UK escape rooms 2023 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2023, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 

See also