The Escape Room Guys: The Grand Heist

By | July 29, 2019

by The Escape Room Guys (website)

1-5 Iron Gate, DE1 3FJ

Derby

2-7 players

Languages: EN

60 minutes

Your target is a high security bank based in Derby. A large deposit has been tracked so it is time to get the old team back together for one final heist. You have just 60 minutes worth of access to the facility. Use your time wisely.
show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:




If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Overall rating

Rated between 3.5 and 4.5 out of 5

based on ratings from 15 users
combined with 2 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

SpontaneousIllusion expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
value for moneygreat hostingepic
A Good fun game! Brilliant games host, the set themselves aren't anything to blow you away however the game play is really nice within this game!
Pegz241 rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 1 Sep 2020 Team size: 2
essentialatom experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 9 Jul 2023 Team size: 2 Time taken: 56:10, all 15 bars Outcome: Successful escape!
value for moneygreat hosting

A lovely heist game that has you solving a set of puzzles to crack into safe deposit boxes for gold bars. As with the other rooms here, economical set design and decor that isn't overloaded with detail - but you'll find yourself running all over the place to investigate it. Really good fun. I can imagine with a larger group it would be total chaos too. 

Lotsa Locks experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 27 Dec 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 60 Outcome: Successful escape!
value for moneyclevergreat hosting

Escaped with 13 out of 15 gold bars

🤘The Pick of Destiny expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Catherine K experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 10 Sep 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 60 Outcome: Successful escape!
great hostingfamily friendly

We like a good heist and we enjoyed this room, we did our usual overthinking on some puzzles but we got there in the end!

A mixture of puzzles but there was quite a few maths puzzles which helps if you have someone good with numbers in your team. 

gimiabreakout experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 15 Mar 2020 Team size: 6 Outcome: Successful escape!
Team Tonks experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 26 Jun 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 55 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivegreat hostinggood puzzles

There are lots of puzzles in this one game. It isn't just about escaping but "stealing" as much gold as possible. The puzzles at the end we really enjoyed as they were very varied. All of the puzzles were related to the bank theme. The gamesmaster was really good and didn't just push clues, we required no clues in this room. 

🔐James Bloodworth expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 23/04/2022 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulgreat hostingfamily friendly
Bank Heists are not a new theme, but rarely have I enjoyed one as much as this.  This is a delightful game that plays incredibly smoothly and with a range of puzzles.  The first part is a relatively normal linear game but the game changes and becomes a puzzle fest of how much can you steal.  Theming is simple but effective, puzzles vary in difficulty (I would argue even one of the decryption tools is a puzzle!).  Nothing here will probably surprise you but this is a great game for both beginner and experienced player.  Our GM was Adam who expertly nudged back on course and was great throughout.  As others have said, this feels a but like an undiscovered gem when compared to its more well known games in Derby but it well worth a visit, we had a great time.
Simon (The Overthinkers) expert rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 15 Jan 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 54:11 Outcome: Successful escape!
Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

An expertly designed game, which functions with a “Collect as much as you can” mechanic rather than a strict escape.
This is such a good method of game play as escape rooms are getting more well known, so returning and experienced players are becoming a lot more commonplace. This room will serve to satisfy both newbies and enthusiasts.
The Escape Room Guys have created a really authentic game that uses its space really well. It’s a great take on a heist game that gives it a different feel and doesn’t have a laser maze like so many others. The first half will be an enjoyable experience for enthusiasts although not hard but the second half will certainly test your grey matter. It’s certainly made us want to go back and try their other two games.

Lists

This game is part of the following user-created game lists:

See also