The Escape Room Guys: The Grand Heist

By | July 29, 2019

by The Escape Room Guys (website)

1-5 Iron Gate, DE1 3FJ

Derby

2-6 players

60 minutes

Your target is a high security bank based in Derby. A large deposit has been tracked so it is time to get the old team back together for one final heist. You have just 60 minutes worth of access to the facility. Use your time wisely.
show full description

Overall rating

Rated between 35 and 40 out of 5

based on ratings from 8 users
combined with 2 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

Team Tonks rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 26 Jun 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 55 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivegreat hostinggood puzzles

There are lots of puzzles in this one game. It isn't just about escaping but "stealing" as much gold as possible. The puzzles at the end we really enjoyed as they were very varied. All of the puzzles were related to the bank theme. The gamesmaster was really good and didn't just push clues, we required no clues in this room. 

🔐James Bloodworth expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 23 Apr 2022 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulgreat hostingfamily friendly
Bank Heists are not a new theme, but rarely have I enjoyed one as much as this.  This is a delightful game that plays incredibly smoothly and with a range of puzzles.  The first part is a relatively normal linear game but the game changes and becomes a puzzle fest of how much can you steal.  Theming is simple but effective, puzzles vary in difficulty (I would argue even one of the decryption tools is a puzzle!).  Nothing here will probably surprise you but this is a great game for both beginner and experienced player.  Our GM was Adam who expertly nudged back on course and was great throughout.  As others have said, this feels a but like an undiscovered gem when compared to its more well known games in Derby but it well worth a visit, we had a great time.
Simon (The Overthinkers) expert rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 15 Jan 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 54:11 Outcome: Successful escape!
Mark Greenhalgh expert rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Anonymous rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 14 Aug 2021 Team size: 6 Time taken: 42:00 Outcome: Successful escape!
non-escapeunoriginal

Nice escape room after a long spell away due to lockdown. Got all bars within the time, and although we were apprehensive to perform certain actions we were kindly put at ease by the host. 

MissLoopyLou93 experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 21 Sep 2019 Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
clevergreat hosting

Some great puzzles here, and a different take on escaping. 

smudgepuss rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 16 Feb 2020 Team size: 4 Time taken: n/a Outcome: Successful escape!

Really enjoyed this room.  One thing to bear in mind if you're after the thrill of the escape is that you're trying to steal as many of the 12 gold bars as you can from their locked safety deposit boxes before the Police arrive.  Therefore it's more of a 'room entry' game with a score out of 12 than a 'room escape' game.  This does also mean that even though the room is rated as 'hard', even with a less experienced group, you'll probably still get into the vault, and it's a question of how much you steal.

I felt that the room was thematically strong - it did feel like it could be a small branch of a random independent bank!  Albeit one with  very poor security procedures...  There is one thing that you have to do that is thematically out of line with a heist (so we didn't do it for about 5 minutes), that then also doesn't work in the way that is would in a bank (in operation or location), which was a bit of a shame.  We did manage to make one critical part of the equipment freeze and had to have the GM come in to fix it, which I've taken half a star off for (particularly as it sounded like a not uncommon issue and could be addressed with reprinting a sign).

I was impressed that our GM was honest enough to recommend that we *didn't* do their easiest game based on our performance in this one.

And we'll be forever annoyed about not managing to get the 12th gold bar.

Arjay Henshall expert rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Played: 02/08/2019 Team size: 2 Time taken: 60 Outcome: Successful escape!

Reviews by escape room review sites

An expertly designed game, which functions with a “Collect as much as you can” mechanic rather than a strict escape.
This is such a good method of game play as escape rooms are getting more well known, so returning and experienced players are becoming a lot more commonplace. This room will serve to satisfy both newbies and enthusiasts.
The Escape Room Guys have created a really authentic game that uses its space really well. It’s a great take on a heist game that gives it a different feel and doesn’t have a laser maze like so many others. The first half will be an enjoyable experience for enthusiasts although not hard but the second half will certainly test your grey matter. It’s certainly made us want to go back and try their other two games.

Lists

This game is part of the following user-created game lists:

See also