Enigma Rooms Doncaster: Hostage

By | March 20, 2019

by Enigma Rooms Doncaster (website)

37 Hall Gate, DN1 3NR

Doncaster

2-6 players

60 minutes

You and your team have been captured and placed in confinement, you only have 60 minutes to escape before you are taken for interrogation! This room is great for families with kids but it is dark to start with.
show full description

Overall rating

Rated between 25 and 40 out of 5

based on ratings from 10 users

Your review

Player reviews

shona panks experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivegreat hosting

Really enjoyed the room purely because our 7 year old could play a scary room but wasnโ€™t actually too scared. Looked after and it was enjoyable. 

The Monkey expert rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 4 May 2022 Team size: 3 Time taken: 43 Outcome: Successful escape!
quite easy

Relatively easy, played with a 7 year old who wasn't scared. Simple format of a room

Jack Thompson rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Played: 3 Jun 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 32 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivegreat hostingfamily friendlyquite easy

Quite a straight forward fun but good fun! Would be great with kids

Anonymous rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
funsupport rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 26 Mar 2022 Team size: 3 Time taken: 32
clevergreat hostingepic

Fab room which has excellent theming and some interesting and clever puzzles to solve. 

Mark Crossley rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 27 Aug 2020 Team size: 3 Time taken: 31:42 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalgreat hostingfamily friendlyquite easy

We found this one quite easy, I think that it is the starter recommended game at Doncaster.  We did vists during / post Covid rules so some of the experience may have been reduced based on the 'new rules'.  Still a good game and one to try...

LockAndMe rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Played: 18 May 2018 Team size: 3 Outcome: Successful escape!
great hostingfamily friendlyquite easy

So this is the easier room of Doncaster's Enigma of the four they have available, and despite the name, is family friendly (other than a bit of darkness at the beginning) Speaking to our host Nick, this seems to be the game that kids, for whatever reason, just love, and come out 'buzzing'. 

For us, at this point, we'd played a few escape rooms, and the puzzle were fairly easy (probably another reason kids love it) but were not too easy, and we did get stumped on one thing for a good 10 minutes before the penny dropped. There is also one aspect of this game that I have never seen, and at time of writing this, still havent seen, in any other escape room, for those that have played it, you already know, but it was genius, and although this was another part of the game that stumped us, we certainly applauded Enigmas thinking on it. 

Like I say, for enthusiasts, its probably going to be an easy game, basic build, but still clever, theming sort of irrelevant, as the storyline is you've been taken hostage and thrown in a dark room...but still works, ideal for first timers, and families that are not scared of the dark. 

Mark Greenhalgh expert rated this:Rated between 15 and 15 out of 5
Played: 05/11/18
๐Ÿ”James Bloodworth expert rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 2020-10-10 00:00:00 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
Having been taken prisoner is always a fun theme to explore and this makes the most of the opportunity, like other rooms, nothing may surprise an enthusiast but there are still a couple of moments that may raise a smile.
๐Ÿฆกcipherdelic virtuoso rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5

Reviews by escape room review sites

See also

Other versions of this game:(Different copies of the same game sometimes have significant differences.)