Tulleys Escape Rooms & Games: The Outfitters

By | March 20, 2019

by Tulleys Escape Rooms & Games (website)

Turners Hill Road, Turners Hill, RH10 4PE

Crawley

2-8 players

60 minutes

It's 1926 here in Chicago, and depression is still rife. Jobs are few and far between and the Prohibition has been in force for six years now. Everyone still drinks, nothin' has changed. But now the mob control the streets, the supply and the money. The influence of the Outfit is far reaching. Most of the cops are even under their control. Who can put them in the joint? You can, that's who.
The Commissioner has put together a special task force of straight, trusted cops and you're on the team. You've spent the last few months infiltrating their network and now tonight is the night to get the evidence you need to put them away forever. But it won't be easy, and you might not make it out alive.
Do you have what it takes?
show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:




If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Overall rating

Rated between 4 and 4.5 out of 5

based on ratings from 65 users
combined with 13 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

AJ’s expert rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 5 Aug 2020 Team size: 2 Time taken: 57:39 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersivequite difficult
A huge game with a great mix of puzzles! Real adventure style game as you travel through with some great sets and reveals! 
Anouska123 rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
🦡cipherdelic virtuoso rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Outcome: Successful escape!

After playing the newer rooms at Tulleys I was surprised at the amount of space in Outfitters that just wasn't used. Well themed puzzles but the whole mission seemed to be lacking somewhat against the other Tulleys rooms.  Its a great room, and can hold its own against most of the UK rooms, but its surrounded by brilliance.
Great fun. 

🔐James Bloodworth expert rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 27/11/2021 Team size: 3 Time taken: 49:12 Outcome: Successful escape!
The weakest entry at Tulleys and one of the oldest, it does feel a bit tired compared to other rooms but there's still some solid puzzles here and still worth your time, I don't think the puzzle theming is as good as other rooms.
Ronnie Meade experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
cleverimmersive
There is an abundance of puzzles in this room and a good challenge (especially as a team of 2) with all types of skills needed as well as teamwork. A well thought out and engineered game with more rooms than expected. Some great elements also making this an excellent room
Nichola Morrison experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!

Good room, nice to find a Tulley's room suitable for two people

MightyMidds experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 18 Oct 2021 Team size: 2 Time taken: 52 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivestory-drivenquite difficult
markb experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 1 Oct 2021 Team size: 2 Time taken: 53:08 Outcome: Successful escape!
quite difficult

Played this on the same game as Mutiny and equally as challenging to complete as a 2, very happy to have done so as apparently more puzzles in this room than in Mutiny. As with the other room, great design and staging, a huge space in which to complete all the challenges.

ratsontour expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Team size: 3 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersive
😺Lianne experienced rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 4 Sep 2021 Team size: 5 Time taken: 44 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivepoor hosting

This is a fun game, the main strength of which is the growing scale as the experience unfolds. Some of the puzzles were quite unique, but most were familiar and nothing that we hadn't seen elsewhere. 

Unfortunately we felt the experience was let down by odd GM-ing. We were given confusing and unprompted clues at the wrong time (e.g. while solving an existing puzzle). It felt as if we were being hurried along, without even having a chance to look for and solve puzzles ourselves.  One of the lock codes in the room had been set incorrectly, which staff confirmed when we reported it later. The GM didn't notice we'd punched in the right number and it wasn't opening - we only solved the lock by scrolling the final digit either side of the correct number, just in case. After the game ended we didn't get exact confirmation of our time, like you normally would. 

It was hard not to compare it to the quality of the other game at Tulleys we've done, including one of our all time favourite games, Mutiny.  Outfitters is probably normally a solid good room (7/10)  but our specific experience was not great (6/10).

Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

The world of scare attractions is not one I'm particularly familiar with, but apparently Tulleys Farm is well known there for their Shocktober event every Halloween. They've now expanded into escape rooms as well, with two rooms now open; The Outfitters was the first one we tried, and it has a 1920s Prohibition setting. You're faced with a gentleman's clothing store suspected of being a front for a bootleg bar, and need to find your way in so you can bust the Mob owners.

As with many games, the...

An impressive first outing for a team with plenty of experience in immersion and theatre but no background in puzzles. Outfitters is a beautiful game with solid puzzles that is about as expansive as they come - I'd highly recommend heading down if you get the chance.
Probably the third best room at Tulleys, strangely we found this one harder than Nethercott Manor despite this being classed as easier by Tulleys
We managed to escape with a respectable 19mins remaining and an eagerness to sink our teeth into the next one (after lunch). Although this wasn’t a bad room, I’d say it was fairly average, and if this was the only room we’d done…I would have been disappointed.
We head back to prohibition Chicago to uncover the mob. Do we escape with our lives?

Fantastic theming in this room and each reveal throughout was just perfection, we couldn’t think of anything it was missing and the result of course is that 10/10 you see for immersion.

A wide array of puzzles that kept us all busy the whole time we were in there and appealed to our various strengths, it’s one of those rooms where if you’re struggling on something call your team mates!

This experience wasn’t quite as packed with puzzles as our other plays of the day but there was still room for a lot of originality and the big puzzle (you’ll know it when you see it!) was very impressive and very thoughtfully planned out.
A game with immaculate theming, excellent puzzles and a large amount of space to explore. An exciting game that constantly surprised.

A really well designed room really fitting in with the theme, some tricky puzzles, but a really good variety of puzzles. 4 distinct sections which kept all 4 of us busy throughout. Thoroughly worth the visit. 

A gentleman’s tailor as a cover for The Mob is a creative spin on Prohibition-era crime games, and the theme works really well, with a series of reveals taking the team deeper into the secret society

Although maybe not as exciting to play as the venue’s other game Mutiny, this is still a very solid experience and ranks up there as one of the top games we have played. It’s puzzles, theme and decor marry together perfectly to create a seamless experience. There is no doubt that these guys are at the top of their game and are one of the companies to look up to in the industry.

One of the best rooms I’ve done, and definitely up there for difficulty. Bring along multiple friends – you won’t be short of puzzles to solve!

Lists

This game is part of the following user-created game lists:
  • Best UK escape rooms 2022 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2022, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 
  • Best UK escape rooms 2021 by Escape the Review virtuoso

    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms (out of 1600) in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2021, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 

See also

Other copies of this game in other locations:(Different copies of the same game sometimes have significant differences.)