Marvo Mysteries: M.A.R.V.O. Induction

By | March 20, 2019

by Marvo Mysteries (website)

664 Christchurch Road

Bournemouth

2-8 players

Languages: EN

60 minutes

3 copies
What if Fairy Stories were more real than you ever imagined? If the power to destroy the world was hidden in a small trinket and that trinket had been lost to history, only remembered in an old bed time story. Would you try to recover it for the good of all?
Find out if you have what it takes to become a full M.A.R.V.O Agent!
Book your M.A.R.V.O INDUCTION Now
show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:





If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Promotional offer

10% off with code SUNDAYFUNDAY
10% OFF Sundays! Use voucher code SUNDAYFUNDAY (4-8 Players)

Overall rating

Rated between 4 and 5 out of 5

based on ratings from 34 users
combined with 5 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

spbc expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 29 Jun 2022 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
hi-techimmersivegreat hosting
Jo Keen-Roberts / Reptons experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 23 Aug 2022 Team size: 5 Time taken: 59 Outcome: Successful escape!
hi-techoriginalgreat hostingquite difficult

Definitely lived up to the reviews, however like others have said I think we were in 5th gear the entire time we had no idea of the storyline.  This doesn't really bother us though. Felt quite chuffed to escape at their 41% success rate with an average of 8 clues when we only had 1 (we're usually terrible ๐Ÿ˜‚) 

Spanishfleas experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Team size: 3 Outcome: Successful escape!

Absolutely fantastic and worth a visit. The people behind this place are wonderful.

โ˜•Joe Brown expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 05/08/17 Team size: 3
Great set, great tech really worth a play if you're in the area. Some impressive automation. Story was a little confusing and a couple puzzles weren't clear, but some great mechanics and clue delivery
furiouslycurious experienced rated this:

Was ok

lc86 rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Anonymous rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Lisa Cregg rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 28/10/20 Team size: 4 Time taken: 44 Outcome: Successful escape!

We ended a mini escape room holiday with Marvoโ€™s and what a finale it was! 

As soon as we got to the venue the high levels of detail and quality were event just from the shop front. The fun began immediately, having to follow the clues to the secret entrance where we were greeted by atmospheric music that set the tone for what was to come. The waiting area was a true feast for the eyes with a cacophony of film artefacts, building on the pending excitement for the room. Our games master, Lizzie, was clearly passionate about the business and made us feel very welcome. 

Onto the room, we knew that Lizzie and her husband had designed all of it themselves and this made it even more impressive to us. The room was packed full of engaging puzzles; creative, logical, physical, etc. As well as this, the setting, props and automated mechanics were outstanding. As a drama teacher, I often friend the pre-escape instruction videos cringeworthy with poor acting, however, this was not the case, and it was further enhanced by the setting and projection technique. The narrative of the room was well thought through and clearly linked to all of the puzzles; whatโ€™s even better is that they are planning to extend the narrative with two future rooms! 

After we complete an escape room, we always have a debrief and we are very critical. However, we were full of praise in our debrief, with the only niggle being a loose wire connection holding us back in one of the puzzles - absolutely minimal and it did not stop us from escaping. 

We highly recommend this room and advise you to split up and communicate effectively with your team. 

Escape Enthusiast expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Team size: 3 Outcome: Successful escape!
cleverstory-drivenintense

A fantastic game with a great variety of puzzles and plenty of theatre. There's a lot of drama once the game progresses and the finale is something to behold. It's simply one of the best rooms in the uk. Engaging and enjoyable puzzles with a great theme to back them up. I can't wait for chapter 2!

abunai expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5

Aesthetically very appealing. Certainly a must do for enthusiasts but not without its flaws (I really didn't understand the story).

Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

The holy grail of escape room theming is to make the players feel like they've been transported to a different place or time. Marvo delivers that, even from before the game itself starts.

After getting the initial basic game rules briefing out the way, you're led through a door into what feels like the sanctum of a secret society, where the proper briefing takes place. This takes place with the operator in character, and with the help of a high quality video briefing.

The decor progress...

A game that excels in almost every department - puzzles, story telling, automation, design, introduction and, of course, fun. One of the very best games I've played - if you're ever within striking distance of Bournemouth, do yourself a favour and head on down.
Donโ€™t wait for a special occasion to play this game, get booked in now, you most definitely wonโ€™t regret it.
Itโ€™s fair to say there was a lot of pressure on Marvo. It was the reason for our trip to the south coast, a game thatโ€™s eluded us for a while by virtue of just being so far away, yet spoken about in hushed (or sometimes very loud) tones by fellow bloggers as one of the greatest games in the country. It was certainly the only game in the country spoken about in this way that I had not yet played. The reason I point that out is that I find myself disagreeing: itโ€™s a great game, but itโ€™s not quite up there with the best for us.
The City Adventurers are often tasked with recovering mysterious artifacts so it was not surprising that we found ourselves preparing for another mission, this time as M.A.R.V.O agents.....one of the best games we've played

Lists

This game is part of the following user-created game lists:
  • Best UK escape rooms 2022 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2022, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 
  • Best UK escape rooms 2021 by Escape the Review virtuoso

    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms (out of 1600) in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2021, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 

  • Best UK escape rooms 2023 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2023, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 

See also