Compendium Escape Rooms: Laboratory

By | March 20, 2019

by Compendium Escape Rooms (website)

1a Crompton St, BL9 0AD

Bury

2-6 players

Languages: EN

60 minutes

now closed
You and your friends have been trusted by your uncle a retired medical professor to find and steal the Laboratory’s well-kept secret remedy needed to cure his wife Isabel. You have been you have been entrusted with all the information you need to gain entry to the lab but no idea how to find the antidote undetected and once inside you find yourselves trapped by the auto lock doors. Do you have what it takes to save a life and escape the lab with the antidote?
show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:





If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Overall rating

Rated between 3.5 and 4 out of 5

based on ratings from 27 users
combined with 5 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

spbc expert rated this:Rated between 4 and 4 out of 5
Played: 21 Sep 2021 Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
great hosting
knoh39 experienced rated this:Rated between 4.5 and 4.5 out of 5
Played: 2 Mar 2024 Team size: 2 Time taken: 54.00 Outcome: Successful escape!
cleverimmersivegreat hosting
We were the last ever team to play this game! So glad we got to play, great room and lots of puzzles to keep us both busy. 
A Blacksmith expert rated this:Rated between 3.5 and 3.5 out of 5
Played: 11 Feb 2024 Team size: 2 Time taken: 35:38 Outcome: Successful escape!
clevergreat hostingfamily friendly
For a room that's closing, we really liked it. Lot's of different puzzles, good sign posting. Just a solid escape room.  I would recommend visiting before it closes.
samsham experienced rated this:Rated between 3.5 and 3.5 out of 5
Played: 10 Feb 2024 Team size: 2 Time taken: 53:30 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivestory-drivenfamily friendly
TheAllatts rated this:Rated between 3.5 and 3.5 out of 5
Played: 23 Dec 2023 Team size: 4 Time taken: 51.47 Outcome: Successful escape!
value for moneygreat hosting

An enjoyable room with a great theme. A more linear game so less chance to split up as a team and work through puzzles. Great hosting with some added humour when it took us a while to figure out one of the puzzles.

TheCLAMS expert rated this:Rated between 4 and 4 out of 5
Played: 29 Oct 2023 Team size: 4 Time taken: ~29 mins Outcome: Successful escape!
immersive

The lab theme has been done to death but compendium just do it so well! Unique, fun puzzles with a great mix of physical and mental types. One of my fave puzzles I've ever done was in this room. Brilliant non-linear game so everyone always has something to do!

ashpf experienced rated this:Rated between 4.5 and 4.5 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
Jess_keds expert rated this:Rated between 3 and 3 out of 5
Outcome: Successful escape!
family friendlyplainold
AubreyB expert rated this:Rated between 3.5 and 3.5 out of 5
Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
matt_keds expert rated this:Rated between 3 and 3 out of 5
Played: 20 Aug 2022 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

It’s a premise both classic and rather topical: with a deadly disease spreading across the world, you must break into a laboratory to find the antidote. (There may well have been a good explanation for why the lab isn’t just releasing the antidote without any theft being necessary, but if that was covered in the briefing then I missed it…)

Lab is not Compendium’s oldest game, but visually looks like it might be, in that it’s the plainest of the four, probably because the theme lends itself to l...

A nice and bright room that felt very different to the other offerings at Compendium. This is a large space that could handle bigger teams, and has some really satisfying puzzles. Good fun.

When we entered the lab we found ourselves in a relatively large, clean room with plenty of sciencey artifacts lying around. The premise is simple; locate and recover the antidote for the deadly pandemic that is ravaging the planet (I swear this was launched long before Covid). We immediately split up and started searching for clues, locating a number of interesting items and numbers dotted about. The decor in the room was great – it played into the theme and there quite multiple times when something which initially appeared to be a prop turned into a key puzzle!

Compendium have done it again – another great room with excellently flowing puzzles that’s really fun to play.

See also