Escapologic: Reactorvate

By | March 20, 2019

by Escapologic Leicester (website)

2B St. Martins, LE1 5DB

Leicester

2-5 players

60 minutes

Your Great Uncle was once a leading scientist known for developing state of the art nuclear technology. In central Europe, during the late 1970’s, one of his experimental reactors went into meltdown as soon as it was activated, causing one of the most catastrophic disasters in modern history.
The government blamed him for the event, stating that his reactors were not safe to begin with, he was imprisoned for life and remains locked up to this day.
After receiving a letter from prison you have reason to believe he was framed by a fellow scientist and that the original reactor was tampered with.
Your only option is to break into an abandoned power plant located in rural Russia, find a second inactive reactor and start it up. If it is fully functional then you may just have the evidence to free an innocent man. If your Great Uncle is lying, then you may need to run for your life!
show full description

Overall rating

Rated between 35 and 45 out of 5

based on ratings from 13 users
combined with 8 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

Philip & Gemma rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 17 Mar 2018 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!

We played this room when it relatively new and didn't really know what to expect. It is a very physical room with theming that really makes you believe you are in a reactor. Mix this with impressive special effects and you are immersed in a panic to fix the reactor in the middle of Russia.

There are some elements of darkness in this game but it is short and very much part of the story, so we didn't mind this too much. 

This was the type of game that you feel you've taken forever and lost all concept of time, so we were very surprised to find that we had topped the leaderboard for our time (albeit this was towards the opening so hadn't been played hundreds of times). We felt challenged as a 2 and had lots to do. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and the phsyical elements, even though we are not usually fans.

Arjay Henshall expert rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 23 Apr 2022 Team size: 3 Time taken: 45 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersiveillogicalbroken tech😨creepy

Loved the theming of this room and the physicality of some of the puzzles. 

Unfortunately, some broken props/buttons and a solution that doesn’t fit the criteria we let downs 

robasmith rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Played: 10 Mar 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 56 mins Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivegreat hostingboringquite difficult😨creepy

After playing "The Gateway" at the same venue, which is the best room I've ever played, I was excited to head back to Escapologic a few days later to try Reactorvate. 

Frankly I didn't enjoy it very much. 

The theming is first class, not quite "Gateway" standard but still excellent, and the hosting was just as impressive (seems to be a running theme at Escapologic). 

The actual room itself (theming aside) was quite dull and 20 minutes were spent with the two of us split up, trying to solve one single puzzle. When we were back in group, we ended up stuck on another puzzle that resulted in myself sitting in a corner of the room and waiting for my partner to solve it. I really don't like puzzles that take a long time to solve as if you struggle with it, it ruins the rest of the experience. Those who enjoy these heavily logical style type of puzzles would really enjoy this room, but it just really wasn't for me. 

My partner also left feeling a little disappointed and said she'd give it a 6/10, which added to my 4/10, isn't great. 

Again, I must mention the hosting. The guys here are amazing and without doubt the best hosts I've come across. Alex was excellent, giving us hints at just the right time, and even some encouragement when he could see we were getting frustrated. 

While we did escape, it certainly wouldn't have been possible without the hints we received. 

You will be split up and spend some time in the dark. Final words of advice; read all of the material in the room! Also, you are given a hint before you enter. LISTEN TO THIS HINT AND REMEMBER IT! 

I'm still giving three stars as this is still a good room. The puzzles just didn't hit the sweet spot for me personally. But theming, hosting and the story are great. I can see why a lot of people love this room, it just wasn't for me. 

markb experienced rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Played: 4 Dec 2021 Team size: 2 Time taken: 46

The room has great theming and all the puzzles fit nicely, a lot of them are more physical style puzzles and the first task had us stumped for quite a while, but overall a fun game to play.

Team Tonks rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 16 Jan 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 44.49 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalcleverimmersivequite easy

Easier than Gateway or Chronos, but a really fun and immersive room in its own right with the same level of clever little tricks you'd expect of this company.

Mark Greenhalgh expert rated this:Rated between 30 and 30 out of 5
Played: 05/02/18
🔐James Bloodworth expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 25 Sep 2021 Team size: 3 Time taken: 47:08 Outcome: Successful escape!
hi-techimmersivegreat hosting
Great theming and in interesting story.  Despite its age, this room still compares really well to its more modern compatriots.  This room features a lot of physical puzzles but all in keeping with the theming of the room.  
🦡cipherdelic virtuoso rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Mike S expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Brian experienced rated this:Rated between 25 and 25 out of 5
Team size: 3 Outcome: Successful escape!
Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

Reactorvate eschews the obvious plot for a game set in a nuclear power station in favour of a more complicated premise: your great uncle was blamed for a catastrophic meltdown, and your aim is to sneak into the abandoned station, find data to clear his name, and get out before you’re caught.
This game’s most controversial decision is that one sequence leaves you in more or less total darkness. That initially seemed like a terrible idea, reducing us to fumbling our way around a large and complic...
My favourite games are those that completely immerse you in the world around you, particularly by forcing players to perform “real-world” tasks, and make you feel as though you are the star of your own film. Reactorvate did this, and more, and has firmly embedded itself in my mind as my favourite game at Escapologic’s Leicester branch (so far, at least).

The technology Reactorvate uses is great. You get to do physical puzzles, mental puzzle, observation puzzles…and you get to DO so much. We love a room that offers players the opportunity to really feel as though you are ‘doing’ the puzzling, rather than simply solving notes scribbled on a page. The whole thing had such a tactile feel as we lifted heavy objects and manipulated strange contraptions we’re all too young to know the true purpose of.

This isn’t an escape room – it’s a nuclear reactor simulator! A really great fun room with lots of dramatic moments.
This is my favourite of the 4 games at Escapologic Leicester. It doesn't feel like an escape rooms but it has all the joys of one. If you only have time to play one game, this would be my top choice if you aren't worried about a high level of difficulty. A must play.
Escapologic had us breaking into an abandoned nuclear power station and starting up the reactor in order to clear our great-uncle's sullied name... All in a day's work!

Lists

This game is part of the following user-created game lists:

See also