Case Closed: The Murder of Max Sinclair

By | January 26, 2023

by Case Closed (website)

1 Carpet Ln, Leith, Edinburgh EH6 6SS

Edinburgh

2-8 players

Languages: EN

90 mins
A private investigator was found dead in his office. The other cops say there was no foul play.
You're not like other cops.

What really happened here? What did Max discover? How did he die? Why?
We need you to find out.
show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:





If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Promotional offer

This offer is only available to Escape The Review patrons (Enthusiast tier or higher)

Overall rating

Rated between 4.5 and 5 out of 5

based on ratings from 34 users
combined with 1 pro review

Your review

Player reviews

oliviasheed rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 9/03/2023 Team size: 5
immersivestory-drivengreat hostingquite difficult
I've been to quite a few escape rooms, all over the country, and I can safely say that this was the best experiences I've ever had! The care and attention put into the story, makes you really feel like a detective! Probably the most involved narrative I've ever seen in a room, typically puzzles come before story but this is a perfect blend of the two. Some of the most imaginative use of props I've ever seen, and with a brilliant games master (Ronan!) to top it all off! I'll be dragging all my friends to play this room, and hopefully they can help crack the case!
maff16 rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 28 Jul 2023 Team size: 2 Time taken: 90 mins Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivestory-drivengreat hosting
This room was excellently hosted by Ronan and stands out as different to all of the other escape rooms we have done in that it felt much more immersive. The duration of 90 minutes allowed us to read through the evidence more carefully and made us feel as though we were solving a real crime. I would highly recommend this to all escape room enthusiasts.
elfgrunge experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 30 Jan 2023 Team size: 3 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalimmersivegreat hosting

Easily the best room I've ever played. I'm limited to three tags but I wish I could use more - immersive, epic, story driven, clever and incredibly original, with the most brilliant GM. I'm struggling to describe it without spoiling it, but it's unlike any other room I've seen, with some puzzles just feeling too good to be allowed. It's so brilliantly designed that it really earns the descriptor of "Feeling like a video game", or making the players feel like protagonists in a classic noir thriller. The story is engaging and evolves throughout the game, rather than being a throwaway justification at the start. I'll repeat what every other player also seems to be obsessed with: The ending. My god. The ending. 

๐Ÿ‘ฝbenjed rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 3 Mar 2023 Team size: 3 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivestory-drivengreat hosting
Julia Jacome rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Team size: 3 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalimmersivestory-driven

I had an absolutely incredible time at this escape room. It is unlike any room I've ever done and it is definitely a must do in edinburgh. 

ChellandtheVetos rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Team size: 3 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersiveintenseepic๐Ÿ˜จcreepy

Really enjoyed my game at case closed, was a really awesome immersive experience that put us right in the shoes of of a main character, thrilling exciting and a lot of fun!

Jonathan Millar rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
originalcleverimmersive
escape_racoon rated this:
Played: 1 May 2023 Team size: 2 Time taken: 89 minutes Outcome: Successful escape!
value for moneystory-drivengreat hostingquite difficult

One for enthusiasts - the game's master has put a lot of love into this and it shows. Theming is really good, not your bog standard detective's escape room

You won't be relying on just finding keys and codes, there's unique elements around the puzzles. I'd highly recommend giving this a go, it was a lot of fun

Anonymous rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Team size: 2 Time taken: 90 minutes Outcome: Successful escape!
originalimmersivegreat hostingquite difficult

Absolutely loved this jam-packed blockbuster of a game! The interwoven storyline and gameplay are unlike any other I've done. I'll admit, I wasn't sure about the theme when we booked, but there's much more to this one than meets the eye! If you've ever thought you'd make a good detective then you'll be hooked.

The GM (one of the owners) was superb; the interactions throughout the game were great fun and made it really immersive. It's the first room for this home-grown company and they've only been open a few months, but I enjoyed it just as much (if not more!) than some of the big-budget rooms I've played with larger businesses. The owners' talent and creativity really shines through in all aspects of this game, making it an unmissable experience in Edinburgh.

Solemn rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 4 May 2023 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalimmersivestory-driven๐Ÿ˜จcreepy

Wow this room absolutely blew me away! I heard a lot about it before I played and somehow it still managed to exceed all my expectations. Truly unlike any other room I've played, due in no small part to the dedication and incredible energy of its GM and creators. It encourages you to take your time and really immerse yourself in the storyline, uncovering layer after layer. The puzzles are well constructed and thought through, all feeling very natural in the environment. The room makes great use of lighting, music, and voice over to create ambience which shifts in accordance with the unravelling mystery. Truly an experience I will not forget, I cannot recommend it enough!

Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

Case Closed is without a doubt my new favourite room in Edinburgh. No- favourite in Scotland. And for that matter, a strong contender for my favourite in the UK. If I donโ€™t see Case Closed listed on the 2023 TERPECA nominations for the UK, Iโ€™ll be very surprised indeed.

Lists

This game is part of the following user-created game lists:
  • Best UK escape rooms 2023 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2023, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 

See also