Lucardo Manchester: The Orphanage

By | September 24, 2020

by Lucardo Manchester (website)

Virginia House, 5-7 Great Ancoats Street, M4 5AD

Manchester

2-5 players

Languages: EN

60 minutes

This game may scare you! PG rated may be unsuitable for younger players - Please call for more information. St Josephine’s Orphanage for Girls was once the finest educational facility in the North West. Today, the grand Victorian property stands empty, derelict and abandoned. Until now as the property stands up for auction by a local firm. You and your colleagues have been invited to enter the grade II listed site and evaluate its potential for developing it into a new, state of the art urban-living apartment complex. Tread carefully though, you wouldn’t be the first to walk its eerie halls and perhaps decide for yourselves that some doors are better left closed.
show full description

Overall rating

Rated between 35 and 45 out of 5

based on ratings from 13 users
combined with 1 pro review

Your review

Player reviews

Scotus0 experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 18 Oct 2021 Team size: 5 Time taken: 50:20 Outcome: Successful escape!
story-drivengreat hostingintense🧟terrifying

Sinister Sleuthing!

This ominous-sounding room looked perfect for our pre-Halloween escape.

Story

Head into the abandoned orphanage and evaluate its potential as a new apartment block…sounds straightforward enough, right?

Puzzles

More than sufficient in both theming and quantity. They require you to look, think and act!

Mise-en-scene

Gloomy and forsaken surroundings sustain a tense atmosphere throughout. There are surprises and some bone-chilling twists that punish you whenever you let your guard down.

Final Comments

I had a lot of fun in this one. Our host did a great job keeping us immersed in the story. We got out alive with 10 minutes to spare. Phew!

MerseyMarauders rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 7 Nov 2021 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalgreat hostingquite easy👻scary

Managed to play as a team of two. As experienced players, we found some puzzles simplistic.  - Still enjoyed the journey. 

wakeupdollydaydream experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Team size: 5 Outcome: Failed 🙁
originalfunnygreat hosting😨creepy

I really enjoyed this game. We really over thought a very simple puzzle (the floor game), we lost a lot of time and didn't get out. Apart from this puzzle I think the room was challenging and had some really good puzzles, without being too hard. I'm not a fan of using walkie talkies for clues, but I actually didn't mind it in this game. I loved the jump scares! They were really subtle which is so much better/creepier than someone just screaming at you in the dark (which I've experienced with other live actor escape rooms)

🔐James Bloodworth expert rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 17 Apr 2022 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
😨creepy
A creepy room with some fun puzzles that may have younger players scratching their heads as they have never heard of them!  It is dark but there is enough light to play the game as you progress in a roughly linear manner.  There’s a couple of puzzles that were slightly ambiguous in nature but we were clued effectively with just enough to nudge us in the right direction.  Your party is forced to split up at one point in one of the more atmospheric moments of the game.  Ultimately nothing here will surprise you but it’s a fun game to play none the less.
Simon (The Overthinkers) expert rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 17 Apr 2022 Team size: 3 Time taken: 47:26 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivestory-drivengreat hosting👻scary
Sabrina (The Overthinkers) expert rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Played: 17 Apr 2022 Team size: 3 Time taken: 47:26 Outcome: Successful escape!
intense🧟terrifying
Exotic Turtle experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 18 Sep 2021 Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalstory-driven👻scary
🦡cipherdelic virtuoso rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 18 Mar 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 56 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivestory-driven😨creepy

A great game to play for two enthusiasts as there is plenty for two to do. Wonderfully creepy (for me) and if you're that way inclined there are points where you'll scream.  The production is great, and the puzzles are very well-themed for an orphanage, with maximum creepiness factor throughout. A great adventure!     

Arjay Henshall expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 18 Sep 2021 Team size: 4 Time taken: 44 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalcleverstory-driven👻scary
thehermit experienced rated this:Rated between 35 and 35 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalcleverscary

A great room if you're easily scared!  - Some of the puzzles were very generic but puzzles aren't the point of this game... Play and enjoy!

Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

The Orphanage was just perfectly creepy, dilapidated and atmospheric

See also