Hounds Escape: Southern Dis-comfort

By | August 31, 2020

by Hounds Escape (website)

12 - 13 Queens Square, RH10 1DY

Crawley

2-6 players

Languages: EN

60 minutes

1992, Location: West Virginia

A conflict between two rival redneck clans dominates the Southern states. Dwayne’s redneck crew is known for 2 things: bikes and booze. They say that Dwayne’s moonshine is the best in the South.  Your gang however… ain’t got that much going for it to be honest. If only there was a way of getting your hands on some of that fabled hooch for yourself. You thinking what I’m thinking? It’s time for a good old fashioned break in! Lets just hope it doesn't turn into a break out...

show full description

Promotional offer

This offer is only available to Escape The Review patrons (Enthusiast tier or higher)

Overall rating

Rated between 45 and 50 out of 5

based on ratings from 14 users
combined with 3 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

jakea256 expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 18 Jun 2022 Team size: 4 Time taken: 37:39 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalgreat hosting

Lots of fun from start to finish. Brilliant GM in character as with all of the other Hounds games. Theming was really unique and lots of fun country / Deep South US references throughout. 

🏆Annagramma expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 18 Jun 2022 Team size: 4 Time taken: 37.39 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalfunnyepic

Absolutely superb space, brilliant theming, clever split start and a superbly dramatic ending. GM was brilliant, funny and engaging, just such fun and we only needed one hint half way. Didn't want to leave this world! Hounds is amazing all over!

abooth expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 11 Jun 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 46 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifuloriginalfunny

Brilliant stuff. Original style game, lots of fun twists and plenty to do.

benny1664 rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 29 May 2022 Team size: 4 Time taken: 39 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivestory-drivengreat hosting
Right from the moment you open the front door Hounds shows just how serious an operation it is.  An amazing waiting room and check in area, great characterisation from the GM and a great room with lots of new puzzles and a brilliant variety of things to get your head around.  Found it a bit easier than Questionable Ethics but both were great.
Charlotte Noble rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 2 Apr 2022 Team size: 4 Time taken: 53mins Outcome: Successful escape!
funnyimmersivegreat hosting

Brilliant fun and such an excellent set. 

Our host was just superb, in full costume and accent (!) - keeping us laughing and allowing us to figure things out without jumping in too soon, which is so often the case. 

Some really great surprise moments - had us smiling from start to finish!! 

markb experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 31 Dec 2021 Team size: 3 Time taken: 37 Outcome: Successful escape!

This is simply one of my favourite games to date, we played this second the day we were there and were so glad we had done, Questionable Ethics was a great starter, but Southern Discomfort for us was even more fun. The theme and set were both superb, puzzles were fun, fitted the theme really well and in a couple of places laugh out loud, I do enjoy a game that makes you laugh because it is genuinely funny. As with their other game, GM was great and stayed in character wonderfully. The ending is the so well done too, none of the "oh so that its" you can experience playing some games.

abunai expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5

An excellent experience in every aspect from arrival in to the cool bar/waiting area, the unique hosting, the beautifully themed game. It doesn't get much better than this.

Escape Enthusiast experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
laceyd87 experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 11 Sep 2021 Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalimmersive

We had a great time. Set was amazing and immersive. Great team working elements. 

Adam Bravery experienced rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 24 Dec 2021 Team size: 4 Time taken: 36:18 Outcome: Successful escape!
cleverimmersivegreat hostingquite easy

One of the best I've played! Really inventive puzzles and a great theme. Host was excellent and in character the whole time. Nothing bad to say about it, you'll have a blast

🦡cipherdelic virtuoso rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Outcome: Successful escape!
originalimmersivegreat hosting

My personal favourite at Hounds as the briefing was excellent, the host kept in character throughout our attempts of banter and distractions and got lots of laughs from our team. The puzzles were well themed and there's a great mix, all were logical with subtle signposting and a great finale. 

🔐James Bloodworth expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 27 Nov 2021 Team size: 3 Time taken: 46:30 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersivegreat hosting
Theming is on point, puzzles are appropriate, our host was intense (in a good way!).
Ronnie Meade experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivegreat hosting

Amazing themeing and design, host fully in character and adds to this. You start split up which I always enjoy as teamwork and communication are key as well as all parties feeling involved in puzzle solving. Logic and observation are beneficial here. The elements in the room and props are fun and fit seemlessly with the storyline and theme. Excellent room and hosts

Nichola Morrison experienced rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 13 Aug 2021 Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersivegreat hosting

Reviews by escape room review sites

Hounds Escape impressed us with their debut game, and their second may be even better (I can’t decide - it would be like choosing a favourite child if I had any). If you’re looking for an hour filled with amazing scenery, fantastic puzzles, and a whole lot of laughs, you won’t go wrong getting yourself over to Hounds Escape for a little Southern Discomfort.

This is a game that is going to please everyone who plays it, not only are the puzzles excellent, but the room is just so. much. fun.

The craziest and funniest hour of hill billy fun we could have imagines. One of our all time favourite rooms thanks to brilliant design, an awesome team and humour. Well worth a visit. 

Lists

This game is part of the following user-created game lists:
  • Best UK escape rooms 2021 by Escape the Review expert

    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms (out of 1600) in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2021, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 

See also