Escapologic: Robin of Lockskey

By | June 6, 2019

by Escapologic (website)

21 Castle Gate, NG1 7AQ

Nottingham

2-5 players

60 minutes

Your team are students at a prestigious university under the tutelage of the eccentric history professor, Dr. John Little.
Last he told you, he was close to finding the true location of Robin Hoods grave.
He believed Robin was buried here, under the old car park.
Unfortunately a building company recently purchased the land and they want to fill it in with concrete, unknowingly destroying one of the greatest finds in British history.
The professor was found trespassing on the site, looking for evidence of the grave and has been arrested. The task has been left to you.
The work is set to be started after the builders return from lunch in one hour.
Go down into the site, find Robins grave, bring evidence back up to the surface and stop them destroying history!
show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:




If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Overall rating

Rated between 4 and 4.5 out of 5

based on ratings from 47 users
combined with 6 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

spbc expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 5 Oct 2019 Team size: 4 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalimmersivegreat hosting
abunai expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
TheSinger expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalcleverimmersive

The use of space to create an exciting adventure is second to none. It really was such a fun and exciting game to play. Some interesting puzzle elements and reveals that if not seen before, having been a little underwhelmed with a couple of other games at this venue, this cheered me up a treat. Great game! In the top 10 on my list for sure.. for now.. 

The Monkey expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Outcome: Successful escape!
cleverimmersivefamily friendly

Love this game. I think the story doesn't necessarily fit as well as other themes would as it has potential to have a more fitting storyline but the originality was class. Probably won't experience many rooms similar

Mrs G expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Team size: 3 Time taken: 29.23
beautifuloriginalcleverquite easy

Absolutely fantastic game with some really unique touches, props and mechanics. Even though we escaped in fantastic time (with no clues) we didn't feel short-changed we just felt that we connected with the game and it was one of the best games we have played. 

Anonymous rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 27 Nov 2021 Team size: 3 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivestory-driven
Jess_keds expert rated this:Rated between 50 and 50 out of 5
Played: 2 Jun 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 33 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulstory-drivenplayful

Absolutely beautiful room with highly intricate and lovingly-made puzzles. Great craftsmanship seen throughout. Very playful room which kept our energy levels buzzing. Requires โ€˜out of the boxโ€™ thinking for some puzzles. We blazed through the room with almost half the time left on the clock. However, we did not feel short-changed as the experience was superb. Just wanted to add, the gentleman who spoke to us before this room (involved with marketing) was lovely and was knowledgeable on other locations around the UK. Always nice to chat to a fellow enthusiast before or after a room. 

matt_keds expert rated this:Rated between 45 and 45 out of 5
Played: 2 Jun 2022 Team size: 2 Time taken: 33 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulmagicalunique

#71

Another fantastic room in Nottingham, this was possibly the most unique we have done. Loads of unexpected twists and turns, despite the fact we escaped quickly we felt like we had our moneyโ€™s worth. The whole place felt like we were explorers! Top 5 room, the best weโ€™ve done at Escapologic as well. Perfect for a team of two.

Jemileh experienced rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Team size: 3 Outcome: Successful escape!
abooth expert rated this:Rated between 40 and 40 out of 5
Played: 21 May 2022 Team size: 3 Time taken: 34 Outcome: Successful escape!
beautifulimmersivestory-driven

We really liked this - it's got a real cinematic feel to it and was just really great fun.

Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

I narrowly missed out on the chance to play Lockskey the first time round, when it briefly opened and then closed again due to problems with the underground location (since when it's been completely revamped, so I believe is safe to play even if you did the original version).

Robin Hood is an obvious theme for a venue based in Nottingham, and I'd have expected something in bright primary colours with an archery motif. However, Escapologic's take is a lot more archaeological. The setting is mode...

Itโ€™s no surprise that someone in Nottingham finally created a Robin Hood themed game - It really was only a matter of time. Robin of Lockskey was the game I was most looking forward to on this visit to Escapologic, and it did not disappoint. Highly immersive, great puzzles, and totally adventurous, this is a must play game for sure. 
This room will thrill any history buff, Robin Hood fan (and you're in Nottingham so you'd better be!) or looking for a very atmospheric room with some clever tasks and surprises. It does call for some dexterity as well as climbing and crawling, so a great one for kids and don't wear your best jeans!! Pros should escape this room in a very short time so don't rush, just enjoy the authentic experience and good luck!

One of my favourite types of Escape Room is a quest, where the goal isnโ€™t exactly to escape or to solve a world crisis, but one that takes you on a journey

Great game to start new players with

On the 16th December we found ourselves back to take on another of Escapologics devious escape rooms, this time the very fitting for Nottingham "Robin of Lockskey". Our roles in the game were to save the Sheriff of Nottingham from a gang of kidnappers. The team before us was given 24 hours to find the iconic ransom of a golden arrow, they however have failed and left us with an hour to complete the job. We were now in the private office of the Sheriff ready to go on the adventure and search, How did we do? Well, read on to find out.



A clever room that makes full use of space, including one of the best transitions between areas I have ever come across. Some really physical puzzles gave it more of a crystal maze feel at times which is not a bad thing!

Lists

This game is part of the following user-created game lists:
  • Best UK escape rooms 2022 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2022, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 
  • Best UK escape rooms 2021 by Escape the Review virtuoso

    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms (out of 1600) in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2021, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 

See also