The Escaporium: Operation Moonshine

By | March 20, 2019

by The Escaporium (website)

Ground Floor, Berwick St Mills, 23 Square Rd, HX1 1QG

Halifax

2-6 players

60 minutes

🐶
Da’ Boss needs you to steal something from Scarface himself! Don’t let him down, or you’ll be sleeping with the fishes!
show full description
Thank you for helping keep Escape the Review up to date!
Let us know what needs changing:




If you own or manage this company, you can also claim the listing and update it yourself

Overall rating

Rated between 4 and 4.5 out of 5

based on ratings from 34 users
combined with 5 pro reviews

Your review

Player reviews

samsham experienced rated this:Rated between 5 and 5 out of 5
Played: 13 Jul 2024 Team size: 2 Time taken: 58:45 Outcome: Successful escape!
cleverimmersivegreat hosting
fraggle42 experienced rated this:Rated between 4.5 and 4.5 out of 5
Played: 24 Feb 2024 Team size: 2 Time taken: 55.46 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivestory-drivengreat hosting
Mrs G expert rated this:Rated between 3.5 and 3.5 out of 5
A Blacksmith expert rated this:Rated between 4.5 and 4.5 out of 5
Played: 11 Feb 2024 Team size: 2 Time taken: 33:54 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivestory-drivengreat hosting
Our 2nd visit to The Escaporium and we were glad that we did. A really well themed rooms, puzzles were also very much on point/topic. A few tricky ones but we made it in record time! Would highly recommend!
🔐SpontaneousIllusion expert rated this:Rated between 4.5 and 4.5 out of 5
Jordan Brown experienced rated this:Rated between 4.5 and 4.5 out of 5
Played: 13 Jan 2024 Team size: 2 Time taken: 54:34 Outcome: Successful escape!
originalcleverimmersive
Great theming and good use of props. Some puzzles I’ve not seen before which is hard for enthusiasts! Brush up your observations skills for this - loved every minute of this! 
MaliceInWonderland rated this:Rated between 4.5 and 4.5 out of 5
Team size: 2 Outcome: Successful escape!
story-drivengreat hostinggreat theming
The theming, story and puzzles in this room were all fantastic! Loved it! 
Chris Metcalfe experienced rated this:Rated between 4.5 and 4.5 out of 5
Played: 27 Dec 2023 Team size: 3 Time taken: 59 Outcome: Successful escape!
immersivestory-drivengreat hosting

We loved the this room. Lots to do and some lovely original puzzles. We managed to escape with seconds to spare. Lovely venue with great hosting. Highly recommended if you are in the area. 

leighton_87 rated this:Rated between 4 and 4 out of 5
Played: 30 Nov 2023 Team size: 3 Time taken: 59 Outcome: Successful escape!
cleverstory-drivengreat hostingquite difficult

Not sure I have ever been in a room with so many puzzles. Observation skills are key.

To be honest there was too much to do as a team of 2 but the host was brilliant and dragged us through to the end. Throwing the hints at us that were the perfect level to get us through but not ruin the aha moments.

Would loved to have spent more time in there, would have happily paid a bit more for an extra 15 (or maybe even 30) minutes

arandzom experienced rated this:Rated between 4 and 4 out of 5
beautifulstory-driven
Showing most recent only - see all ratings & reviews

Reviews by escape room review sites

Although driving to Halifax and back took out precious time from a packed schedule of escape games in and around Leeds, I'd heard enough recommendations for The Escaporium that I was keen to squeeze them in; and the owners were kind enough to let us play at a non-standard start time to make everything fit. (When visiting, note that their two games are in different locations, though the distance between is not far.)

Operation Moonshine is set in the Prohibition; your team are gangsters, breaking...

An engaging Prohibition-themed room, with beautiful decorations, a magnificent centrepiece and puzzles that held my interest right till the end of the game.
Operation Moonshine was a lovely game with solid puzzles and a set that felt ‘right’. It’s a game that starts off small but soon opens up into a larger space with an abundance of puzzles.
A wonderfully themed historic game, packed with puzzles and surprises that keep you engrossed throughout. An absolutely brilliant game.

Lists

This game is part of the following user-created game lists:
  • Best UK escape rooms 2022 by Escape the Review virtuoso
    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2022, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 
  • Best UK escape rooms 2021 by Escape the Review virtuoso

    These are the 100 highest rated escape rooms (out of 1600) in the UK, as of 31st Dec 2021, based on combined ratings from enthusiasts, bloggers and experts - every game here comes highly recommended. 

See also